Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-06, 09:29 PM   #13
Epyx
Registered User
 
Epyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 153
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Hey just trying to help you out because I have an Nvidia SLI setup as well and while the frame rates aren't as stellar as I had hoped I do get a performance boost when I compare single vs multi...

Strange that you don't so just trying to think of little things that might make a difference. Other than that Im not sure /shrug
__________________
Opteron 165 @ 2520
Asus A8N Sli
2GB Mushkin XP PC4000 (247mhz)
8800GTX
Enermax 565P
20" 1680x1050 LG
42" 1920x1080 Westy
50" 1280x768 Sony
Epyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 09:39 PM   #14
Garulfo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

I am grateful for your help Epyx, jsut didn't understand what you meant by "selecting" the profile.

Could anyone please post a screenshot of what an AFR config with "Show GPU LOAD" enabled looks like?

I do see white lines When I play the game there is a green column between the 2 lines that gets bigger and smaller. But that is one green columns. Not two.

So I do see 2 white lines. But... Well. It's weird. If anyone uses AFR, a screenshot would dissipate doubts for sure.
Garulfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 09:46 PM   #15
Garulfo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

More confusion....

On this page http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/msi_ge...i/page_4.shtml they talk about the Horizontal line not moving in AFR. I do not get a horizontal line in AFR. I get in in SFR and it moves around like crazy, but in AFR I only get the vertical green bar.

You can see both bars in this screenshot:
http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/msi_ge...cing_afr_s.jpg
Garulfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 10:11 PM   #16
christos
Registered User
 
christos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 350
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

AFR = one green bar on left.
SFR = line across the screen.

I have 7800gt sli'd and found the only setting which made a difference is AFR. SFR and AFR2 both did nothing for me.

To change the setting to a specific mode you may need to run the coolbits registry tweak to enable the advanced settings. From there you can modify the existing oblivion profile then 'save as' and apply.

I went from averaging 20-30's outdoor to 30's-50's at 1920 x 1200, most everything on max.
christos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 10:36 PM   #17
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Below are some results I made earlier tonight in case you're interested. I definitely don't understand your results unless you're testing in an area that is CPU limited. In that case, the overhead of SLI might make your single GPU score higher than your SLI score.

With both CPUs running at stock (2.4ghz), 1920x1200, HDR on, 16xAF forced on, optimizations disabled

2006-03-22 20:00:10 - Oblivion (7800 GTX 512 SLI forceware 84.25)
Frames: 2947 - Time: 64699ms - Avg: 45.549 - Min: 23 - Max: 71

2006-03-22 20:03:06 - Oblivion (7800 GTX 512 forceware 84.25)
Frames: 1814 - Time: 65616ms - Avg: 27.646 - Min: 13 - Max: 43

2006-03-22 20:25:00 - Oblivion (X1900 XTX Cat 6.3s)
Frames: 1866 - Time: 64704ms - Avg: 28.839 - Min: 15 - Max: 44

-----------------------------
optimizations on, hmm, I forgot to do SLI with opts on, I'll do that shortly

2006-03-22 21:19:41 - Oblivion (X1900XTX)
Frames: 2363 - Time: 66378ms - Avg: 35.599 - Min: 24 - Max: 49

2006-03-22 21:24:32 - Oblivion (Single 7800 GTX 512)
Frames: 2160 - Time: 65093ms - Avg: 33.183 - Min: 18 - Max: 48

Edit: Quality results for SLI:

2006-03-22 23:21:24 - Oblivion
Frames: 3480 - Time: 64826ms - Avg: 53.682 - Min: 28 - Max: 76

Last edited by OWA; 03-22-06 at 11:26 PM.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 11:09 PM   #18
pibrahim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Epyx, your attempts to help are definitely appreciated.

I'm just a bit fed up that I have to tinker so much with what is an expensive rig in order to get decent performance... should've bought the 360 version instead, methinks. Oh well, back to playing around in Coolbits...
pibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 11:30 PM   #19
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by pibrahim
Epyx, your attempts to help are definitely appreciated.

I'm just a bit fed up that I have to tinker so much with what is an expensive rig in order to get decent performance... should've bought the 360 version instead, methinks. Oh well, back to playing around in Coolbits...
You shouldn't have to though since the profile was already there. Have you tried checking other areas and not always the same place?

Also, I don't see a huge difference when changing resolutions if I'm testing in an area that is a min even though I'm lowering the res, turning off HDR or AA or whatever. I'm not sure if that says I'm cpu limited there or what but maybe something like that is going on (if you're testing in an area like that).
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-06, 12:11 AM   #20
Epyx
Registered User
 
Epyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 153
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Hey no worries. I'm on your side on this. I know how frustrating it can be when a game isn't performing properly. Im also interested because you have a similiar family of hardware.

The oblivion profile I was referring to was the one in the pull down menu in your performance and quality settings. Where it says Active Profile -> Global Driver Settings you can select Oblivion on this list. However, as you stated your manual settings to the default profile should be working.

Let me ask you this. Have you checked framerate inside the city for example where terrain isn't randomized on each reload? IE face a highly detailed wall and see your framerate first with you manually disabling SLI mode...then again with you enabling it. In other words move your test indoors just to take the randomization out of the equation.

If this makes no difference I would uninstall the current Nvidia driver delete the Nvidia install folder from your root drive. Then re-install and don't touch anything on your driver settings...no coolbits, no rivatuner etc. Then compare SLI enabled vs disabled again in the city.

Really it has to be some kind of driver hiccup...perhaps the installer of either nvidia (not as likely given other games prolly work fine) or Oblivion (more likely)...so the other option would be to uninstall Oblivion..manually delete the install folder and re-install.
__________________
Opteron 165 @ 2520
Asus A8N Sli
2GB Mushkin XP PC4000 (247mhz)
8800GTX
Enermax 565P
20" 1680x1050 LG
42" 1920x1080 Westy
50" 1280x768 Sony
Epyx is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-23-06, 12:47 AM   #21
NoDamage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
2006-03-22 20:03:06 - Oblivion (7800 GTX 512 forceware 84.25)
Frames: 1814 - Time: 65616ms - Avg: 27.646 - Min: 13 - Max: 43

2006-03-22 20:25:00 - Oblivion (X1900 XTX Cat 6.3s)
Frames: 1866 - Time: 64704ms - Avg: 28.839 - Min: 15 - Max: 44

-----------------------------
optimizations on, hmm, I forgot to do SLI with opts on, I'll do that shortly

2006-03-22 21:19:41 - Oblivion (X1900XTX)
Frames: 2363 - Time: 66378ms - Avg: 35.599 - Min: 24 - Max: 49

2006-03-22 21:24:32 - Oblivion (Single 7800 GTX 512)
Frames: 2160 - Time: 65093ms - Avg: 33.183 - Min: 18 - Max: 48
Hmm, I do find it kind of strange that the single 7800GTX512 is keeping up with the X1900XTX while others are reporting that the X1900XTX is reasonably outperforming the 7900GTX. I wonder if there is something wrong with the 7900 series, given how many people are having issues with it (in both SLI and single card mode).
NoDamage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-06, 01:00 AM   #22
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoDamage
Hmm, I do find it kind of strange that the single 7800GTX512 is keeping up with the X1900XTX while others are reporting that the X1900XTX is reasonably outperforming the 7900GTX. I wonder if there is something wrong with the 7900 series, given how many people are having issues with it (in both SLI and single card mode).
Maybe settings differences could be causing some of it, like Nvidia users running in HQ mode while ATI users are running with Cat AI enabled, for example, or maybe things change in other areas of the game. The framerate really flucuates a lot so it's really hard to figure out how it's running. One guy here didn't think his SLI rig was working very well b/c he had seen my results and his were much lower but after trying the same sort of path I took to get my results, his results matched up well. So, I think a lot of that sort of thing might be going on as well.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-06, 01:23 AM   #23
NoDamage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

I just came across this in the Elder Scroll forums. Apparently using CoolBits and changing "Max frames to render ahead" in the Advanced Direct3D options from 3 to 0 is giving people a good performance boost. There's another potential solution to add to the list.
NoDamage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-06, 12:50 PM   #24
Garulfo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyx
Hey no worries. I'm on your side on this. I know how frustrating it can be when a game isn't performing properly. Im also interested because you have a similiar family of hardware.

The oblivion profile I was referring to was the one in the pull down menu in your performance and quality settings. Where it says Active Profile -> Global Driver Settings you can select Oblivion on this list. However, as you stated your manual settings to the default profile should be working.

Let me ask you this. Have you checked framerate inside the city for example where terrain isn't randomized on each reload? IE face a highly detailed wall and see your framerate first with you manually disabling SLI mode...then again with you enabling it. In other words move your test indoors just to take the randomization out of the equation.

If this makes no difference I would uninstall the current Nvidia driver delete the Nvidia install folder from your root drive. Then re-install and don't touch anything on your driver settings...no coolbits, no rivatuner etc. Then compare SLI enabled vs disabled again in the city.

Really it has to be some kind of driver hiccup...perhaps the installer of either nvidia (not as likely given other games prolly work fine) or Oblivion (more likely)...so the other option would be to uninstall Oblivion..manually delete the install folder and re-install.
I did not try that. I will try shortly and post my results.

Quote:
To change the setting to a specific mode you may need to run the coolbits registry tweak to enable the advanced settings. From there you can modify the existing oblivion profile then 'save as' and apply.
Is nHancer the same as coolbits? I have not seen a "save as" and "apply" option in nHancer which kinda confuses me. I never know if the new settings I try are working. For example when forcing AF from 0 to 16x I only notice a 3FPS average loss. With no AF optimizatio. I would think it should be much more...

I guess I will try coolbits and see.

Thanks again for the help. I will post results for these new tests this afternoon.
Garulfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.