Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-06, 06:05 PM   #49
Cptobvious
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Sli is obviously not working properly working in this game...I only get 1 fps better with it enabled... and all the cards are having performance issues other then the X800 cards which are running PS2.0... now if there was a way to force PS2.0 on all the other cards...
Cptobvious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 06:11 PM   #50
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garulfo
Can't get the monitor to run :P

I got Everest working though. And the temerature of both GPUs seem to indicate that they are both working in OB.

The ambiant temperature is 10 degrees less on one card (probably from the exhaust of hot air from the other card). And when the warmer card goes up 10-15 degrees in Oblivion, the other one does so too (keeping the 10 degrees difference, total).

It does really look like there is a bottleneck somewhere, and not on the GPUs. Could be anything though.

I tried the launch Oblivion in windowed mode and hit ctrl-alt-del to see how much of the CPU was used. It was tricky to keep the performence tab visible while having Oblivion's window activated. But I managed, and the CPU usage is around 48-50% on average.


My CPU is a 4800+. If you got something similar I would be curious as to what kind of CPU usage you are getting.

I am running out of ideas
I'll see if I can monitor the CPU. I tried early on and didn't have a lot of luck with that but I'll give it another shot.

I'm not sure why some people aren't seeing any benefit to SLI unless they're testing in areas that are CPU limited. While I'm not positive on that, there are some areas where I'll get a low framerate no matter what I do. In areas not like that, SLI gives me a pretty good boost.

Edit: Yeah, mine is similiar in the one area I've been testing (an area where SLI helps). I had a window going at 16x12 and had the task manager running in an unused part of the screen. My CPU usuage is only around 50% and the other CPU doesn't seem to be doing much of anything. I'll try some of the low framerate areas now and see how that goes.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-06, 12:35 AM   #51
Garulfo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Personally I tested the SLI vs Single card configs in a lot of different environments. I tried right outside of the first sewers, after swimign across the river running around on the other side. I tried underwater. I tried indoor in city, I tried outdoor in cities and inside dungeons.

I didn't monitor the CPU everywhere but I cannot have been CPU limited in all those places.

Some guy on the official forums mentionned my Video carsd might be overclocked out of the box and that I mgith wanna try to underclock them... I will give it a shot at some point. But I thought that eVGA and BFG have OC versions, not XFX.

I guess I will stop trying and live with the fact that I cannot add anything to the tree counts and grid loads in the .ini. A lot of people are off way worse than me, I should consider myself lucky.

I don't...

But I should!!

Garulfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-06, 01:22 AM   #52
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garulfo
Personally I tested the SLI vs Single card configs in a lot of different environments. I tried right outside of the first sewers, after swimign across the river running around on the other side. I tried underwater. I tried indoor in city, I tried outdoor in cities and inside dungeons.
Are you seeing any improvement outside in the sewer area? I get a 16fps increase with SLI just outside of the sewer, 23 single card vs 39 with SLI.

Checking the CPU in one low framerate area that has been bugging me, I showed a little over 50+ on both cores. During normal areas, one core would be around 50 and the other didn't look like it was being used. Not really what I expected.

Here are the two shots showing the 16fps increase.

Single.......................SLI


Edit: Across the river it's a 20 fps increase with SLI.

Single.......................SLI
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-06, 01:38 AM   #53
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALien8ed
After testing here im seeing approx. a 15-20fps increase with SLI.
Okay good, thanks for the confirmation. I start to wonder if I'm doing something wrong if I'm the only one seeing it.

Couple more, looking back over the water this time. Still shows a 20fps increase with SLI.

Single.......................SLI


Different area (stables), a more taxing area. Only see 11 fps increase here (14 vs 25).

Single.......................SLI


Low framerate area just inside the Imperial City door (17 single vs 29 SLI).

Single.......................SLI

Last edited by OWA; 03-26-06 at 01:54 AM.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-06, 01:57 PM   #54
Garulfo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

I tried in that exact spot, out of the sewers. Not one FPS difference. I'll try the other spots.

Do you guys quit the game between the two screenshots? I have noticed that if you load a game and then reload the same game in the same spot rightaway, the game doesn't reload everything.

Not sure it's relevant or not.
Garulfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-06, 08:07 PM   #55
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

I normally find a good spot then save it, exit, load it again, take the screenshot and then repeat the exit, load it again, take the screenshot steps after changing the SLI setting. I don't like to take the screenshot for a framerate check just after saving b/c of the disk access that might still be occuring and b/c I end up with "saving" in the screenshot. If I wait for the message to disappear, then it's harder to make them the same due to the ever changing world.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-06, 12:27 AM   #56
Jesterspaz
Eerily Provocative
 
Jesterspaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 27
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Just curious as to what peoples fps are like with SLI in Oblivion...

And at which resolutions... specifically... 1680x1050
__________________
ASUS P5ND2-SLI NForce
P4 3.6ghz 660
2gb DDR2 PC5300 (1gb x 2)
GeForce 7800 GTX KO 256mb x2 SLIed AFR
Dell 20.1 Inch LCD Widescreen
Windows XP Pro SP2
Latest Official XP Detonators
Jesterspaz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-31-06, 05:27 PM   #57
Epyx
Registered User
 
Epyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 153
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

The most demanding spots are in the southwest of the world map near any oblivion gates. I think the worst combination is Oblivion Gate, grass, trees, detailed landscape and creatures.

That can drive me down to 14/15 fps in SLI.
__________________
Opteron 165 @ 2520
Asus A8N Sli
2GB Mushkin XP PC4000 (247mhz)
8800GTX
Enermax 565P
20" 1680x1050 LG
42" 1920x1080 Westy
50" 1280x768 Sony
Epyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-06, 05:15 PM   #58
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Maybe it's just the newer cards people are seeing a nice increase with because I don't see much of a difference with single vs sli with my 6800GT's.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-06, 05:38 PM   #59
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Low framerate area just inside the Imperial City door (17 single vs 29 SLI).
Wierd i get like constant 20fps in that area ..
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-06, 05:48 PM   #60
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Frame rate and SLI problems

Today when I did some benchmarks for another thread, I got 18 fps in single gpu mode and 26-27fps with SLI enabled so I'm still pretty close to what I posted earlier. Getting different results doesn't surprise me though. I don't think I've ever seen so many contradictory statements over a game in my life. No one seems to agree on settings and their impact or performance.

Results I posted in another thread:

Save 25 was in a low framerate area with lots of grass, trees, etc.

Save 17 is inside the city and I basically just did a run around the block type deal.

Single GPU

2006-04-01 09:50:46 - Oblivion (Nv Save 25, HQ)
Frames: 407 - Time: 26143ms - Avg: 15.568 - Min: 7 - Max: 22

2006-04-01 09:59:42 - Oblivion (Nv Save 25, Q)
Frames: 546 - Time: 27009ms - Avg: 20.215 - Min: 10 - Max: 28

2006-04-01 10:46:02 - Oblivion (Nv Save 17, HQ, CO)
Frames: 1648 - Time: 52677ms - Avg: 31.285 - Min: 17 - Max: 53

2006-04-01 10:49:51 - Oblivion (Nv Save 17, Q, CO)
Frames: 2020 - Time: 51987ms - Avg: 38.856 - Min: 20 - Max: 66

SLI Results

2006-04-01 13:02:30 - Oblivion (Nv Save 25, HQ, SLI)
Frames: 717 - Time: 25300ms - Avg: 28.340 - Min: 15 - Max: 38

2006-04-01 13:04:36 - Oblivion (NV Save 25, Q, SLI)
Frames: 827 - Time: 25306ms - Avg: 32.680 - Min: 18 - Max: 42

2006-04-01 13:06:46 - Oblivion (NV Save 17, HQ, SLI)
Frames: 2781 - Time: 52095ms - Avg: 53.383 - Min: 26 - Max: 87

2006-04-01 13:09:12 - Oblivion (NV Save 17, Q, SLI)
Frames: 3263 - Time: 52565ms - Avg: 62.076 - Min: 26 - Max: 106

Edit: I think my earlier results are slightly higher b/c I was running at 2.7 ghz then but with these latest results I was at 2.6ghz.

Last edited by OWA; 04-01-06 at 06:34 PM.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.