Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-18-06, 06:11 PM   #1
pault123
Registered User
 
pault123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 174
Unhappy Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

Downloaded Hitachi's Feature Tool and set my Deskstar to run at SATA2 as previously it had only been at the default of SATA. Rebooted and confirmed in Device manager my Harddisk speed has correctly gone from 1.5 gb/s to 3 gb/s.

Ran HD Tach before and after I activated the SATA2.

Before @ SATA quick test >>



After @ SATA2 quick test >>




Before @ SATA long test >>



After @SATA2 long test >>



So everything seems ok there i'm getting increased speeds using SATA2, I did notice the CPU utilisation was higher on SATA2 on the quicktest but on longtest it was 1% lower?


Now heres the part I am baffled by, 3d Mark @ SATA



3dMark @ SATA2



HELP!
pault123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-06, 07:45 PM   #2
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Question Re: Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

Strange it would seem that SATA2 uses quite abit more CPU power . Maybe tech is not mature enough.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-06, 10:49 AM   #3
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

Can we get some system spec's?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-06, 12:52 PM   #4
pault123
Registered User
 
pault123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 174
Default Re: Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

San Diego 3700

OCZ 2x1gb Dual Channel 2.5-3-2-5

Evga 7900GT CO 500/1500

Hitachi Deskstar 250gb SATA2

OCZ Modstream 520w

Abit KN8 SLI

Everthing is running at stock.

On a side note should I have SMART enabled or disabled in the drive settings?
pault123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-06, 02:48 PM   #5
pault123
Registered User
 
pault123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 174
Default Re: Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

Ive had a bit of a breakthru, although I still need to check this now with SATA2 on.

I went back to SATA and the benchmark was still terrible, this puzzled me. I uninstalled 84.43 beta and went back to 82.25



WOW, and I thought Oblivion was running a little jerky! 84.43 suck :hit:

Thats close enough to my original bench to confirm the driver update which completely jogged my mind was the cause! 82.25 are great

I'm now going to enable SATA2 again and see what I get, will post the results.
pault123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-06, 03:44 PM   #6
pault123
Registered User
 
pault123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 174
Default Re: Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

Had no idea forceware drivers especially ones everyone has been getting good results from could cause so much difference. The 84.43 drivers for whatever reason also make SATA give better benchmarks than SATA2.

But now im back on 84.25 SATA2 is rightly faster, just got the benchmark in>>>
pault123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-06, 04:13 PM   #7
Superfly
Retired
 
Superfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 3,907
Default Re: Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by pault123
On a side note should I have SMART enabled or disabled in the drive settings?
disabled, SMART will slow you down.
__________________
It is not how bad the problem is, but how badly it's hurting the person who has it......
Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-06, 06:30 AM   #8
MattC
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 43
Default Re: Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Superfly
disabled, SMART will slow you down.
No it won't, but it will warn you when your HD is about to die and save you losing all your data.
MattC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-06, 07:42 AM   #9
Superfly
Retired
 
Superfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 3,907
Default Re: Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattC
No it won't, but it will warn you when your HD is about to die and save you losing all your data.
Quick random quote from Adrian @ Rojakpot.

Quote:
If you do not use any S.M.A.R.T.-aware utility, enabling S.M.A.R.T. in the BIOS uses up some bandwidth because the hard disk will continuously send out data packets. So, if you do not use S.M.A.R.T.-aware utilities or if you do not need that level of real-time reporting, disable HDD S.M.A.R.T. Capability for better overall performance.

Some of the newer BIOS's now come with S.M.A.R.T. monitoring support built-in. When you enable HDD S.M.A.R.T. Capability, these new BIOS's will automatically check the hard disk's S.M.A.R.T. status at boot-up. However, such a feature has very limited usefulness as it can only tell you the status of the hard disk at boot-up. Therefore, it is still advisable for you to disable HDD S.M.A.R.T. Capability unless you use a proper S.M.A.R.T.-aware monitoring utility.
__________________
It is not how bad the problem is, but how badly it's hurting the person who has it......
Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-06, 02:07 PM   #10
pault123
Registered User
 
pault123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 174
Default Re: Enabled SATA2 and lost 1608 3dMarks! :(

I disabled SMART and on each boot up it re-enables itself! and I cant find the setting in the bios to stop it doing this. !! I have a KN8 SLI.

It doesnt want to be disabled
pault123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.