Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-06, 05:13 PM   #1
tilde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Lightbulb 1080i only takes up 16:9

Hi, I've installed nvidia and am using component out to output to a projection HDTV in the hope of making a Linux MythTV box. Unfortunatly, it doesn't use the full screen, only a box that looks 169, and it flickers like hell. How do I fix this? I've attached my xorg.conf, any help would be greatly appreciated.


The xorg.conf
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Wed Dec 14 16:39:22 PST 2005

# /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the /etc/X11/xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man /etc/X11/xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen" 0 0
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# paths to defoma fonts
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/CID"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi"
FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/CID"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "i2c"
Load "bitmap"
Load "ddc"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
HorizSync 28.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 43.0 - 60.0
Option "DPMS"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVStandard" "HD1080i"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPONENT"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA Corporation NV40? [Unknown nVidia Card]"
Driver "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "NVIDIA Corporation NV40? [Unknown nVidia Card]"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPONENT"
Option "TVStandard" "HD1080i"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
#SubSection "Display"
# Depth 1
# Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
#EndSubSection
#SubSection "Display"
# Depth 4
# Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
#EndSubSection
#SubSection "Display"
# Depth 8
# Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
#EndSubSection
#SubSection "Display"
# Depth 15
# Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
#EndSubSection
#SubSection "Display"
# Depth 16
# Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
#EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1080i"
EndSubSection
EndSection
tilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 05:15 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

Please generate and post a bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 05:30 PM   #3
tilde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

done.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug.zip (19.2 KB, 218 views)
tilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 05:50 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

I see two problems with your X configuration:
0) You're using an invalid value for the TVOutFormat parameter:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Unknown TVOutFormat value. Known values are "SVIDEO" and
(**) NVIDIA(0): "COMPOSITE"

1) You've requested a 1080i in the Screen section, however you never provided a corresponding 1080i modeline. You either need to replace 1080i with a real mode (1920x1080, etc), or provide a 1080i modeline in the Monitor section of your X configuration.

If making the changes above still does not result in what you expect, please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and provide an updated bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 06:29 PM   #5
tilde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

holy ****, nice. It's just a bit too large on all sides. Any idea how to fix that?
tilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 06:33 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

By "a bit too large", I assume you mean overscanning? If so, you can try to adjust it in nvidia-settings with the Overscan slider. However some overscanning is expected, and is part of the TV spec.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 06:37 PM   #7
tilde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

Don't see the option for overscan, I looked at Display Device, it used to be there, but now it is not anymore. When I got digital out working, it seemed to disappear.
tilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 06:46 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

The only other alternative I can think of is to use xvidtune to tweak a modeline which eliminates the overscanning. However, unless you're seeing very significant overscanning, what you're experiencing is likely normal behavior.

-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-23-06, 06:49 PM   #9
tilde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

It's so bad I can't see the kde toolbar. That's too large, right?
tilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 06:51 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

That does sound a bit large, although it also depends on how large your toolbar is. Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and post a bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 07:00 PM   #11
tilde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

done, if you need anything else, I will get it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvbug2.zip (22.3 KB, 210 views)
tilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 09:39 PM   #12
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1080i only takes up 16:9

Where did you obtain the ATSC-1080-60i modeline that you're using?
Have you tried just requesting a 1920x1080 mode instead of using that modeline?
Have you tried tweaking the modeline with xvidtune?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$197.99 - Samsung S22A460B-1 21.5' LED LCD Monitor - 16:9 - 5 ms News 21.5-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:21 PM
$148.99 - V7 LED215W2 21.5' LED LCD Monitor - 16:9 - 5 ms News 21.5-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:21 PM
$201.99 - Monitor LCD HP Business LV2011 - 20' - LED - 16:9 - 5 ms News 20-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:17 PM
$146.99 - Monitor LCD Lenovo L2062 - 20' - LED - 16:9 - 5 ms News 20-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:17 PM
$193.99 - Monitor LCD Compaq Business LA2006x - 20' - LED - 16:9 - 5 ms News 20-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:17 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.