Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-06, 11:08 AM   #13
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

Please generate and post an nforce-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-06, 07:46 AM   #14
wang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

this is my bug report log file
Attached Files
File Type: log nforce-bug-report.log (77.1 KB, 221 views)
wang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-06, 10:37 AM   #15
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

The ALSA (kernel native) sound modules are still loaded. This is because /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf.dist is still calling aliases for the ALSA (non-nvsound) kernel modules.

Beyond that, I don't see any signs of the problem you reported, as nvsound is already loaded (yet conflicting with the ALSA modules).

-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-06, 09:59 PM   #16
wang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

Yes I have found the ALSA (kernel native) sound modules are still loaded,and the nvsound is work well.but what I concern to is how stop AlSA sound modules being loaded.
I still try edit /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf.dist by removeing lines about ALSA sound modules .but it still be loaded when system start.
wang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-06, 10:06 PM   #17
wang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

Also nvmixer audio settings can not automatically restored each time the nvsound driver loads .
and when i shutdown the system ,nvmixer audio settings can not be saved ,it says can not found the sound card.
for example ,I set sound volume 40%,when i shutdown the system ,next time i start the system the sound volume is not 40%,but still 100%.how i can save the volume settings. I have edit /etc/modprobe.conf as construction says.that is add follow lines to configure file
" install nvsound /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install nvsound ; sleep 1; /usr/bin/nvmix-reg -f /etc/nvmixrc -L >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
remove nvsound { /usr/bin/nvmix-reg -f /etc/nvmixrc -S >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove nvsound "
wang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-06, 10:10 PM   #18
wang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

any way ,i appreciate netllama 's help .
thanks !
wang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-06, 02:39 PM   #19
Fistons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

Hi everyone,

I managed to install the nvsound module, thanks to wang.

But I still have a problem. I did what wang said and comment all the alias sound-service-* in my /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf.dist

Now, I can hear a great sound from the subwoofer and the rear speakers, but the sound is really dirty form the front (I didn't try the central speaker).

Does anyone known how to fix that?
Fistons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-06, 02:54 PM   #20
Fistons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

Does anybody have an idea?
Fistons is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-06, 11:19 PM   #21
wang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

no help is offered !!!

wang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-06, 02:20 PM   #22
brutus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

Gents,
If you enter the module name in the file /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
they will not be loaded.

In addition, I was able to successfully get the nvsound module compiled and loaded but it appears that when I blacklist the intel module, the OS cannot tell that the nvsound module is to be used for sound. Any hints?

Brutus
brutus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-06, 10:48 AM   #23
Fistons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

What are the modules I have to put in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist?
Fistons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-06, 06:29 AM   #24
graphelic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: FC5 fail to load "nvsound.ko"

Longing for netllama's appearance again,and to say something.
I met the problem too.
Wishing to be helped.
graphelic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
173.14.34 -- Xorg 1.12.1 & 1.11.4, glx module fails to load mereset NVIDIA Linux 17 06-10-12 01:24 AM
Lucid rt kernel can't load latest nvidia driver module, but generic does. marcod NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 06:23 AM
Can't load NVdriver jojotux123 NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 06:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.