Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-06, 09:25 AM   #1
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Accessing Archive

I have an archive of FAT32 at hdb1 which appears normally in Windows, but not in SuSe. I have edited /etc/fstab with the line: /dev/hdb1 /Archive FAT32 umask=0000,noauto 0 0, yet it remains invisible to SuSe. Is there a different edit of this line, or some other file that is necessary for this archive to be accessible?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-06, 08:30 PM   #2
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: Accessing Archive

It isn't FAT32 it is vfat.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-06, 12:43 AM   #3
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Accessing Archive

Great! I now have access to the archive. I only have one problem left...a similar one with my Windows XP x64 partition. It reads: /dev/hda3 /Windows/x64 ntfs umask=0000,noauto 0 0. When I click the icon that I made for the desktop, it says:

Could not mount device.
The reported error was:
mount: /dev/hda3 is not a valid block device

Any suggestions?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-06, 05:58 AM   #4
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Accessing Archive

Are you really sure that your Win x86_64 is on /dev/hda3?
(Normaly, Windows uses the _first_ primary partition and logical partitions).


fdisk /dev/hda -l (Note: -l = (small L))
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-06, 07:09 AM   #5
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Accessing Archive

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunkey
Are you really sure that your Win x86_64 is on /dev/hda3?
(Normaly, Windows uses the _first_ primary partition and logical partitions).


fdisk /dev/hda -l (Note: -l = (small L))
You are a bit out of date. this was true of Win98/ME, but with XP, it can be on any partition you want. In my case, x32 in on the first, SuSe is on the second, and x64 is on the third partition.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-06, 10:54 AM   #6
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Accessing Archive

Then, I must have a different version of XP... O_o?

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker
Could not mount device.
The reported error was:
mount: /dev/hda3 is not a valid block device
you should check your dmesg output... (maybe next time you _can_ attach fdisk /dev/hda -l (-small L) output too)
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-06, 01:02 PM   #7
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Accessing Archive

I checked the dmesg output as you suggested, but there is so much data, that I have little idea of what it is all about. It kind of looks like the data that spools up while booting. I did notice that I could not find any mention of hda3, or anything similar, so it appears that for some reason that it's invisible to SuSe.

I tried running fdisk /dev/hda -l, but the terminal reported that the command was not found.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-06, 01:07 PM   #8
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Accessing Archive

yes, dmesg stores _recent_ all kernel messages.
so, only the last few lines are important...

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker
I tried running fdisk /dev/hda -l, but the terminal reported that the command was not found.
? suse ships without fdisk? or, are you root?
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-04-06, 01:48 PM   #9
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Accessing Archive

I'm in the root group, but it tried that as user.

Here is the last section of dmesg:

Code:
Code: 0f 0b 37 58 36 80 ff ff ff ff 9c 02 66 66 90 9c 8f 44 24 20
RIP <ffffffff80157891>{buffered_rmqueue+321} RSP <000001001b361ab8>
 <4>SFW2-OUT-ERROR IN= OUT=modem0 SRC=4.244.96.100 DST=70.87.46.147 LEN=40 TOS=0x08 PREC=0x00 TTL=64 ID=56222 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=1775 DPT=80 WINDOW=6432 RES=0x00ACK FIN URGP=0
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
hda: lost interrupt
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
Nothing there means anything to me.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-06, 01:54 PM   #10
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Accessing Archive

After posting, it dawned on me that you were saying that I had to be root...I can be a bit slow at times. Here is the output:

Code:
linux:~ # fdisk /dev/hda -l

Disk /dev/hda: 251.0 GB, 251000193024 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30515 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1        3238    26009203+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2            3239        6502    26218080   83  Linux
linux:~ #
Obviously, SuSe can't see my x64.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-06, 07:35 PM   #11
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Accessing Archive

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunkey
Are you really sure that your Win x86_64 is on /dev/hda3?
(Normaly, Windows uses the _first_ primary partition and logical partitions).


fdisk /dev/hda -l (Note: -l = (small L))
Going back to this for a moment. I have had multiple installations of these systems, but in the two times that I can remember, when XP was in a partition after SuSe, or in an extended partition later in sequence, I had problems with that OS being visible to SuSe. However, a Microsoft article said that any Unix or Linux OS should be installed prior to any form of MS OS. Of course, this spoke in terms of time, rather than location, but as I said, W98/ME and some forms of NT do require a partition at the beginning.

I think that I will try reorganizing the systems with XP located in front and see what happens. I remember that this time around, SuSe was the first system installed, with x32 following. A repair of Grub made that work fine, but when x64 followed up the rear, it works on it's own through the Windows boot.ini, but it is hiding from SuSe. I do not know if this problem is due to the installation process, or if there is something different about x64, but I guess that I will have to go by trial and error.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.