Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-06, 10:28 PM   #1
deadman_uk
Registered User
 
deadman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Question Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

Hi all, I'm new here and I don't actually have Oblivion on my PC. My 9800pro is damaged, causing major artifacts in 3d applications. I did manage to install Oblivion on my dads computer and it runs fine on medium detail. I ordered a 7900GT and new motherboard today so I should be able to play Oblivion in the next few weeks.

I am new to the Elder Scrolls series and love Oblivion. I noticed you can spend a lot of time creating your character at the start. I have a program installed called FaceGen Modeller 3.1.2 and I understand this program was used to create the faces in Oblivion... am I correct?

I have made many faces in FaceGen (purely for learning purposes) such as Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera and many random male faces I found on Google. I am quite impressed with FaceGen, it is really a clever peice of software. Now my question... I can save faces I created in FaceGen as .fg files but is it possible to import these into Oblivion? If so, how would I do this?

Thanks for reading and thanks for any help!
deadman_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 12:05 AM   #2
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

I don't know the answer but it would be cool if you can do that. If you find out you can do it, you'll have to post the faces you've collected. That would be fun to play around with.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 08:21 AM   #3
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

As of right now, you cannot import facegen files into Oblivion. The best you can do is compare the sliders and make them about the same. The sliders in both programs are almost exactly the same so I'm sure you can get them close. I'm sure in the future we will see some type of mod for this though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 10:08 AM   #4
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

Have you tried using the construction set ? It uses a much better point and click interface to adjust the facial features rather than the sliders. I remeber there was a method to open savegames inside the editor but I might be wrong
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 04:40 PM   #5
deadman_uk
Registered User
 
deadman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
I don't know the answer but it would be cool if you can do that. If you find out you can do it, you'll have to post the faces you've collected. That would be fun to play around with.
Sure I'll share the faces I made with you all if I can get this to work with Oblivion, no problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody
As of right now, you cannot import facegen files into Oblivion. The best you can do is compare the sliders and make them about the same. The sliders in both programs are almost exactly the same so I'm sure you can get them close. I'm sure in the future we will see some type of mod for this though.
Oh really? Adjusting each slider would take ages but if this is the only way, then so be it. Could someone make a mod for this? I know there are some very skilled people here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by msxyz
Have you tried using the construction set ? It uses a much better point and click interface to adjust the facial features rather than the sliders. I remeber there was a method to open savegames inside the editor but I might be wrong
I only have FaceGen modeller, I dont have the contruction set. Can you give me a free download link for it? Or maybe you have it yourself and you would be so kind to send me a copy?
deadman_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 05:42 PM   #6
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

It may be downloaded directly through www.elderscrolls.com
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 06:00 PM   #7
deadman_uk
Registered User
 
deadman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by msxyz
It may be downloaded directly through www.elderscrolls.com
I can't seem to find it, can you give me a direct link please?
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ Winchester
1GB DDR400 PC3200
Sapphire Radeon 9800pro 128mb Atlantis
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
160GB Western Digital and 40GB Maxtor
Windows XP SP2
deadman_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-06, 07:18 AM   #8
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

Try this: http://www.elderscrolls.com/download..._utilities.htm

The CS is the first link on top of the page
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-30-06, 07:18 PM   #9
parecon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Down the left hand highway of California
Posts: 65
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

I don't know if anyone knows how to do this but what is the best way to edit the sliders in the Oblivion Construction Set? I can't seem to find my way around this thing?
__________________


| Intel E67oo @ 3.4 | EVGA nForce 68oi SLI | EVGA 88oo GTX Superclocked @ 634.1010 | 4 GB G.Skill DDR2 8oo | 15o GB Raptor | X-Fi XtremeMusic |

| AMD 48oo+ X2 | Asus A8N-SLI Premium | XFX 79oo GTX EE | 2 GB OCZ Titanium DDR 4oo | 15o GB Raptor | WD 5oo GB |Audigy 2 ZS Platinum |
parecon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-06, 07:26 PM   #10
Becoming
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 548
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

There was some huge thread in the mod section at the official forums about it a while back. I know someone came up with a way to do it pretty damn accurately, but I can't recall how easy it was to pull off. I'd search the mod forum section over there.
Becoming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-06, 07:39 PM   #11
arioch21
Vengeful Blades
 
arioch21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 444
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

There is a way to do it, I have a friend who did a few and posted them for DL, but you still have to do a bit of tweaking with the sliders, I dont remember everything though, you would have to go digging up on the forums.
__________________
Intel i7-950 @3.06GHz | G.Skill 12GB DDR3 1600 | ASUS Rampage III Formula | EVGA GTX580 SLI | COUGAR-CMX 1000W PSU | Cooler Master CM692 II Advanced | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
arioch21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-06, 11:26 AM   #12
Reynaldo
Tremeendo
 
Reynaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 99
Default Re: Importing .fg files (FaceGen Modeller) into Oblivion?

There is a way, or was, because It hasn't worked for me with the last patch. It's called Focon. I know it worked for me after patching the game, but now it doesn't. Still, you should give it a try.
__________________

Gigabyte EP45 UD3 - Intel Q6600 @3 GHz - Zotac Geforce 8800GT 512MB @712Core/1900Mem - 4GB Kingston HyperX 1066 Ram
Reynaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.