Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-06, 12:18 PM   #1
HarryDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Default Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

I am to get a new computer fairly soon with a Geforce 7900GT 256mb, 2gb ram, and an althlon 64 3000+, I was just wondering if anyone else in here has similar specs to this and could tell me the kind of performance they get on oblivion?
HarryDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 12:27 PM   #2
Slybri
Registered User
 
Slybri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 404
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

Just got the 7900gt and an Amd 64 4000+

Performance is great, especially after tweaking and oc'ing. I'm getting 24-37fps outdoors, with HDR, everything high, at 1600X1200. I've got teh card oc'd @ 550/1600 and the CPU oc'd @ 2.76.

the 7900gt is a kickass overclocker at a good price. It should last you until the dx10 games start coming out late next year.

If you can afford it, try to get the 3800+. I hear they are amazing overclockers.

Last edited by Slybri; 04-06-06 at 01:05 PM.
Slybri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 12:59 PM   #3
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

i have a 7900gt co superclocked and it handles the game great and i only got a gig of ram but a dual core 3800=
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 01:19 PM   #4
HarryDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slybri
If you can afford it, try to get the 3800+. I hear they are amazing overclockers.
This depends how much money I get from people at my upcoming birthday party but atm I only have enough for the 3000+, which I may overclock.
HarryDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 02:12 PM   #5
AirtelGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

I have a opty 148 oced to 2.8ghz, 2gb ram and leadtek 7900gt at stock and im running everything at MAX except self shadows and shadows on grass at 1280X1024 and works great, sometimes at outdoors in large areas can drop to 20 maybe a little below 20 but its still playable.
AirtelGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 03:46 PM   #6
deadman_uk
Registered User
 
deadman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryDude
This depends how much money I get from people at my upcoming birthday party but atm I only have enough for the 3000+, which I may overclock.
Then wait until you get some more money. Seriously that 3000 will be a big bottleneck in the future, at least get a 3500 like I have.

I ordered a 7900GT yesterday, should get it Monday but I only have 1 GB of ram.
deadman_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 04:34 PM   #7
HarryDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

I have decided I will probably get a 3700+ that should be ok shouldn't it?
HarryDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-06, 04:37 PM   #8
deadman_uk
Registered User
 
deadman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryDude
I have decided I will probably get a 3700+ that should be ok shouldn't it?
Yep thats fine, go with whatever you can afford. I recommend anything over 3500 for Athlons.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ Winchester
1GB DDR400 PC3200
Sapphire Radeon 9800pro 128mb Atlantis
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
160GB Western Digital and 40GB Maxtor
Windows XP SP2
deadman_uk is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-06-06, 05:09 PM   #9
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

My 3000+ overclocked like crazy, well worth it IMO if you're into overclocking
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 08:21 AM   #10
Pegasus*
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

i'll tell you what a gd cpu is, a 3700+ sandiego!!!
My friend overclocked his to fx56 (or w/e it is) speeds on stock cooling lol, i think hes way best fx56 speeds now though, he evn overclocked his radeon x850 to x1800 xl speeds lol
Pegasus* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 10:34 AM   #11
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pegasus*
i'll tell you what a gd cpu is, a 3700+ sandiego!!!
My friend overclocked his to fx56 (or w/e it is) speeds on stock cooling lol, i think hes way best fx56 speeds now though, he evn overclocked his radeon x850 to x1800 xl speeds lol
OMGWTFBBQ!!111!!! LOL

But seriously dood, FX56 has two cores so you can't quite compare the performance there...
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 10:38 AM   #12
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Anyone have a 7900GT 256mb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by glObalist
OMGWTFBBQ!!111!!! LOL

But seriously dood, FX56 has two cores so you can't quite compare the performance there...
if you're talknig about the fx-60 yes its 2 cores, but fx-55, no. or fx-57 ? lol
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||

Last edited by nV`andrew; 04-09-06 at 10:55 AM.
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.