Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-06, 09:59 AM   #1
fvs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Default Can't Connect!

I've been trying to find out why I can't get connect to the Net, I've been all over the linux web forums and I still can't get a fix. I reinsalled my OS twice and followed ever step.
I'm daul booting with XP and that's perfect, I can get onto the web and run every application I have in it, but I thought that I would like to use Linux and choose Fedora Core 5, How erer I can't get past this problem. Here is problem. I go into my system Network and choose to automaticly configure my DHCP and try to actavte, I get the error message it failed, I was told to post the details, here they are;
I have the following Kernel 2.6.15-1 Grub V 0.97 eth0 nVidia corp MC51. I did a ping with all packages retuned no errors.

[root@localhost /]# /sbin/ifconfig
eth0
Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:E0:4C:F1:A3:FE

inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:4cff:fef1:a3fe/64 Scope:Link

UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

Interrupt:17 Base address:0xe000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback

inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host

UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1

RX packets:3553 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

TX packets:3553 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:4405361 (4.2 MiB)
TX bytes:4405361 (4.2 MiB)


root@localhost /]# dmesg | grep eth0
eth0:
forcedeth.c: subsystem: 01565:2501 bound to 0000:00:14.0
eth0:
no IPv6 routers present
[root@localhost /]#
fvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-06, 06:53 PM   #2
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Can't Connect!

Hello.

If you have a router you could try specifying the network configuration manually.

An example;

IP Address: 192.168.0.2
Gateway address: 192.168.0.1
DNS server: 192.168.0.1
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Broadcast address: 192.168.0.255

Good luck.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe Western Digital Caviar SE TB RAID 0/1 PowerLink LPK2-30 400W LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVDR/RW/ROM MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 02:25 AM   #3
worm75011
worm75011
 
worm75011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to worm75011 Send a message via Skype™ to worm75011
Default Re: Can't Connect!

i think is not a hardware / driver problem

use dhcp or static ip

what is your distrib?

worm
__________________
H@V3 FuN
"Il existe deux choses d'infini dans notre univers, la taille de l'univers et la connerie humaine, il y a juste que pour l'univers que je ne suis pas sr"
ALBERT EINSTEIN
worm75011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-06, 08:18 AM   #4
per12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Can't Connect!

I experienced the same problems as you after I installed the network drivers in XP.

Unplug the PSU power cord for a couple of seconds. Then plug it back in and boot up Linux.

It works for me. You could at least give it a try.

(Now I've installed Nvidia's driver, nvnet, and the problem is completly gone.)

Last edited by per12345; 04-11-06 at 07:31 AM.
per12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-06, 09:15 AM   #5
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Can't Connect!

You don't have an ipv4 address for 00:E0:4C:F1:A3:FE, only ipv6. Unless your router supports ipv6 this is the issue, you likely need an ipv4 address associated with eth0 (00:E0:4C:F1:A3:FE)
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-06, 01:21 PM   #6
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Can't Connect!

I've experienced the same issue with both SuSE, Fedora, and Knoppix on my home network. DHCP in Linux does not work correctly. I just figure it may be a problem with my router, so I set up a static IP on my machine and then it works fine.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe Western Digital Caviar SE TB RAID 0/1 PowerLink LPK2-30 400W LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVDR/RW/ROM MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-06, 01:31 PM   #7
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Can't Connect!

To supplement what rewt said I've also noticed several SOHO routers will also mangle the DNS requests for Linux boxes too, causing long waits for resolution and sporadic failure. Best to use the same DNS servers as the router instead of using the router to forward those DNS requests.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-06, 01:48 PM   #8
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Can't Connect!

Hmm, unfortunatly many MCP51 mainboards have these problems.
So, please generate a nvidia-bug-report.log/nforce-bug-report.log and attach it in your next post...

if you've problems _generating_ the log, look
here.
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-06, 02:14 PM   #9
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Can't Connect!

I just remembered that I had set up a static table using 192.168.X.X private IP along with my Windows hostname and network card MAC address. I had done this so that whenever I booted up Windows, the DHCP server on the router would always assign me the same IP address (again, it does this based on MAC address). The problem is, Knoppix Linux uses hostname of Knoppix by default, and that didn't conform to the hostname that my Windows install uses. After all, that appeared to be what was causing the problem with my Linux connection. Because once I removed the static entry in the router, all is fine and DHCP works just fine in Knoppix.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe Western Digital Caviar SE TB RAID 0/1 PowerLink LPK2-30 400W LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVDR/RW/ROM MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to connect my Logitech 560 speakers to a... demonized General Hardware 2 08-07-02 04:03 PM
Where do you connect the fans? Grimwall CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 8 08-05-02 12:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.