Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-06, 08:28 PM   #1
munsen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default Insufficient PCI-E link width

OK, so I'm having troubles wiiith SLI on my new P5ND2-SLI motherboard. I have two identical 7800GTX cards.

lspci reports

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 7800 GTX (rev a1)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 7800 GTX (rev a1)

lspci -t

-[0000:00]-+-00.0
+-00.1
+-00.2
+-00.3
+-00.4
+-01.0
+-01.1
+-01.2
+-01.3
+-01.4
+-01.5
+-01.6
+-02.0-[0000:01]----00.0
+-06.0-[0000:02]----00.0
+-09.0
+-0a.0
+-0a.1
+-0b.0
+-0b.1
+-0b.2
+-0f.0
+-10.0
+-11.0
\-12.0-[0000:03]----08.0

grep WW /var/log/Xorg.0.log

(WW) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize SLI! Reason: Insufficient PCI-E link
(WW) NVIDIA(0): width. Only one GPU will be used for this X screen.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Please see the SLI Appendix in the README for
(WW) NVIDIA(0): troubleshooting suggestions

The readme doesn't say anything about this error. If you need more information just ask. I'm at my wit's end here.

[edit] I forgot to mention I'm using the latest nvidia driver

Last edited by munsen; 04-15-06 at 08:43 PM.
munsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-06, 09:28 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Insufficient PCI-E link width

Is the 'Single/Dual card' setup for Single or Dual videocards?

Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-06, 10:18 PM   #3
munsen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Insufficient PCI-E link width

I'm not sure what you mean by single/dual card setup. I didn't see anything like that in my bios but it may be something I overlooked.

I tried to attach a bug report but I get this:
"Your file of 128.2 KB bytes exceeds the forum's limit of 100.0 KB for this filetype."

I uploaded it to my website

http://www.ghetto-technology.net/nvidia-bug-report.log

Last edited by munsen; 04-15-06 at 10:33 PM.
munsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-06, 10:37 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Insufficient PCI-E link width

On your motherboard (or at least the picture of your motherboard on Asus's website), there is a card that controls whether you are trying to drive two videocards for SLI, or one videocard. Typically, this card sets the PCI-E lane width between 16x and some lower number.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-06, 12:20 AM   #5
munsen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Insufficient PCI-E link width

Now I feel a bit stupid hehe. That was the problem. At some point when I was building this box I completely overlooked that card. Now it works. Thanks 100,000,000 times over.
munsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a PCI card Mulciber For Sale/Trade 5 01-12-05 08:35 PM
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 02:44 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 11:16 PM
How to enable PCI latency? Phyre NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 09-13-02 02:18 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.