Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-06, 12:06 PM   #1
ggambett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

I have a GeForce 6600 AGP running on an Athlon XP 1800+ with a VIA KT266 motherboard and 512 MB of RAM. Most DirectX games I tried are unplayable due to vertex coordinates corruption. OpenGL games work fine both in Windows XP SP2 and Linux. My own DirectX and OpenGL code works just fine (fixed function pipeline, not vertex shaders). I therefore doubt this is a hardware problem.

I've installed the latest nVidia drivers, the latest (and previous version) VIA drivers including the AGP drivers, I tried RivaTuner to disable most advanced features, I disabled combined writes in the Control Panel. Nothing works. I get exactly the same horrible artifacts.

Battlefield 2 and Halo exhibit this behavior (and are unplayable). Hitman 2 and Joint Ops work fine.

I know for a fact I'm far from the only person having this problem with a 6600. Is there an official solution provided from nVidia that actually works? Do we have to accept that nVidia has just abandoned owners of certain nVidia products considered "too old" to be worth supporting?
ggambett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-06, 12:16 PM   #2
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

Try to lower your AGP port from 8x to 4x, I had this type of an issue with my 6800GT on a Via board back when they released. Don't worry there isn't any noticable performance lost.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-06, 12:20 PM   #3
ggambett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Try to lower your AGP port from 8x to 4x
Thanks. I already have it at 2x.
ggambett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-06, 12:31 PM   #4
g-a-m-e
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 351
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

ehm, isnt that like bad or something? Doesnt AGP 2x give out twice as much voltage as 4x or 8x ?
g-a-m-e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-06, 08:00 PM   #5
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

Must be a problem with the older VIA chipsets .,.. my mobo uses the VIA KT880 and it works fine.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-06, 12:36 PM   #6
ggambett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

Changing the AGP settings didn't work. I know it's a problem with this video card and this motherboard, but since OpenGL games work just fine, it's clearly something that can be solved in software. Do nVidia people read this forum? I'd really appreciate to have a definitive solution to this problem. The bottom line is that I bought a nVidia card and it doesn't work.
ggambett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-06, 05:52 PM   #7
fps_dean
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 86
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

OpenGL games always seem to run better, especially with nvidia which handles opengl really well.

You should be able to play many games without the eye candy on a 6600.
__________________
George Bush is not racist!
...he hates white people too!
fps_dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-06, 10:14 PM   #8
The Bigman
Power User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 465
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

Its the Chipset not the card or AGP setting. Via is a very bad chipset for gaming and memory. I heard from a source at Corsair that Via isn't there favorite either.

I would look into an NForce chipset or Intel for gaming not vio.
The Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-18-06, 10:21 AM   #9
ggambett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bigman
Its the Chipset not the card or AGP setting. Via is a very bad chipset for gaming and memory. I heard from a source at Corsair that Via isn't there favorite either.

I would look into an NForce chipset or Intel for gaming not vio.
I know, but I refuse to change my motherboard. The card works fine with OpenGL so the incompatibilities can be fixed in software. I want that fix.
ggambett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-06, 12:36 PM   #10
The Bigman
Power User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 465
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

Try uninstalling old via inf's and update the chipset to the latest. I believe there are newer drivers out from last month from VIA.

I work around the vio 880 too not my flagship but one im stuck with in my fleet of pc's. I can't get mem timings to work with my chipset, it tells me my ram is overclocked.
The Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-06, 10:14 AM   #11
ggambett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

Didn't work either...

Any official, proven fix for this? I know this problem isn't so unusual, and come on, a VIA chipset with a GeForce6600 can't be so unusual to just ignore it...
ggambett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-06, 09:42 AM   #12
Jasonp31
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: 6600 + Via Chipset -> most games unplayable

Can you set the motherboard bios to go to agp 1x? If so, try it. You'll take a good performance hit, but it might make it stable enough to run everything well. Worth a shot.
Jasonp31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 10:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.