Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-06, 12:24 PM   #25
mrkh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Ok, here's a summary of the results so far.

If there are any more nforce chipset users out there, it would be great if you could test suspend/hibernate to give us some more data points.

And to netllama, zander, AaronP, or anyone else from NVIDIA, I would really appreciate it if you could let us know you are reading this. I understand that you may be too busy to look at this problem immediately, but it would be reassuring to know that it is on a "to do" list.

Regards,
Ken
--

(Format is GeForce model/chipset/suspend method)

Suspend to Disk -- Failures
GF4MX/nForce2/Suspend2
GF6800/nForce2/Suspend2
GF7600/nForce4/Suspend2

Suspend to Disk -- Successes
GFGo7800/Intel945PM/Suspend2
GFGo6600/Intel915PM/Suspend2
GFGo440/Intel845MP/Suspend2
GFGo6800/Intel915PM/kernel swsusp? (OpenSuSE)


Suspend to RAM -- Failures
GFGo5200/Intel855PM/ACPI, ACPI through Suspend2

Suspend to RAM -- Successes
GFGo7800/Intel945PM/ACPI through Suspend2
GFGo5200/Intel855PM+/ACPI
GFGo6600/Unknown laptop/ACPI
GFGo5200/Intel855PM/ACPI
GFGo5200/Intel855PM/ACPI
GFGo5200/Intel855PM/ACPI
GFGo4200/Intel855PM/ACPI
GFGo6800/Intel915PM/ACPI
GFGo6600/Intel915PM/ACPI
GFGo440/Intel845MP/ACPI
GF6600/nForce3/ACPI

Last edited by mrkh; 04-25-06 at 01:55 PM.
mrkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-06, 04:30 PM   #26
Kevin-B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Suspend Method: Suspend-to-disk (Suspend2), Suspend-to-ram.
Worked?: Suspend-to-disk: yes, Suspend-to-ram: no.
SW setup: 8756 driver, Fedora Core 4, 2.6.16-1.2069_FC4 kernel
(Note I used kernel-2.6.16-1.2069_1.rhfc4.cubbi_swsusp2 when trying suspend2)
Hardware: NVidia nForce4, Geforce 6600, ASUS A8N-E, Athlon 64 3700+
Notes:

Although Suspend-to-disk worked, resuming is not much faster than booting from scratch. As such, I'm more interested in getting Suspend-to-ram working.

My suspend-to-ram script switches to vt1, stops the network, syncs the disk and then suspends via "echo mem > /sys/power/state". When resuming after the suspend, it syncs the disk again, unloads / reloads certain kernel modules, and restarts the network. (The script contains a line which switches back to vt7, but it's currently commented out.)

When I do switch back to vt7 (manually), the screen goes black, and the machine hangs. I've disabled AGP on the kernel boot line, and have played around with the various NvAGP settings in the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. I've also played around with vbetool and and the various acpi_sleep boot time options described in the Documentation/power/video.txt (in the kernel sources). So far, I haven't found a way to restore the X session on vt7.

The other problem that I've noticed with the resume is that the machines seems to hang for a period of 10-20 seconds just after resuming. I think this is due to a problem with the SATA driver. I see the following messages in /var/log/messages:

ATA: abnormal status 0x80 on port 0x967
ATA: abnormal status 0x80 on port 0x967
ATA: abnormal status 0x80 on port 0x9E7
ATA: abnormal status 0x80 on port 0x9E7
ata4: command 0xea timeout, stat 0x50 host_stat 0x0

After a short delay (that 10-20 seconds that I mentioned earlier), the kernel does manage to restore access to the SATA drives and then they behave normally afterward. I don't think the problem with the SATA drives has any bearing on the video not being restored, but if anyone knows of a fix for this problem, I'd like to hear about it.

Kevin
Kevin-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-06, 05:46 AM   #27
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkh
And to netllama, zander, AaronP, or anyone else from NVIDIA, I would really appreciate it if you could let us know you are reading this. I understand that you may be too busy to look at this problem immediately, but it would be reassuring to know that it is on a "to do" list.

Regards,
Ken
--
....
....
Yes, it would be nice, if we received some reaction.
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-06, 04:37 PM   #28
LubosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to LubosD
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Suspend method: suspend2disk
Did it work: no, hardlock
Software setup: 8756 (nvagp=1), Gentoo Linux, Linux 2.6.16
Hardware setup: GF6800 Ultra AGP, SiS645DX, FIC VI11, Intel P4 2.4 GHz
Problem desc: monitor turns off, GPU cooling goes to 100%, hardlock... more info here
LubosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-06, 11:42 PM   #29
nyc_paramedic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pipeline
1. Suspend method: suspend-to-disk, Swsusp 2 for 2.6.16
2. Did NOT work.

3. Kernel: vanilla 2.6.16.1 + swsusp2 2.4 for 2.6.16, agpgart disabled.
X: xorg 6.8.2 with nvidia driver.
4. Hardware: Athlon 64 on nforce 4 (ASUS A8N-SLI premium), with Geforce 7600GT (ASUS brand).
5. When suspending, after everything seems to be done, monitor powers off, but computer keeps running and is irresponsive. GPU fan goes to full speed. Situation did not change for 10 min, then I powered off manually. Restarting leads to a reboot, not a resume.
Tried every trick I heard (several NVAGP settings, certain "magic" hiberante options etc.), but situation does not change.
When "nvidia" module is not loaded, i.e in console mode, everything works fine.
I'm using the same motherboard, an ASUS A8N-SLI Premium. I'm using the Yukon NIC, with the other disabled.

I have been able to suspend-to-disk consistently, since the new drivers came out, withou any problems.

God how I love suspend-to disk on a desktop machine. I have so many apps open; it's nice to just have them where I left off after I hot the power switch.

(Suspend method) Suspend-to-disk
(Worked?) Yes
(Suspend method) Suspend-to-ram
(Worked?) No
(SW setup) Debian unstable, custom debian 2.6.16, no patches applied, current Debian Xorg 7.0 release, latest NVIDA driver, kernel swsusp to swap.
(HW) Asus A8N-SLI Premium, Athlon 3500+, EVGA 7800GTX 512 x1, Soundblaster Live Value, LSI U160 SCSI card.
(Problem Desc.) Suspend to Ram fails to come back. Green power LED flases when machine goes to sleep. All fans full throttle. Tried passing acpi_sleep=s3_bios with no change.
nyc_paramedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-06, 04:14 PM   #30
Calim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

HP zd7000 / GeForce 5700Go

(Suspend-to-Disk) works with suspend2 (since 8178), occasionally hangs
- it seems as if the display were darker and slowly becoming brighter
again on resume

(Suspend-to-RAM) crap, with NvAGP=1, and any NVreg_Mobile values
- have to switch to console, black screen after resume
- stays black until restarting X
- when switching to X without restarting, it hangs
(although shutdown is still possible through ACPID event)
Calim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-06, 01:37 PM   #31
macks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

1. (Suspend method) Suspend-to-disk
2. (Worked?) No
3. (SW setup) Debian unstable, debian linux-source-2.6.16-10+suspend2 2.2.5 patch, custom config, NVIDIA 8756
4. (HW) Dell Dimension 8200 (Intel 850E mainboard, Pentium 4), GeForce 6800 AGP
5. (Problem) Starts suspending, screen blanks, GPU fans go to max. speed, but system remains powered on, requires hard reset. System boots normally after hard reset. Suspend/resume works fine when not running X.
macks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-06, 03:35 PM   #32
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by macks
1. (Suspend method) Suspend-to-disk
2. (Worked?) No
3. (SW setup) Debian unstable, debian linux-source-2.6.16-10+suspend2 2.2.5 patch, custom config, NVIDIA 8756
4. (HW) Dell Dimension 8200 (Intel 850E mainboard, Pentium 4), GeForce 6800 AGP
5. (Problem) Starts suspending, screen blanks, GPU fans go to max. speed, but system remains powered on, requires hard reset. System boots normally after hard reset. Suspend/resume works fine when not running X.
Again, that's exactly the same what happens on my system too.
In both cases the GPU is 6800 AGP, but chipset is not nforce.

So maybe it's a GPU specific thing? Any other 6800 users?
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-02-06, 03:47 AM   #33
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?



Officials, any comment? We have some data gathered now. Could you please share your experience whith our faulty cases' hardware specs?
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-06, 06:17 AM   #34
fm2503
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Dell D800 latitude
nVidia Corporation NV34M [GeForce FX Go5200] (rev a1)

2.6.16 with suspend2 patches.
Nvidia 8178 with most of the patches

Both suspend-to-ram and suspend2-to-disk work, and resuming works as well. Suspicions that X acceleration is messed up after resume, but haven't actually prooved this. VGA consoles are messed up after resume (both methods), the only satisfactory solution I have found is a "vbetool vbemode set 3" which brings the VGA consoles back. X comes back to life quite happily.

Oooh, I've just noticed 8756 released, been happy enough with the current version to not visit here very often. Will try updating now.


8756 works for both as well - although it messed with the order of my dual display setup (twto X displays) - I had to switch from ConnectedMonitor to UseDisplayDevice to get this working. It's not proper twinview just 2 x displays to give me more screen estate.

Last edited by fm2503; 05-03-06 at 07:11 AM.
fm2503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-06, 04:31 PM   #35
89TROOPER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauljohn
Fedora core 5
title Fedora Core (2.6.16-1.2096_FC5)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.16-1.2096_FC5 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet agp=off
initrd /initrd-2.6.16-1.2096_FC5.img
Which suspend2 version? It's broken for me now...worked before.
89TROOPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 05:07 AM   #36
fm2503
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89TROOPER
Which suspend2 version? It's broken for me now...worked before.

suspend2-2.2.1-for-2.6.16.tar.bz2
fm2503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiseat X with two cards: used to work, now segfaulting Artefact2 NVIDIA Linux 10 06-26-12 06:22 PM
295.40 Does not Work Had to downgrade to 295.33 Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 4 05-03-12 03:38 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 11:16 PM
Can't get FSAA to work krow NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 09:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.