Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-06, 03:22 PM   #37
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Would be nice to see official comment...

It seems it's not a rare ocassion to have problems with suspend and latest nvidia driver..
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-06, 02:47 AM   #38
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-06, 03:26 AM   #39
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

i wish we had some official answer on this matter. Next release supposed to be close, would be nice to know if a solution will be included or just any suggestion about it..
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-06, 03:00 PM   #40
nosnahoj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

1. (Suspend method) Suspend-to-ram
2. (Worked?) Yes, absolutely perfect, even the consoles works after.
3. (SW setup) Fedora core 4, 2.6.16, NVIDIA 8756,
4. (HW) Toshiba Portege M200 (Intel 855pm, Pentium M), GeForce 5200go AGP
5. (Problem) No

1. (Suspend method) Suspend-to-disk
2. (Worked?) No
3. (SW setup) Fedora core 4, 2.6.16, NVIDIA 8756, swsusp
4. (HW) Toshiba Portege M200 (Intel 855pm, Pentium M), GeForce 5200go AGP
5. (Problem) Suspending works, resumeing hangs. (too small swap-partition?)
nosnahoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 02:45 AM   #41
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosnahoj
5. (Problem) Suspending works, resumeing hangs. (too small swap-partition?)
If your suspension is successful, it means your swap partition IS big enough.
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-06, 02:20 PM   #42
Darkvater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 57
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

1. (Suspend method) Suspend-to-disk
2. (Worked?) No
3. (SW setup) SuSE 10.1, NVIDIA 8756
4. (HW) AMD1.3GHz ASUSA7V133, Geforce FX 5600
5. (Problem) Suspending works, resumeing hangs.
Darkvater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-06, 06:20 AM   #43
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

I didnt test the new 8762 yet. I read a mail on suspend2 maillist that it helped someone with suspend2. Have anyone with past failures tried it yet?
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-06, 09:11 AM   #44
Kevin-B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by krionius
I didnt test the new 8762 yet. I read a mail on suspend2 maillist that it helped someone with suspend2. Have anyone with past failures tried it yet?
Here's my report for 8762:

Suspend Method: Suspend-to-RAM.
Worked?: No.
SW setup: 8762 driver, Fedora Core 4, 2.6.16-1.2069_FC4 kernel
Hardware: NVidia nForce4, Geforce 6600, ASUS A8N-E, Athlon 64 3700+

Notes:
Suspend-to-Ram with 8762 still crashs / hangs the kernel after a resume. For my system, this behavior appears to be unchanged from 8756 and 8178.

I've reported in the past that suspend-to-disk (via suspend2) did work for me with 8756. I wasn't terribly impressed with the speed of the resume though and therefore have not tried it with 8762.
Kevin-B is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-24-06, 09:25 AM   #45
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

1. Suspend-to-disk / Suspend-to-ram
2. Yes, both methods works if I disable AGP
3. 8762, Suse 10.1 2.6.16.13-4-default)
4. nForce 3, GeForce 6600GT, Gigabyte Gak8nsPro.

I'm trying to disable agpgart to use nvagp, but I can't. Anyone already done that? Also agpgart is reporting too low agp aperture (32MB), is that a problem?
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-06, 09:55 AM   #46
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

One thing to note with ACPI power management on Linux is that mileage still varies greatly between different hardware and, unfortunately, software configurations. A lot of active development is still being done in the Linux kernel and behavior with any two Linux kernels can be drastically different.

If ACPI S3 and/or S4 do not work with a given configuration, it's worth checking if it reliably suspends/resumes without the NVIDIA Linux graphics driver (and the NVIDIA kernel module) loaded, either from within X with the nv X driver or (preferably) from the console, before X has started. If this works reliably, power management problems with the NVIDIA graphics driver are more likely to be caused by bugs in or interoperability problems with the latter, but since the NVIDIA graphics driver interacts with the kernel and the host system differently than the nv driver, it relies much more heavily on a reliably working host system, and often exposes problems that would not be seen otherwise. An example is power management in the AGP GART driver, which, unless properly implemented, can result in hangs if the NVIDIA graphics driver was configured to use AGP memory. This still is a common problem today.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-06, 10:23 AM   #47
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Smile Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Update: It Works! I managed to force nvagp instead of agpgart and now agp works fine after resume.

I followed this article: http://en.opensuse.org/index.php?tit..._Suspend_HOWTO
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-06, 01:08 PM   #48
mrkh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Lightbulb Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander

If ACPI S3 and/or S4 do not work with a given configuration, it's worth checking if it reliably suspends/resumes without the NVIDIA Linux graphics driver (and the NVIDIA kernel module) loaded, either from within X with the nv X driver or (preferably) from the console, before X has started. If this works reliably, power management problems with the NVIDIA graphics driver are more likely to be caused by bugs in or interoperability problems with the latter, but since the NVIDIA graphics driver interacts with the kernel and the host system differently than the nv driver, it relies much more heavily on a reliably working host system, and often exposes problems that would not be seen otherwise.
An example is power management in the AGP GART driver, which, unless properly implemented, can result in hangs if the NVIDIA graphics driver was configured to use AGP memory. This still is a common problem today.
Zander, thank you very much for giving some feedback on this stuff.

I have a situation similar to what you have described -- everything works fine from the console or with the nv driver, but with the NVIDIA driver, resume from disk either locks up hard (with the NvAGP driver), or results in a mostly unresponsive system (with agpgart). See this thread for more info.

If I understand you correctly, it sounds like in the latter case I could be running into problems with the kernel's agpgart implementation. I assume this is why Nvidia developed their own AGP GART driver, but unfortunately this doesn't seem to like my hardware either....any thoughts on this, or suggestions on how to debug it further?

Regards,
Ken
mrkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiseat X with two cards: used to work, now segfaulting Artefact2 NVIDIA Linux 10 06-26-12 05:22 PM
295.40 Does not Work Had to downgrade to 295.33 Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 4 05-03-12 02:38 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
Can't get FSAA to work krow NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 08:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.