Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-06, 02:32 PM   #49
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

@mrkh: how does the system behave if you disable AGP alltogether (Option "NvAGP" "0")?
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-06, 03:18 PM   #50
mrkh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
@mrkh: how does the system behave if you disable AGP alltogether (Option "NvAGP" "0")?
It resumes successfully (!) This seems to suggest the issue is connected to the AGP driver doesn't it?

Unfortunately, without AGP, the video overlay performance is not good enough for fullscreen video, and this is for a MythTV box.

Ken
mrkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-06, 04:08 AM   #51
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

It seems the new driver is a bit better than the previous.

I've had system hang on suspending with the previous one.

With fresh new driver I can suspend, but resuming results in system hang when X is being restored. I have a blank screen, and freeze. (All memory restoring seems to succeed, but when X should come to life with the nvidia driver - it utterly fails.)

Without nvidia driver all works fine.

(I will check DISABLING agp (i am using nvagp, not kernel AGPGART!), when I will be in the mood, after feeling the good old sadness that yes, sure, it does NOT work again with my nforce2/gf6800 combination. Disabling AGP is of course not a real solution.)
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-06, 01:28 AM   #52
kmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 34
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

  1. (Suspend method) Suspend2 Suspend-to-disk
  2. (Worked?) No - fails on suspend
  3. (SW setup) 8762 drivers, Fedora Core 4, kernel-2.6.16-1.2111_1.rhfc4.cubbi_swsusp2
  4. (HW) VIA K8T800Pro, GF6800 AGP, Athlon XP 3200+
  5. (Problem Desc.) Doesn't work if nvidia module is loaded, hangs somewhere in the suspend process with monitor going into sleep.
    Tried it with either AGP off or AGPGART, I can't test NvAGP=1 since K8T800Pro chipset isn't supported by NVIDIA driver (though K8T800 is supported, is it that hard to add the Pro version support?)
Some notes: suspending/resuming from the console without X works, as well as from X with nv open source driver.
I haven't tried vanilla swsusp since it requires a swap partition which I don't have (swapping to a file).
kmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-06, 01:16 PM   #53
javier_paniagua
Registered User
 
javier_paniagua's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Unhappy Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

  1. (Suspend method) Suspend2 suspend-to-disk
  2. (Worked?) No
  3. (SW setup) 8762 drivers, Fedora Core 4, kernel-2.6.16-1.2111_1.rhfc4.cubbi_swsusp2
  4. (HW) NForce 220D, Integrated GF2MX, Duron 1400, 512MB (32MB shared)
  5. (Problem Desc.) Doesn't work if nvidia module is loaded, hangs at the end of the resume process (when resuming X) with monitor getting out of sync .
    Works wonderfully with nv driver (have to launch dummy X though.)

nv works, nvidia doesn't... as usual
javier_paniagua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-06, 04:06 PM   #54
pastyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

1. (Suspend method) Suspend2 suspend-to-disk
2. (Worked?) Partially - see 5
3. (SW setup) 8762 drivers, Fedora Core 5, kernel-suspend2-2.6.16-1.2122_1.rhfc5.cubbi_suspend2
4. (HW) NForce2, AGP FX 5200, Athlon XP 2400+, 1 GB RAM
5. (Problem Desc.) Using agpgart (built in kernel) doesn't resume X. With NVAGP=1, resuming works great - however, the acceleration in games is significantly worse both before and after resume. Using both NVAGP=1 and agp=off as parameter to kernel at boottime, the acceleration is good again, but X doesn't resume
Suspend with nv driver or from console works fine.

Yes, the nvidia drivers behaviour is really strange.
pastyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-06, 09:55 AM   #55
DeX77
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

(Suspend method) STR
(Worked?) No - fails on resume (black screen no system response)
(SW setup) 8762 drivers, Slackware 10.2, Xorg 7.0, kernel-2.6.16.14-vanilla
(HW) Leadtek K7NCR18D(nforce2), Aopen 6800LE
(Problem Desc.) Doesnt work even with no X,no modules loaded, vga=0, noapic and vga_flags set to 0,1,2 or 3

(Suspend method) suspend2
(Worked?) partial
(SW setup) 8762 drivers, Slackware 10.2, kernel-2.6.16.14-vanilla
(HW) Leadtek K7NCR18D(nforce2), Aopen 6800LE
(Problem Desc.) Works when not trying to use X, but then it's pretty useless in terms of "time-to-work"

So I guess it really is the nforce Chipset wich is somehow not capable of S3 using Linux
DeX77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 08:49 PM   #56
tphyex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

This may not be a linux issue at all.

I'm seeing "suspend does not resume" failures on a dell e1705 dual core machine under windows xp (build 1600.xpsp.050622-1524 service pack 2). (Hibernate works, but only once -- a later attempt to hibernate fails, and will not go into hibernate).

I stumbled on this thread while trying to find a cure. Thought you guys might want to know...
tphyex is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-06, 07:43 AM   #57
metheglin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

1) Suspend-to-disk (S4 hibernate) via suspend2 patches (from gentoo linux-2.6.17-suspend2-r2 kernel)
2) NO: SUSPEND is fine, RESUME fails
3) nVidia drivers version 8762 from gentoo package nvidia-drivers-1.0.8762, Xorg 7.0;
--> agpgart disabled in kernel.
--> Option "NvAGP" "1"
--> /etc/modules.d/nvidia settings:
option nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=0
option nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPFW=0
--> hibernate script setting
ProcSetting extra_pages_allowance 0
4) MSI K8N Neo2 Motherboard, with nForce3 chipset; GeForce 6600 on Gigabyte GV-N62128DE graphics card
5) X process busy-hangs with cpu usage 99.9% with black screen and input devices are unusable. log files show errors like this:

Jul 22 23:03:46 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 6, PE0000 0104 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Jul 22 23:03:51 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 16, Head 00000000 Count 00000952
Jul 22 23:03:53 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 6, PE0000 0104 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
- Last output repeated twice -
Jul 22 23:03:53 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 6, PE0000 0000 bfef000c 00000040 00000000 beef0201
Jul 22 23:03:53 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 6, PE0000 0000 bfef000c 00000000 00000000 00000000
Jul 22 23:04:00 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 16, Head 00000000 Count 00000953
Jul 22 23:04:08 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 16, Head 00000000 Count 00000954
Jul 22 23:04:16 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 16, Head 00000000 Count 00000955
Jul 22 23:04:24 [kernel] NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 16, Head 00000000 Count 00000956
metheglin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-06, 02:35 PM   #58
Cinquero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

STD did not work with nforce2 chipset and GeForce Ti4800SE here, too.

Works with VIA (KT400A) chipset if NvAgp option is set to 1.

Question: does anyone care about the performance loss here, when setting NvAgp to 1? According to docs, that disables some features and my 3D framerate has dropped by a factor of 4 or 5.

I suggest that nvidia provides a tool that allows one to switch the NvAgp setting for a running X session.
Cinquero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-06, 02:50 PM   #59
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

@Cinquero: setting the NvAGP option to "1" instructs the NVIDIA Linux graphics driver to attempt to initialize the builtin AGP GART driver, and to fall back to PCI mode if this fails; with the default setting, the driver will attempt to initialize the Linux AGP GART driver (if installed for the target kernel), then the builtin one (NvAGP) - only if both fail will it fall back to PCI mode, in which case you may see a significant performance hit. The AGP GART driver can not be changed on the fly.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-06, 10:38 AM   #60
DeX77
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Small Update from me:

I tried using 2.6.18-rc4 because the Changelogs mentioned adding resume and suspend to the agpgart nforce module..

Same effect like before but this time i catched a:
"NVRM: Xid (0002:00): 8, Channel 00000020"

This looks like the same error i got on my old KT133 Board when trying to use AGP..
The GPU is the only thing shared
DeX77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiseat X with two cards: used to work, now segfaulting Artefact2 NVIDIA Linux 10 06-26-12 06:22 PM
295.40 Does not Work Had to downgrade to 295.33 Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 4 05-03-12 03:38 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 11:16 PM
Can't get FSAA to work krow NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 09:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.