Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-06, 01:13 AM   #73
longshot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Suspend-to-memory work for me on two boxes, both nforce 4 motherboards:

1) Gigabyte K8NXPSLI, 7600GT, 2.6.18.3, 9742-beta
2) Foxconn NF4K8MC-ERS, 7600GS or 6600GT, 2.6.18.3, 9742-beta

I have tried to get STR working several times over the last couple of years, first time it has all come together. Good news.

Only blemish is that the nforce 4 ethernet port does not resume. On the Foxconn board I do it manually (/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart). The Gigabyte motherboard has two Gbit ethernet ports and the one driven by the Marvel 8053 does resume, manually trying to restart the nforce 4 ethernet fails.

I dont think I will bother with suspend-to-ram, the power savings of suspend-to-ram are good enough (100 W idle -> 10 W in suspend).
longshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-06, 03:42 AM   #74
lloeki
Arch Linux
 
lloeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 122
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

hardware: dell xps m1210 core 2 duo
vcard: go 7400
kernel: gentoo-sources-2.6.18-r3, smp
driver: 9629

using latest hibernate scripts from portage

- standby not tested: i don't care about it.

- suspend to ram works (with some 'sleep 1' added right before suspend & after resume, and switchtovt). it was deadlocked on resume with 2.6.17.

- suspend to disk (swsusp|suspend2) works without x started, fails with x started (even from a vt)
same symptom for both methods. I have a working asus w7j (~same hardware but a core duo)) to compare with, where s2disk (either one) works. when going to s2disk, the screen flashes off-on briefly (like a resolution switch), then suspend goes on. at the same point on the xps, the screen flashes off but never comes back on: computer is deadlocked. sometimes it reboots by itself, others I have to manually power off the hard way.
lloeki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-06, 01:42 PM   #75
hooaarzt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

  1. (Suspend method) Suspend-to-disk (Suspend2 2.2.8.4 kernel and packages from atrpms.net)
  2. (Worked?) Partially - failed on resume.
  3. (SW setup) 1.0-9629 drivers, Fedora Core 6, kernel-suspend2-2.6.18-1.2849_1.fc6.cubbi_suspend2 plus the supporting suspend2 packages from atrpms.net
  4. (HW) NForce 2 (Abit NF7-S), GeForce 2 MX400 (Elsa Gladiac 511), Athlon XP Barton 2500+
  5. (Problem Desc.) Resuming does not work with AGP enabled (using nvidia's AGP driver with NvAGP=1). When the image should be restored, the system hangs in text mode (no vesafb or such things) with a light grey background and a blinking white cursor.

I'm suspending from a running X session, the parameters passed to the kernel upon boot include apic=off and agp=off.

Resuming works successfully in the following situations
  1. NvAGP=0, Suspend from a running X session: resume restores X, system is fully functional
  2. NvAGP=1, Shutting down X, suspend from the text console (nvidia.ko module is still loaded): resume restores a fully functional system (I can even start X after resuming without having any issues)
  3. using opensource nv driver, Suspend from a running X session: resume restores X, system is fully functional
hooaarzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-06, 03:25 AM   #76
bradmw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Unhappy Only without AGP

I tried with three different kernels. These are my results for NO AGP.

NOTE: When VbeTool forces the graphics card to post, the Geforce 4 card's BIOS message is slightly corrupted. LeadTek's logo is ascii garbage, and it counts to 255.0MB instead of 128.0.

1. Suspend-to-Ram
2. works but see #5
3. nvidia-drivers-1.0.9631, gentoo, (gentoo-sources-2.6.19-r2, gentoo's ck-sources-2.6.19_p2, git-sources-2.6.19-r19)
4. Nforce2 Ultra 400, LeadTek WinFast A250 Ultra TD (Geforce Ti 4600), Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe, Athlon XP+ 2600 Barton
5. after resuming the virtual console doesn't draw normally. the screen only changes the prompt line. pressing enter doesn't advance the prompt. only switching virtual terminals and back will show all changes.

1. Suspend-to-disk (not suspend2)
2. works without issues like previous #5
3. same as above
4. same as above

none of the three kernels with nvidia-drivers could sleep or hibernate using either NvAGP or AGPGART. The keyboard was unresponsive after resuming in all cases.

Like many others have said, disabling AGP is not a solution.
bradmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-07, 02:41 PM   #77
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

openSuSe 10.2, kernel 2.6.20. Using nvidia agp and display driver.

s2ram:
system suspends and resumes fine (ssh works), except video, I get blank screen (even tried suspend from console with different switches, runlevel 3).

s2disk:
works from console, however when using X I get blank screen (unable to solve this).
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-07, 09:01 PM   #78
claw6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

(Suspend method) both suspend-to-RAM and suspend-to-disk.
(Worked?) both work
(SW) nvidia driver 1.0-9746
Distro: Gentoo
kernel: 2.6.16-suspend2-r8
Software Suspend 2.2.5
gcc 3.4.6
(HW) Graphics: WinFast A7600 GT TDH
MB: DFI PS83-BL with Intel 865PE chipset
CPU: Pentium-4 2.6 Ghz + Hyperthreading

nVidia AGP status:
Status: Enabled
Driver: NVIDIA
AGP Rate: 8x
Fast Writes: Disabled
SBA: Enabled
Fast Writes and SBA not configurable in BIOS.

Stability: Just upgraded graphics card and got suspend working. Seems OK but time will tell. Suspend worked well enough with previous card
claw6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-07, 03:42 PM   #79
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

I've posted some here and there about Nvidia drivers and suspend not working for me, so currently I am quite surprised and amazed that with my new video card and the beta driver it happens to work !out of the box! with built-in kernel swsusp (not tried with suspend2, 2.6.21 kernel has no released suspend2 patch yet.).

So...

- kernel 2.6.21-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Apr 30 17:13:22 CEST 2007 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

- nvidia-driver 100.14.03

- xorg 7.2

- gf8800GTS 320M

Works : "echo disk > /sys/power/state" --> suspend to disk

Amazed too that SMP suspend is supported flawlessly by the linux kernel.

... well deserved.
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-07, 02:25 PM   #80
m-singh
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 40
Thumbs down Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Hardware :

Dell D820 with an NVIDIA 7400 Geforce Go PCI-E card.
Kernel versions : 2.6.20 (patched with suspend2 2.2.9.10 to 2.2.9.13), 2.6.21 (patched with suspend2 2.2.9.15).
Driver versions tried :

8776 (Debian Etch/Lenny), 9631 (Debian Experimental), 9755 (NVIDIA stock driver) and beta 100.14.03 (NVIDIA stock driver).

Upshot :

ACPI Suspend to RAM (S3) works with nvidia, nv, (USB / HAL do not come back alive)
Suspend2 hibernate works with nv, occasionally losing the mouse pointer upon resume.
Suspend2 hibernate works from text mode (after stopping kdm and unloading nvidia driver).

Problems :

Nvidia binary drivers do not hibernate. One success out of about 100 attempts. Never was able to repeat it with unchanged settings. Did not hibernate successfully after resume.

Symptoms :

Upon initiating hibernate, the laptop acts normally until the display is switched off and all hard disk activity has ceased. At that point, the laptop does not power down unless I do a hard reset. The Bluetooth and power light is left on. Disabling bluetooth (using the hardware switch) before hibernate makes no difference.

Upon rebooting, all filesystems are fsck'ed/restored from journal as if they had been unmounted uncleanly.
m-singh is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-07, 08:01 PM   #81
=JeffH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Yes, of late suspend-to-ram is working (for me). I have not tried suspend-to-disk (aka hibernate) since upgrading video driver and kernel. In a few prior curiosity-driven attempts, hibernate had worked about 40% of the time (and this was with the 9755 driver rev IIRC).

current setup:
-------------
Dell D820 core 2 duo T7200
w/ nVidia Qaudro NVS 120m (aka geForce Go 7400) "512mb"

Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy, vanila installation, with current (as of today 9-Oct-2007) updates applied.

X Window System Version 7.1.1
Release Date: 12 May 2006
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 7.1.1
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.15.7 i686
Current Operating System: Linux 2.6.17-12-generic #2 SMP Sun Sep 23 22:56:28 UTC 2007 i686
Build Date: 07 July 2006
Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present

nvidia binary driver, version 100.14.09
(see this thread: here, esp. more recent posts beginning here)

wrt swsusp in kernel, suspend2, etc.: lsmod doesn't show any modules matching the expression "*sus*", and I'm not sure what the ubuntu/debian gangs have config'd in Linux 2.6.17-12-generic by default.

The only tweak I've made specifically to try to help suspend-to-ram be reliable is to rename "/usr/sbin/vbetool" so it can't be found by the stock suspend/resume scripts, if they do in fact attempt to employ it.

Since installing the latest Ubuntu-released kernel upgrade and installing 100.14.09 binary driver, suspend-to-ram has been 100% successful, before and after renaming "/usr/sbin/vbetool", although I'd only tried it a couple of times before effecting that tweak. I've tried suspend/resume about 15..20 times since and it worked fine. System was in-use or suspended for almost about 5 days before I rebooted today to resolve an unrelated (AFAIK) issue with the sound subsystem.

Hotkey switching of displays between builtin LCD and external VGA-connected monitor works 100% (so far) in terms of switching just between either the builtin-LCD and the VGA-connected external monitor. I.e. either one is working and the other is blank, i.e. there is no apparent mode where both are working (with the external monitor "mirroring" what's on the builtin-LCD).

Note: I'd tried the 100.14.19 driver and it'd consistently locked up the sytem's user interface when I tried to do a hotkey switch. this was before I renamed "/usr/sbin/vbetool" so I don't know if that might've had anything to do with it, and I needed to get work done so didn't mess around with running the bugreport tool. And 100.14.09 works for me, so I'm going to sit pat until there's compelling reason to upgrade the driver (like having a display mirroring mode that's available via hotkey switch (it might be there - maybe i'm just not properly config'd?).

=JeffH

update 9-Oct-2007: added "(for me)".
=JeffH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-07, 01:50 PM   #82
mlfarrell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 65
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

1. Suspend 2 ram and suspend 2 disk both work with 95% success rate.
2. yes, apart from garbage on screen for a few seconds before it suspends and after it resumes (goes away though)
3. Nvidia latest (worked in earlier ones though), 100.14.19. OpenSuse 10.1 with lots and lots of upgrades (xorg 7.2, kernel 2.6.22.8-smp, suspend 0.5 from tar.gz src)
4. Nvidia geforce go 7400.

Works with GL apps running, even beryl/compiz.

IIRC, I had to upgrade to kernel 2.6.20.3 before it ever worked the first time, 2.6.17 did NOT work. so for me it was a kernel issue.
mlfarrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-07, 11:39 AM   #83
Erwan Le Pennec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Hi everyone,

1. suspend-to-ram and suspend2 (tuxonice)
2. both works but it seems than once I've suspended on disk I can't suspend on ram anymore...
3. 100.14.19 on a fedora core 6 (kernel-suspend2-2.6.22.7-57_1.cubbi_suspend2.fc6)
4. NV110M on a Dell D620
5. To suspend on disk I have to run an opengl application (try glxgears) before suspending... as hinted by Nvidia's documentation. It seems related to "a strange bug" with PCI express!

Erwan which was amazed by the "run glxgears to suspend on disk" trick!
Erwan Le Pennec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-07, 02:07 PM   #84
meldroc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Somewhere in Colorado
Posts: 19
Default Re: Suspend/Hibernate - does it work for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erwan Le Pennec
Hi everyone,

1. suspend-to-ram and suspend2 (tuxonice)
2. both works but it seems than once I've suspended on disk I can't suspend on ram anymore...
3. 100.14.19 on a fedora core 6 (kernel-suspend2-2.6.22.7-57_1.cubbi_suspend2.fc6)
4. NV110M on a Dell D620
5. To suspend on disk I have to run an opengl application (try glxgears) before suspending... as hinted by Nvidia's documentation. It seems related to "a strange bug" with PCI express!

Erwan which was amazed by the "run glxgears to suspend on disk" trick!
I just upgraded to Ubuntu Gutsy, and I too have found that I have to run glxgears to suspend now. Bizarre...
meldroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiseat X with two cards: used to work, now segfaulting Artefact2 NVIDIA Linux 10 06-26-12 05:22 PM
295.40 Does not Work Had to downgrade to 295.33 Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 4 05-03-12 02:38 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
Can't get FSAA to work krow NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 08:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.