Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-03, 05:08 AM   #1
g.krist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 20
Default [Geforce 4 Twinview] Problem with tv resolution

Guys I finally have twinview (clone mode) working. Hell i'm not a beginner even

First I will explain what I want. I want to have my desktop (monitor) @ 1152x864 and then see the desktop on my TV (800x600).

Problem is when I have my monitor @ 1024x768my desktop on the tv fits nicely. When having monitor in higher resolution the desktop seems to big to fit on TV screen. I use:

"Metamodes" "1152x864,800x600; 1024x768,800x600;800x600,800X600"

I'm pretty clueless atm. I tried so MANY things. So I would give you a free beer if you can help
g.krist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-03, 06:42 AM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Have you looked at the readme under "panning domains" or whatever it's called?

I don't know if that would even help, but maybe...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-03, 06:57 AM   #3
g.krist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 20
Default

well actually i'm kinda clueless about it. You have a sample to use?
g.krist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-03, 07:14 AM   #4
g.krist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 20
Default

This is the problem I think:
----------------------------
(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for Display Device 1:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "800x600": 40.0 MHz, 37.9 kHz, 60.3 Hz
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Specified panning domain width of 800 is smaller than viewport
(WW) NVIDIA(0): width 1152; adjusting
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Specified panning domain height of 600 is smaller than
(WW) NVIDIA(0): viewport height 864; adjusting
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1152 x 864

Question is it possible to get my desktop on the tv completely, without I have to change my monitor to lower resolution
g.krist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-03, 12:19 PM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Maybe try MetaModes "1152x864,800x600@800x864"? Your TV will still scroll, though.

AFAIK there's no way to use MetaModes and not have the TV scroll. What MetaModes does is create one large screen (in your case, its resolution is 1952x864) that's split across both heads. It has to be one screen so that acceleration works properly (I think), and since it's one screen, it has to be rectangular. Which means that extra space at the bottom of the TV has to be there, and the TV will scroll.

Maybe if you just used Xinerama? I'm not sure if that's possible, though.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-03, 02:59 PM   #6
g.krist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 20
Default

I think i have to make 2 screens, one for my monitor (biggest resolution) and one screen for tv. So i can switch with ctrl-alt-f7/f8. Any knows how to do that?
g.krist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-03, 04:20 PM   #7
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Check section R (I think) of the README for how to set up independent screens.

You don't switch between them with ctrl-alt-f7/8, you just see them both all the time.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 03:22 PM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-22-12 11:38 PM
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 02:27 PM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.