Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-06, 05:34 PM   #1
gr83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default 8756 for x86_64

Need help on a x86_64 Athlonx2 and GeForce Go 6800 system running Ubuntu 5.10. The 8178 drivers look to be working however my screen is blank. I hear the GDM startup sounds, yet no serious errors in /var/log/Xorg.0.log and only warnings. I've tried several options and modelines suggested previously here on the forums with no change in the situation. Same results when using a non-smp kernel.

I have also tried the stock restricted Ubuntu package which has 7667? drivers but have lockup issues and the 8157? drivers load GDM/X when I comment out glx in the xorg.conf and can't type glxinfo without the system hanging.

ps:
gr83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-06, 08:22 PM   #2
fozner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 63
Default Re: 8756 for x86_64

Try more relaxed monitor timings (modelines). The new driver seems more zealous about what the monitor can (can't) handle.
fozner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-06, 11:19 AM   #3
gr83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: 8756 for x86_64

Forgot to include the nvidia-bug-report.log file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fozner
Try more relaxed monitor timings (modelines). The new driver seems more zealous about what the monitor can (can't) handle.
I have tried 1024x768 with the same results.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (24.2 KB, 118 views)
gr83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-06, 07:49 AM   #4
fozner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 63
Default Re: 8756 for x86_64

Hmm I didn't notice your system hangs when you type glxinfo. That's not good. Have you tried installing under kernel 2.6.17? I would also re-install that glxinfo package. On my system it's called glx-utils. And try another monitor, eg. maybe a good time to upgrade to a flat screen.

Arrrgh, I've been using linux for years and just now found out you can change screen resolutions by pressinc CTRL-ALT+ (and minus). That would have been handy back when I was getting this other monitor working.
fozner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.