Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-02, 01:00 PM   #1
token
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default tv-out on nForce mobos

Hello!

I'm thinking about buying an ASUS mainboard with nForce chipset. The
mobo has optional add-in card to do TV-out for the onboard chipset.

My question is: is this TV-out *exactly* the same as of the card's ones?
I mean, the drivers, the configs, etc?

And most important: the appliance i'm gonna build will have no monitor,
so it is a must to have the boot and console on the TV, like standalone
cards will do. Will i get the same of this TV-out add-in card on the
ASUS mobo?

Or should i buy separate a videocard? Both cases it will be a Geforce2
MX200 or a MX400.

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-02, 02:42 PM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Tvout is the same as on normal Nvidia cards. I would really suggest to think if you really want an nforce mobo. There are a lot of problems with the network driver and other things. I would buy a more normal mobo with integrated things and not one nforce based.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-02, 11:03 AM   #3
token
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default thanks

Hi

Thanks for the hint. I was really in doubt, now i'll try the separate cards.

Anyone out there have already built an appliance to use on the tv room? I'll mount it inside an old VCR shell, so i'll have to buy a small mainboard (that asus one is 9,6 x 9,6, perfect).

Any tip about what model/brand to buy?

I'll run linux, so compatibility is important.

Thanks again,
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-02, 11:27 AM   #4
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

There's one great mobo for it but the videopart isn't that great. (PCI might help ??). Check this mobo: http://www.viavpsd.com/product/epia_...herboardId=21.

The mobo's aren't that expensive and are all you need for an appliance. (onboard x86 cpu is included)

If you want something bigger look at this mobo: http://www.fic.com.tw/motherboards/at31/at31_intro.htm (ati radeon based). The chipset is part ATI and part VIA and all features are availible on linux (even opensource) I think.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nForce + RedHat 7.3 Success Story rtz NVIDIA Linux 47 02-15-03 02:20 AM
Nforce AGP & unreal 2003 nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-18-02 05:21 PM
Keep K7S5A or Upgrade To Nforce MB? Grechie CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 10-06-02 02:28 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
AMD 333MHz and nForce Speculation TheTaz Rumor Mill 5 08-17-02 11:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.