Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-06, 02:14 PM   #1
saqer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Default 6600GT crash: desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

FC5 x86_64 asus k8v + amd 3700 754 + 2GB corsair
problem I am reporting happened even before when I had FC4, 1GB mushkin and 3200+ on same motherboard.


The summary of problem is when I run openGL application. The openGL window starts developing lines originating from the center of the openGL window at first but then starts to appear at random locations. If I wait long enough, the computers hangs hardly that even an ssh to the box is not possible. If I act fast, in the other hand, and kill the openGL applications, the X server starts acting wierd afterward. Please see the two screenshots in a previous post in another thread.

Here are also another screenshot of my desktop. It clearly show lins extended from the left top corner of the screen to the icons of the menues opened.
screenshot 1680x1050

The same problem happened with earlier computer configuration: amd 3200, mushkin 1Gb with FC4 x86_64

It also happened with every driver release from nvidia.

I used all NvAgp options. 0, 1, 2 and 3, the default.

* dmesg xid right after I exited the application:
$ dmesg | grep -i xid
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 6, PE0000 1f34 00000000 0002224c 00000000 ffd1ff4d
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 28, L1 -> L0
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 6, PE0000 0380 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 28, L0 -> L0
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 6, PE0002 0300 00030071 000fff18 ffffffff ffffffff
NVRM: Xid (0001:00): 28, L1 -> L0
$
Attached also the nvidia-bug-report and a scale down of the screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6600GT-problem-s.png
Views:	323
Size:	72.9 KB
ID:	17796  
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (23.2 KB, 138 views)
__________________
DeskTop 1:
CPU: dual core AMD64 x2 4800+
motherboard: tyan k8e s2865
RAM: Corsair xms 4GB 3200C2 (400)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
Monitor: 20 inch wide screen dell 2005FPW

DeskTop 2:
CPU: dual xeon 2.8GH 533 FSB
motherboard: SuperMicro X5DAL
RAM: 2 GB
Video Card: ASUS GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x (rev a2)
Monitor: Dual Display ViewSonic VA912b

Last edited by saqer; 04-30-06 at 11:25 PM.
saqer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-06, 11:27 PM   #2
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

Monitor your gpu, cpu temperatures. Also check your ram with memtest86 to see if it has gone bad.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-06, 11:29 PM   #3
saqer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whig
Monitor your gpu, cpu temperatures. Also check your ram with memtest86 to see if it has gone bad.
cpu and motherboard temperatures are fine. In the other hand, I do not know how to monitor gpu temperature. I appreciate if you would share the howto here!

Also, I ran memtest86 for a whole night and no errors.
__________________
DeskTop 1:
CPU: dual core AMD64 x2 4800+
motherboard: tyan k8e s2865
RAM: Corsair xms 4GB 3200C2 (400)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
Monitor: 20 inch wide screen dell 2005FPW

DeskTop 2:
CPU: dual xeon 2.8GH 533 FSB
motherboard: SuperMicro X5DAL
RAM: 2 GB
Video Card: ASUS GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x (rev a2)
Monitor: Dual Display ViewSonic VA912b
saqer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-06, 12:19 AM   #4
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

The nvidia-settings program will let you look at available temps. Does the problem happen when using the nv or vesa drivers?
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-06, 12:40 AM   #5
saqer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whig
The nvidia-settings program will let you look at available temps. Does the problem happen when using the nv or vesa drivers?
This happens when I use the nvidia drivers.
__________________
DeskTop 1:
CPU: dual core AMD64 x2 4800+
motherboard: tyan k8e s2865
RAM: Corsair xms 4GB 3200C2 (400)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
Monitor: 20 inch wide screen dell 2005FPW

DeskTop 2:
CPU: dual xeon 2.8GH 533 FSB
motherboard: SuperMicro X5DAL
RAM: 2 GB
Video Card: ASUS GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x (rev a2)
Monitor: Dual Display ViewSonic VA912b
saqer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-06, 04:35 PM   #6
saqer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whig
The nvidia-settings program will let you look at available temps. Does the problem happen when using the nv or vesa drivers?
I do not see where in the nvidia-setting program shows the GPU temperature. Is there a special tweak that I need to enable it?
__________________
DeskTop 1:
CPU: dual core AMD64 x2 4800+
motherboard: tyan k8e s2865
RAM: Corsair xms 4GB 3200C2 (400)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
Monitor: 20 inch wide screen dell 2005FPW

DeskTop 2:
CPU: dual xeon 2.8GH 533 FSB
motherboard: SuperMicro X5DAL
RAM: 2 GB
Video Card: ASUS GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x (rev a2)
Monitor: Dual Display ViewSonic VA912b
saqer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-06, 12:20 AM   #7
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

The 6600 ought to have sensor(s), my old 5900 had it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nvset.png
Views:	262
Size:	47.5 KB
ID:	17851  
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-06, 12:46 PM   #8
saqer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whig
The 6600 ought to have sensor(s), my old 5900 had it.
I do not have it. niether do I have frequency setting like you have in yours. strange! I bet there must be some dependency unsatisfied in my system. Does any one know what I must have for the temperature/frequency options to appear in my nvidia-setting?
__________________
DeskTop 1:
CPU: dual core AMD64 x2 4800+
motherboard: tyan k8e s2865
RAM: Corsair xms 4GB 3200C2 (400)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
Monitor: 20 inch wide screen dell 2005FPW

DeskTop 2:
CPU: dual xeon 2.8GH 533 FSB
motherboard: SuperMicro X5DAL
RAM: 2 GB
Video Card: ASUS GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x (rev a2)
Monitor: Dual Display ViewSonic VA912b
saqer is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-02-06, 04:21 PM   #9
deBeuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 21
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saqer
I do not have it. niether do I have frequency setting like you have in yours. strange! I bet there must be some dependency unsatisfied in my system. Does any one know what I must have for the temperature/frequency options to appear in my nvidia-setting?
Not all manufacturers unlock the temperature sensor on the 6600. There are tools available to unlock the sensor (requires editing and flashing your videocard BIOS) but doing so will probabaly void the warranty. I do not, repeat, DO NOT suggest in ANY way you should do this and am not responsible if your house burns down or your dog explodes
__________________
Words! Nothing but sweet, sweet words that turn into bitter orange wax in my ears.

Last edited by deBeuk; 05-02-06 at 04:31 PM.
deBeuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-06, 08:40 PM   #10
saqer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deBeuk
Not all manufacturers unlock the temperature sensor on the 6600. There are tools available to unlock the sensor (requires editing and flashing your videocard BIOS) but doing so will probabaly void the warranty. I do not, repeat, DO NOT suggest in ANY way you should do this and am not responsible if your house burns down or your dog explodes
I am not interested in monitoring the Temperature anyway is it does not look like a temperature issue. The lock up issue happens even by running 2D programs using opengl, like flash animations using gnash player.

I have spent a good $200 for this card. It is really upsetting that it is not functioning that way I was unticipating. I like nvidia and always choose it over any other brand, but they must compensate us for this card or fix it.
__________________
DeskTop 1:
CPU: dual core AMD64 x2 4800+
motherboard: tyan k8e s2865
RAM: Corsair xms 4GB 3200C2 (400)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
Monitor: 20 inch wide screen dell 2005FPW

DeskTop 2:
CPU: dual xeon 2.8GH 533 FSB
motherboard: SuperMicro X5DAL
RAM: 2 GB
Video Card: ASUS GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x (rev a2)
Monitor: Dual Display ViewSonic VA912b
saqer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-06, 11:35 AM   #11
deBeuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 21
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

I just checked your nvidia-bug-report and I agree, it doesn't look like a temperature issue (no temperature warnings).
I noticed your card shares an irq with your wireless nic, does the problem subsist when you disable it (the nic)?

It might be nothing but I did notice something else.
I use fc5 myself on a very similar setup (a8v deluxe with a 3200+ amd64, asus 6600GT top videocard) and I have to use the amd64-agp driver (done automatically by the kernel) and set NvAGP to 3 in xorg.conf as the nvidia driver doesn't support the k8t800pro nor the amd64-agp and agpgart is compiled in the kernel anyway. I see in your bugreport you set NvAgp to 1 and /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status states agp is disabled. What happens if you set NvAgp to 2 or 3 in your xorg.conf?
__________________
Words! Nothing but sweet, sweet words that turn into bitter orange wax in my ears.

Last edited by deBeuk; 05-03-06 at 12:31 PM.
deBeuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-06, 05:55 PM   #12
saqer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 81
Default Re: 6600GT desktop screenshot for after openGl run.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deBeuk
I just checked your nvidia-bug-report and I agree, it doesn't look like a temperature issue (no temperature warnings).
I noticed your card shares an irq with your wireless nic, does the problem subsist when you disable it (the nic)?

It might be nothing but I did notice something else.
I use fc5 myself on a very similar setup (a8v deluxe with a 3200+ amd64, asus 6600GT top videocard) and I have to use the amd64-agp driver (done automatically by the kernel) and set NvAGP to 3 in xorg.conf as the nvidia driver doesn't support the k8t800pro nor the amd64-agp and agpgart is compiled in the kernel anyway. I see in your bugreport you set NvAgp to 1 and /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status states agp is disabled. What happens if you set NvAgp to 2 or 3 in your xorg.conf?
thank you for the reply.
The problem existed before I had the nic card. But I will double check to make sure it is not causing the trouble.

As for the nvagp options. I reproduced the problem with all the of them, 0 to 3. I only had attached the bug report for one of the cases.

I even went to pny website. I found that their recommendations are a bit different from my defualt bios settings. I followed their recommendations of BIOS settings but problem did not go away.
__________________
DeskTop 1:
CPU: dual core AMD64 x2 4800+
motherboard: tyan k8e s2865
RAM: Corsair xms 4GB 3200C2 (400)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 6600GT 128MB
Monitor: 20 inch wide screen dell 2005FPW

DeskTop 2:
CPU: dual xeon 2.8GH 533 FSB
motherboard: SuperMicro X5DAL
RAM: 2 GB
Video Card: ASUS GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x (rev a2)
Monitor: Dual Display ViewSonic VA912b
saqer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 - openGL games can't run in resolution different than desktop's one MajkiFajki NVIDIA Linux 6 06-25-12 04:23 AM
OpenGL apps crashing in NVIDIA driver when switching desktop dinosaur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-01-12 07:09 PM
3DNA 3d desktop prydah General Software 2 08-01-02 10:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.