Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-06, 02:58 PM   #1
RanCorX2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 532
Post recently had to replace my 6600

I replaced my msi 6600 with a Leadtek A6600 TD 256MB card, anyway getting to my point, I was reading the article here > http://www.digital-daily.com/video/peredelki/
It explains that flashing the bios to sparkle 6600 or a asus 6600 improves the overclocking of the card. Anyway I tried flashing my card with a sparkle bios from that site mentioned in the article, upon a reboot i got a garbled screen, so i reboot and hit f8 and blindly using a boot cd i used ntfs 4 dos to flash my original bios back onto the card. (i wrote down all the keys i had to press to get to the dos prompt) seeing as i could'nt see what i was doing

Did i do something wrong? is some special sparkle 6600 bios i need for this flash? i only used the one that matched my clock speeds , the other was 75hz difference i think. from here > http://www.mvktech.net/
my ard the A6600 is the one discribed in the article, well so it seems, i'm wondering why the flash failed? i was interested to see if the overclocking would be improved but since the flash failed im back to sqaure one....anyone with a A6600 done this?

never mind, decided to post on the forum at http://www.mvktech.net/ seems to be my best bet for help on this.
__________________
Windows Vista *Ultimate* 32BiT
AMD A64 X2 3800+ @ 2.00GHz
2GiG DDRII 4200 533MHz
160GiG SATA / 2x200GiG IDE / 200GiG USB2
Leadtek 7900GS 256mb 256bit Overclocked c450/m650 > c600/m760
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Logitech 2.1 Silver / Logitech 2.0 Black (4.1)

Last edited by RanCorX2; 05-10-06 at 04:20 PM.
RanCorX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-06, 06:30 PM   #2
LBJM
Registered User
 
LBJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 627
Default Re: recently had to replace my 6600

overclocking a 6600 is just not worth it. I'd suggest getting a better video card. a 7900GT overclocks well.
__________________
Gigabyte ud7 rev 2.0
12GB of G.skill

wishing for an ARM based desktop.
LBJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-06, 10:46 PM   #3
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: recently had to replace my 6600

well, basically the whole point of flashing to get "better overclocking" is that you're upping the core voltage of your card, which is a good way to fry a card very quick, voltage mods, whether it's a hardware or software mod, will kill your card much more quickly than just overclocking, if i were you, i'd settle for what you have, because overclocking will bring you a framerate delta of only about 5-7 fps at the most when your card is pushed to the bleeding edge, it's not worth it to kill something that fast for that kind of performance.... however if you overclock in moderation, without flashing it'll still help a little, but once again, hardly a difference
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-06, 11:32 PM   #4
LBJM
Registered User
 
LBJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 627
Default Re: recently had to replace my 6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowmanwithahat
king, if i were you, i'd settle for what you have, because overclocking will bring you a framerate delta of only about 5-7 fps at the most when your card is pushed to the bleeding edge, it's not worth it to kill something that fast for that kind of performance.... however if you overclock in moderation, without flashing it'll still help a little, but once again, hardly a difference
a very nice
__________________
Gigabyte ud7 rev 2.0
12GB of G.skill

wishing for an ARM based desktop.
LBJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.