Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-06, 04:27 PM   #1
NotNvidious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Default GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

I have just installed a 256 MB GeForce FX 5200 board on my Linux box, which is running Slackware 10.2 with a 2.6.13 kernel and X.Org 6.8.2.

When I launch X windows using the nv driver (shipped with X.Org software) the resolution of my X display is 1920x1440, at 24 bpp.

However, when I use the Nvidia driver nvidia (in its latest incarnation, 1.0-8756 for x86 Linux) this driver refuses to go beyond 1280x1024 at such depth.

My attempts to coax it into using this resolution/depth, by inserting the appropriate Modes line in my xorg.conf file, are just rejected as invalid modes by the nvidia driver when launching X windows.

The monitor that I am using is an HP p920 which, like I said, supports a 1920x1440 resolution at 24 bpp. Why is it the case that the X.Org driver nv supports this resolution/depth combination, whereas Nvidia's so far does not? Is there a way around this?
NotNvidious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-06, 02:51 AM   #2
sirclaudio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

I have that problem too, with slack, X.org 6.9.0 and NV8756. The only way i found to pass this is to add the line Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes" in the device section
sirclaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-06, 07:35 PM   #3
marcdw
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Baldwin Park, CA
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to marcdw Send a message via Yahoo to marcdw
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

Though I'm not using Xorg I had similar problems with
Slackware 9.1/XFree86. The nvidia driver just didn't seem
to care about my modelines or any resolution not standard
with the monitor.

Though I wasn't trying to get a larger resolution like you
I found I had to create a uniquely(sp?) named mode
just to get my old modeline to work.

See this thread here.
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=69539

I remember trying what the other post said about
"ModeValidation" and "NoEdidModes" options but they didn't
seem to work for me.

Marc
marcdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-10, 07:46 PM   #4
Clothing Wholes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

To Sirclaudio: Thank you for the shared information that you have given to us..I don't have anything to do with the primary poster but I have also experienced the same problem and I don't even know how to solve it so I just changed the browser that I am using. But nnow I know what to do. I can go back to Linux.
Clothing Wholes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-10, 08:15 PM   #5
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clothing Wholes View Post
To Sirclaudio: Thank you for the shared information that you have given to us..I don't have anything to do with the primary poster but I have also experienced the same problem and I don't even know how to solve it so I just changed the browser that I am using. But nnow I know what to do. I can go back to Linux.
Your language suggests that you are a spam bot. Why are you answering dead threads with SUPER general and vague posts?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 03:16 AM   #6
Darren_Tinsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
Your language suggests that you are a spam bot. Why are you answering dead threads with SUPER general and vague posts?
Perhaps for the sake of promoting something, or another part of an SEO spammer.. I guess..
Darren_Tinsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 08:27 PM   #7
Aigars
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren_Tinsley View Post
Perhaps for the sake of promoting something, or another part of an SEO spammer.. I guess..
You got it right.. There has been an issue about this, and there are some web masters who have already implemented a spam application or something.. Not sure what it is, but it automatically detects IP address, and bans that IP from posting again..
Aigars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 11:41 PM   #8
M2 Bodrum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

Did I get it right there i s a bot who can instantly delete spammers' Ip address? What if they use a proxy will the banned IP still be able to post comments on certain sites? I have a site and I keep on receiving spam messages.. at first I thought that it was a great review of my work but i keep on receiving that same message over and over again. this is not good for my site right?
M2 Bodrum is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-12-10, 06:33 AM   #9
Roman_Gertz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by M2 Bodrum View Post
Did I get it right there i s a bot who can instantly delete spammers' Ip address? What if they use a proxy will the banned IP still be able to post comments on certain sites? I have a site and I keep on receiving spam messages.. at first I thought that it was a great review of my work but i keep on receiving that same message over and over again. this is not good for my site right?
Well, at one point, it is a nice thing for your website, because your site may have a high PR.. On the other hand, it is not a good indication, because the quality of your website may be jeoparidized..
Roman_Gertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-10, 07:03 AM   #10
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

I PMed this Clothing Wholes individual and got a vague, but human response back. I'm puzzled.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-10, 09:21 AM   #11
Dreamscape Imag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
I PMed this Clothing Wholes individual and got a vague, but human response back. I'm puzzled.
Huh? i did not quite get what you said? You PMed him or her but did not get any replies or some one replied to you? I wasn't quite sure that i understood you.. I'm sorry.. I was just curious.
Dreamscape Imag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-10, 01:13 AM   #12
bin li
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: GeForce FX 5200 maximum resolution

I too have that problem.. have anyone solved the problem? I really need some help here... please post some comments in this forum and I will be back for some information.
bin li is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
Gnome3 with composite is very slow on Geforce FX 5200 with 173.14.31 driver Artox NVIDIA Linux 0 05-26-12 10:33 AM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.