Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-03, 10:53 AM   #1
ranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8
Default TV-out problem

Hey all,

I have a Creative GF4TI4600 card and I'm running debian linux.

I got the tv-out to work by setting the TV as the primary display. I have some problems with the twinview. I want to close the CRT on the TV at lower resolutions.

Using twinview I can get something on the TV but nothing on the CRT, and I really cant see why.

Hope someone will take 2 seks to look at my config and tell what might be wrong.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.twin.txt (3.8 KB, 185 views)
ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-03, 11:01 AM   #2
ranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8
Default

I meant I wanted to CLONE the CRT on the TV at lower resolutions. hehe.
ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-03, 11:07 AM   #3
ranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8
Default

I thought I might post the X log also if it can help.
Plz. help me. I've spent hours on this.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.log.txt (26.0 KB, 152 views)
ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-03, 12:10 PM   #4
Ygriega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Try to delete or uncomment the line "ConnectedMonitor".

I had a similar problem long before and that was the solution.
__________________
In every stone sleeps a crystal.

nVidia configuration with Linux: http://yanc.ygriega.de
Ygriega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-03, 05:07 PM   #5
ranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8
Unhappy

When I comment the ConnectedMonitor line my CRT works fine and there is nothing on the TV. In the log file I then see XFree only detects my CRT and therefore disables TwinView. I need that line. When I use only the TV alone it works. It MUST be possible to enable both TV and CRT at the same time.

All GF4 have TV-out. Someboby must know what might help. I'm sure its just a detail of a problem by I can't solve it. That's why I posted here. I keep my fingers crossed and hope help will turn up.
ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-03, 05:22 PM   #6
Ygriega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Keep the ConnectedMonitor line commented out and change the MetaModes line to the following:

Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,800x600@1280x1024; 1024x768,800x600@1024x768; 800x600,800x600; 640x480,640x480"

P.S: You can edit these options with a little GUI -> see my signature
__________________
In every stone sleeps a crystal.

nVidia configuration with Linux: http://yanc.ygriega.de
Ygriega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-03, 06:15 PM   #7
ranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8
Talking

Thanks for your help. I saddly must say my problem remains unsolved.

I also tried your little GUI. Nice work!! But didn't solve the problem.

Without the Connected Monitors XFree simply doesn't find the TV and cancels TwinView. Maybe it's because the TV is old? But I CAN get it to work if I set it as the only monitor.

Is there a reason why the CRT goes out when the TV goes on? There must be a way to keep the CRT on. Is it because it gets too low refreshrates? It shouldn't be, as the XF86config gives it the right ones.

It's weird. The CRT and TV works perfectly when they are primary, just not together.
I suspect the ConnectedMonitor line to contain a syntax error.

Any other suggestions? plz.
ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-03, 05:51 AM   #8
TozZMania
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Default

hey all

i have the same prob with my gf4ti4200 (
one time i have only my tv screen and my tft = notthing
i use olso yanc but it doesn't help me out
i have a 15" tft and a tv what r the best MetaModes for that

thx for the help

ps : the best thing to do is to ask someone that has a good twinview config to post his XF86config-4 file for us )

bye bye
TozZMania is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-01-03, 05:57 AM   #9
Ygriega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Sorry but I didn't find a way out.

I post my XF86Config, perhaps you'll find a solution.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (7.1 KB, 244 views)
__________________
In every stone sleeps a crystal.

nVidia configuration with Linux: http://yanc.ygriega.de
Ygriega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-03, 06:13 AM   #10
ranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for your help.

Your config file doesn't contain the ConnectedMonitor line. It's probably because your TV gets autodetected so you don't need it. But my it's so if I skip the line, the TV doesn't exist.

Anyway, thanks for trying to help.

If someone has genious idea, please post.
ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-03, 06:22 AM   #11
Ygriega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 13
Default

It's even stranger.

If I add the ConnectedMonitor line, only the TV will recieve a signal from the graphics card, so I have to delete this line for a correct functionality.
__________________
In every stone sleeps a crystal.

nVidia configuration with Linux: http://yanc.ygriega.de
Ygriega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-03, 08:04 AM   #12
ranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8
Default

That's exactly the problem I have.

You can delete the line because your TV get autodetected, but I need it to force a signal on the TV-out.
Do you have any idea why the CRT turns off? Is it a bug in the nvidia drivers?
ConnectedMonitor should work. Maybe we syntax it wrongly.
ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem connecting Pioneer VSX-S300 to Nvidia Ion - flat panel scaling solves it? wild_oscar NVIDIA Linux 3 06-17-12 07:18 AM
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 03:14 PM
kswapd kernel problem and the NVdriver kwaz NVIDIA Linux 2 09-25-02 08:33 PM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.