Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-06, 08:55 PM   #1
seandarcy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default nforce3-250: no apg or iommu

I have a gigabyte K8NSC-939 - nforce3-250, with amd64-3000, 1 gig of ram and a radeon 8500 agp card. Runing fedora core 5.

dmesg:
.........
Linux version 2.6.16-1.2196_FC6
.................
Allocating PCI resources starting at 50000000 (gap: 40000000:bec00000)
Checking aperture...
CPU 0: aperture @ f0000000 size 32 MB
Aperture from northbridge cpu 0 too small (32 MB)
AGP bridge at 00:00:00
Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB (APSIZE 0)
Aperture from AGP bridge too small (0 MB)
Your BIOS doesn't leave a aperture memory hole
Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
This costs you 64 MB of RAM
Mapping aperture over 65536 KB of RAM @ 4000000
.............
agpgart: Detected AGP bridge 0
agpgart: Aperture conflicts with PCI mapping.
agpgart: Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB
agpgart: Aperture too small (0 MB)
agpgart: No usable aperture found.
agpgart: Consider rebooting with iommu=memaper=2 to get a good aperture.
PCI-DMA: Disabling IOMMU.
............
[drm] Initialized drm 1.0.1 20051102
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> Link [APC5] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 209
[drm] Initialized radeon 1.24.0 20060225 on minor 0
[drm] Initialized radeon 1.24.0 20060225 on minor 1
mtrr: 0xe8000000,0x8000000 overlaps existing 0xe8000000,0x4000000
[drm:radeon_cp_init] *ERROR* radeon_cp_init called without lock held
[drm:drm_unlock] *ERROR* Process 2309 using kernel context 0
................
So agp doesn't start. X starts but no openGL.

Bios, F8 december 2005, doesn't seem to have anything about agp aperture.

I've tried the iommu setting ( which I thought was only for > 4 gigs ), but that also failed.

Any help really appreciated.

sean
seandarcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-06, 03:16 PM   #2
fahlen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: nforce3-250: no apg or iommu

Did you figure out how to solve your problem? I have the same problem and the same motherboard...
fahlen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.