Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-06, 02:21 PM   #1
gelbasack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17
Default 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

Is that possible? Doesn't work for me
Got an Asus V9400-X with Geforce 4000MX, Twinview with 1280x1024, 1152x864 works fine but 2x1280x1024 doesn't. So I think the second head with 135MHz pixel clock is too slow. I tried to slow down the refresh rate to 60MHz, pixel clock should be around 109MHz then but this doesn't work either. Is there a way to get this working?
gelbasack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-06, 02:49 PM   #2
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

Lower the vertical refresh rate.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-06, 03:04 PM   #3
gelbasack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

That's what I did. 60Hz should be low enough, no? Well, if I use something below 60Hz the resolution is about 400x300 on each screen because Xorg can't validate any modes. (I tried adding modelines for 55Hz - doesn't work). Adding
Code:
"VertRefresh" "DFP-0: 60; CRT-0: 60"
should be enough, no? Or is there a way in using less than 60Hz with 1280x1024?


Don't really think it was a bug but added bug report log if needed.......
Attached Files
File Type: log bug0.log (82.1 KB, 154 views)
File Type: log bug1.log (73.1 KB, 139 views)

Last edited by gelbasack; 05-14-06 at 03:33 PM. Reason: add bug report log
gelbasack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 03:15 AM   #4
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

I'm not sure it would be enough. In case of doubt I would use modelines.

A 1280x1024 at 60Hz with reduced blank (good for DFP) would need only 91MHz pixelclock:

Modeline "1280x1024_60.00_rb" 91.00 1280 1328 1360 1440 1024 1027 1034 1054 +HSync -Vsync

with normal (CRT compatible) timing that would be 109 MHz:

Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 109.00 1280 1360 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063-HSync +Vsync
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 03:55 AM   #5
gelbasack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

Code:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1280x1024_60.00_rb" is too large for Arnos Instruments
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     L1711MN_ANALG (DFP-0); discarding.
Thanks for your modeline. I tried but it doesn't work. This is the output from Xorg.0.log.
What does that mean - "too large"? Too large for the nvidia card? Too much for the 135MHz-pixel clock? Too large for the monitor (well on the first it works fine...)?
Do I need a faster graphics card or should that work with some configuration?
gelbasack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 11:02 AM   #6
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gelbasack
What does that mean - "too large"?
I don't know, hopefully one of the nvidia people will answer that.
Probably you can get around this by using the "IgnoreEDID" option (see Readme).

Rob
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 01:32 PM   #7
gelbasack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl
I don't know, hopefully one of the nvidia people will answer that.
Probably you can get around this by using the "IgnoreEDID" option (see Readme).

Rob
Hope so too

I thought of an EDID problem yet and therefore tried a few options. IgnoreEDID shouldn't be used anymore I think, there are now a few new options replacing it.UseEdidFreqs, UseEdid, ModeValidation, NoEdidModes,... with some of these the second monitor doesn't work at all, it says the same error message but to all modes.

Maybe the title of this thread is not the best. I found some error messages on Google saying some stuff like exceeding max. DDC or clock rate... well, I don't get such an error, it says "too large...". But I didn't find anything about such an error... well I did but nothing really similar to my problem.
gelbasack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 01:41 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

The "too large" is referring to the dimensions of your display device and what the modeline is requiring.

If you'd like further assistance, please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-06, 01:53 PM   #9
gelbasack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

Hmm... but I really can't understand why I get such an error - two monitors of same type... but with DVI it's too large? I also thought of a DVI to VGA adapter yet... but I never believed before - the DVI connection is really better

Thanks for your reply, the bug report was too large to attach, I put it there: http://stud4.tuwien.ac.at/~e0226237/...bug-report.log
gelbasack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 02:43 PM   #10
gelbasack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

Ok, thanks a lot, you both solved it
I tried again with some EDID-Options and finally I got a new error msg - I really tried all of them before but never got _this_ message.
The solution was - netllama postet on page 26 or sth like that - ExactModeTimingsDVI.
Solved. Finally. Thanks a lot
gelbasack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 02:44 PM   #11
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

Can you clarify why you are using the ConnectedMonitor option? I'd suggest removing it unless you are using it as documented in the NVIDIA driver README.

If you look at the X log in the bug report, you'll see that the EDID for the displays differ depending on whether you are using analog or digital mode. There appears to be an error in the digital version of EDID:
Maximum Image Size : 0mm x 0mm

You can attempt to work around this with the ModeValidation option, with the NoEdidDFPMaxSizeCheck parameter.

If that does resolve the issue, I'd like to determine whether you're hitting a bug in the driver's EDID parsing, or the EDID in your display truly has an error. Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6
and then attach your X log (in /var/log).

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 03:41 PM   #12
gelbasack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: 1280x1024 with 135MHz maximum pixel clock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Can you clarify why you are using the ConnectedMonitor option? I'd suggest removing it unless you are using it as documented in the NVIDIA driver README.
It does not find the DFP monitor without. Would you like to have a seperate log without this option?

Quote:
If you look at the X log in the bug report, you'll see that the EDID for the displays differ depending on whether you are using analog or digital mode. There appears to be an error in the digital version of EDID:
Maximum Image Size : 0mm x 0mm

You can attempt to work around this with the ModeValidation option, with the NoEdidDFPMaxSizeCheck parameter.

If that does resolve the issue, I'd like to determine whether you're hitting a bug in the driver's EDID parsing, or the EDID in your display truly has an error. Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6
and then attach your X log (in /var/log).

Thanks,
Lonni
Ok, I removed everthing concerning EDID and added this option (NoEdidDFPMaxSizeCheck). Only one monitor working, the log file (verbose 6) is at http://stud4.tuwien.ac.at/~e0226237/...g-report.log.1

I'm happy with my settings now... hope this helps you...
gelbasack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allow pixel clock > 400MHz waperboy NVIDIA Linux 16 05-08-13 09:44 PM
320.17 can't detect video modes on Lenovo laptop tadawson NVIDIA Linux 13 07-14-12 01:40 AM
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 12:23 PM
Retina Macbook Pro Xevious NVIDIA Linux 7 06-28-12 04:24 PM
Dell Precision M6500 - Nvidia Quadro FX 2800M - Unusable with Gnome3 geaaru NVIDIA Linux 16 06-25-12 07:07 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.