Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-04, 01:00 AM   #1
shatter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Question kacpid uses 98% of CPU

kacpid uses 98% of CPU. I have a dell 1.3ghz cerleron with 512 ram and the most recent nvidia drivers (1.0-6629). my distro is fedora core 2, kernel version is 2.6.8-1.521. For some reason i keep getting redirected to the NVIDIA binary drivers as the source of the problem. does anyone know of any solution or work around?

Last edited by shatter; 11-08-04 at 01:20 AM.
shatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-04, 05:39 AM   #2
andyrock
Registered User
 
andyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: EU / Portugal
Posts: 110
Default Re: kacpid uses 98% of CPU

Searching for kacpid here didn't give any thread other than this one, so probably you should ask again those people who redirected you here :P
__________________
AndyRock

--
1. Toshiba M30-742 | Centrino/Pentium-M 1700mhz | Geforce FX 5200Go
2. Celeron (Tualatin) 1400mhz | Geforce Ti 4800SE
andyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-04, 03:20 PM   #3
zajelo3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 66
Default Re: kacpid uses 98% of CPU

You can turn acpi off by adding "acpi=off" to the kernel boot argument line in /boot/grub/grub.conf like:

title Fedora Core (2.6.9-ck3)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-ck3 ro root=/dev/hda3 rhgb acpi=off apm=off quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-ck3.img
zajelo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-04, 03:12 AM   #4
shatter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Default Re: kacpid uses 98% of CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyrock
Searching for kacpid here didn't give any thread other than this one...
Thank you for stating the obvious. Hummm, maybe thatís the reason I started this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyrock
...so probably you should ask again those people who redirected you here :P
Why would I do that, so that I can get redirected back here? (Wow, I better be careful being such a "n00b" and all. I could get caught in an infinite loop.) And why would you even reply to a legit question that you know absolutly nothing about? I hope you think this makes you look cool cause I don't. :P

Quote:
Originally Posted by zajelo3
You can turn acpi off by adding "acpi=off" to the kernel boot argument line in /boot/grub/grub.conf like:

title Fedora Core (2.6.9-ck3)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-ck3 ro root=/dev/hda3 rhgb acpi=off apm=off quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-ck3.img
Thank you.
shatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-04, 06:32 PM   #5
nrosier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: kacpid uses 98% of CPU

Don't want to bash Linux or Nvidia but isn't open-source great? Nobody is responsible anymore. I've got the same problem. Redhat says it's Nvidia related, Nvidia seems to deny so people are stuck with a broken system and nobody seems to care. And they're surprised Windows is so popular (at least with Windows somebody sometimes listens to you).
So basicly the answer to this problem is: solve it yourself... you don't like it, don't use it... well guess what? that's what a lot of folks seem to be doing...
boy did that feel great
nrosier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-04, 10:18 PM   #6
shatter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Default Re: kacpid uses 98% of CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrosier
Don't want to bash Linux or Nvidia but isn't open-source great? Nobody is responsible anymore. I've got the same problem. Redhat says it's Nvidia related, Nvidia seems to deny so people are stuck with a broken system and nobody seems to care. And they're surprised Windows is so popular (at least with Windows somebody sometimes listens to you).
So basicly the answer to this problem is: solve it yourself... you don't like it, don't use it... well guess what? that's what a lot of folks seem to be doing...
boy did that feel great
Suicide is the only thing that can cure your ignorance.
shatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-06, 04:16 AM   #7
stkris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: kacpid uses 98% of CPU

I'm posting a reply because I just installed the official NVidia drivers on my PC running Debian Sarge.

And after rebooting kacpid has started harassing me too!

And this solidly 3 years after the last post. Does not NVidia debug their stuff?


If anybody have figured out a fix I'd be very glad to know about it.


Kristine
stkris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-06, 02:39 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: kacpid uses 98% of CPU

stkris, it seems unlikely that a 2 year old thread has any relevance to what you're reporting. However, I'd need to see an nvidia-bug-report.log along with details on how to reproduce the problem you're reporting. I'd be especially interested in why you rebooted the system, and what changed since rebooting.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 08:15 PM
Fedora 16, GTX 550Ti, random X hangs, "Attempted to yield the CPU..." MquwIBUO NVIDIA Linux 7 06-12-12 04:39 PM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 01:38 PM
CPU limitations abound! PCarr78 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 10-03-02 08:49 AM
Fastest CPU for KA266-R? SkaGuy3876 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 8 09-29-02 07:33 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.