Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-04, 10:28 PM   #1
Tyr-Sog
goS-ryT
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 931
Arrow EverQuest 2 performance discussion thread

I figured I'd start a new thread just a performance issues with this game. The other thread is a bit long and all over the place.

My game is running like absolute crap and I'm not sure if it's just buggy or driver related. It gets extremly in spots. I'm also getting graphical spikes every now and then.


66.93 Officals
1280x1064
2xaa-16xaf
High Settings but also tried balance setting. Little difference and both were choppy.

PC setup is in the sig. All drivers are up to date and the only thing overclocked is the 6800gt. Which I downed clocked from running stable at 420/1150 for months now to 400/1100 for this game.

How is this game running for you guys? Post settings, drivers etc. Thanks.
__________________
Asus G74sx-Republic of Gamer Laptop
3dmark06 16,128(stock)
Tyr-Sog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-04, 11:26 PM   #2
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

the game is running crap. i have a 6800ultra everything up date blah blah..

i think theres a problem with the huge amount of overdraw in this game, its trying to draw everything in the distance, there needs to be fog in the distance to stop it trying to draw everything.

i drop to 15 fps in the town no matter what setting im using. Its driving me absolutley NUTS, i cant play the game till i get this sorted.


15 FPS in an alleyway with not much going on is bloody horrible for a 6800u

im so pissed.

WoW was heaps better, maybe not in the amount of effects but nice and smooth and good to look at.


State of the art gfx my ass, more like rushed unoptimized game engine.

could it be the fact that im playing from australia, even though i have broadband ? hmmm not happy
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-04, 11:39 PM   #3
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Lightbulb Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Hmm something bad with you guys *Don't play on extreme quality*, when soloing in not crowded areas you can have High Quality settings and get decent FPS ~40+, in moderate places Balanced works well all arround ~50 , and High Performance gets constant 50~60 FPS in heavy combat places.
FPS does fluctuate from high 80s to low teens depending on settings and how quickly situation changes in zone.
Its not that bad , just designed for future generation of cards if ya want all the bling blings

The Peat Bog i think got some nice dark swamp feel to it , fps goes down in that zone .
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-04, 11:42 PM   #4
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt_Pitt
the game is running crap. i have a 6800ultra everything up date blah blah..

i think theres a problem with the huge amount of overdraw in this game, its trying to draw everything in the distance, there needs to be fog in the distance to stop it trying to draw everything.

i drop to 15 fps in the town no matter what setting im using. Its driving me absolutley NUTS, i cant play the game till i get this sorted.


15 FPS in an alleyway with not much going on is bloody horrible for a 6800u

im so pissed.

WoW was heaps better, maybe not in the amount of effects but nice and smooth and good to look at.


State of the art gfx my ass, more like rushed unoptimized game engine.

could it be the fact that im playing from australia, even though i have broadband ? hmmm not happy

The only way to improve your performance in town is to have more memory. Even EQ 1 drops in low teens in towns on modern cards, I havent played a mmorpg that doesnt lag in crowded areas. Theres lots for your CPU to draw. I dont know what your expecting. But this is typical to every mmorpg I have played. More memory will also help the texture swapping.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-04, 11:45 PM   #5
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Exclamation Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Thing is he already got 1.25 Gigs of ram !! , maybe server he is playing was just extra lagging at that moment or something.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-04, 11:53 PM   #6
nod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Put me in the category of crap performance. I've got a new-ish Alienware 3.0ghz, a gig of RAM and a 6800 Ultra, and the performance was pretty lame. Lotsa chugging, stuttering and dropped frames... even when I turned down the settings lower, the performance issues never went away 100%.

Having said that, I cancelled my account and am returning the game. I felt like I was playing the options menu more than the game itself, and it just became more of a hassle than anything else.

WoW runs excellent at highest quality, 8xAA and 16xAF, and it ends up looking a helluva lot better than EQ2 once you turn all the options off just so you can run it ok...

Something is wrong with the EQ2 engine... they'll fix it eventually, I'm sure, and when they do, I'll take another look, but I'm not going to waste my time endlessly messing around in the options menu. YMMV of course, especially if you are into settings and options tweaking.
nod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-04, 01:19 AM   #7
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by nod
Put me in the category of crap performance. I've got a new-ish Alienware 3.0ghz, a gig of RAM and a 6800 Ultra, and the performance was pretty lame. Lotsa chugging, stuttering and dropped frames... even when I turned down the settings lower, the performance issues never went away 100%.

Having said that, I cancelled my account and am returning the game. I felt like I was playing the options menu more than the game itself, and it just became more of a hassle than anything else.

WoW runs excellent at highest quality, 8xAA and 16xAF, and it ends up looking a helluva lot better than EQ2 once you turn all the options off just so you can run it ok...

Something is wrong with the EQ2 engine... they'll fix it eventually, I'm sure, and when they do, I'll take another look, but I'm not going to waste my time endlessly messing around in the options menu. YMMV of course, especially if you are into settings and options tweaking.


HAHA exactly how i feel. ive been playing the GFX menu for the last 2 days since ive had it.
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-04, 02:42 AM   #8
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

UMMM...It's running increadibly well for me at medium settings (p4 3.0, 1gb ddr400, 5900Ultra) AND it looks beautiful...Not sure what the deal is, but I'll let you guys know when I get a 6800GT to throw in my system (hopefully only a few weeks from now). But if you are returning the game because of "bad performance" on graphics, then your not a gamer anyway....It's about gameplay, and EQII so far has been stunning to me...
Nrdstrm
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-12-04, 05:13 AM   #9
Graphicmaniac
GraphicLover
 
Graphicmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 533
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

does a 56k modem affect the graphic performance?
__________________
Support GeForce FX owners againts the unfair business of ATI & Valve vote for this petition!!!
http://www.petitiononline.com/nvidiafx/petition.html
Graphicmaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-04, 05:20 AM   #10
Graphicmaniac
GraphicLover
 
Graphicmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 533
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

anyway i have heard 2 gb of ram really helps a looot
__________________
Support GeForce FX owners againts the unfair business of ATI & Valve vote for this petition!!!
http://www.petitiononline.com/nvidiafx/petition.html
Graphicmaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-04, 06:52 AM   #11
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Check out this guide here:

http://eqiiforums.station.sony.com/e...essage.id=3265

Very good detailed on how to customize display settings to get great performance without sacrificing quality

For the most part after a full defrag and on 66.93 my system runs very well except in towns I have to turn everything off..but that is to be expected.

Keep in mind this game was designed for systems that are not even out yet to make it more future proof
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-04, 07:22 AM   #12
Graphicmaniac
GraphicLover
 
Graphicmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 533
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

does the game supports double processor sistems? (2,4,8 ways opteron or multi Xeon)
__________________
Support GeForce FX owners againts the unfair business of ATI & Valve vote for this petition!!!
http://www.petitiononline.com/nvidiafx/petition.html
Graphicmaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official GeForce GTX 670 Review and Discussion Thread MikeC NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 23 10-28-12 10:19 AM
Boost Your Performance Goals 10x ' This Week on inside* Publications News Archived News Items 0 05-13-12 05:20 PM
How to make the GPU stay in Performance Level 2 on battery? pjman NVIDIA Linux 0 05-12-12 12:33 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.