Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-06, 12:20 PM   #1
andefeldt
Linuxoholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 74
Default Different resolution on VGA and DVI

Hi,

Is there a way to get my GeForce 6600 PCI-e to send out different resolutions to the VGA and DVI ports?

I want to have 1280x1024 on the DVI and 1360x768 on the VGA. The VGA is for my LCD and the DVI is for my normal monitor. How can I do this?

I'm told it has something to do with twinview, but I can't really see how to implement this in xorg.conf. I have an example from someone, but which is for the VGA and which is for the DVI? This example is from another guy with another computer, so it's not my setup, which is confusing me

Code:
Section "Device"

        VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
        BoardName   "GeForce 6600"
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "nvidia"
        #Driver      "nv"
        BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen      0
        Option      "NoLogo" "true"
        Option      "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, CRT"
        Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
        Option      "NvAGP" "1"
        Option      "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"

        # Options that enable twinview

        Option      "TwinView"
        Option      "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
#       Option      "TwinViewOrientation" "Rightof"
        Option      "MetaModes" "1024x768, 1024x768; 800x600, 800x600;
640x480,
640x480"
        Option      "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30 - 60"
        Option      "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50 - 120"

        # End added by Kallenberg
EndSection


Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     16
                #Modes  "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
                Modes   "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                #Modes  "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
                Modes   "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection
I want the same things to be displayed on both the monitor and the LCD-tv.

Who can help me out here?

Anders
andefeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 12:35 PM   #2
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Different resolution on VGA and DVI

How do you want the same thing displayed on two displays, but on different resolution?
Do you want to see only part of the picture on the smallest screen, or do you want it to be scaled down?
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-06, 01:00 PM   #3
andefeldt
Linuxoholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Different resolution on VGA and DVI

I have no idea if it's possible. I was just told that it was.

I want to have my desktop on my monitor and also on my 16:9 LCD tv (with the 1360x768 resolution).

I don't know if I have to have the monitor resolution (1280x1024) scaled down or something.
andefeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-06, 02:55 PM   #4
andefeldt
Linuxoholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Different resolution on VGA and DVI

No one?
Can't this be done? No way to have 1360x768 on the VGA and 1280x1024 on the DVI at the same time? Both showing the entire screen (desktop)?

Anders
andefeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-06, 10:39 AM   #5
andefeldt
Linuxoholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Different resolution on VGA and DVI

Hm, I just looked at the code from xorg.conf and I just wondered if I couldn't do this. Could someone please tell me what this would do

Code:
Section "Device"
       VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
        BoardName   "GeForce 6600"
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "nvidia"
        Screen      0
        Option      "NoLogo" "true"
        Option      "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, CRT"
        Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
        Option      "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
        Option      "TwinView"
        Option      "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
        Option      "MetaModes" "1280x1024, 1366x768; 1280x1024, NULL"
        Option      "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30 - 60"
        Option      "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50 - 120"
        #Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes  "1280x1024"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier "TwinView Configuration"
        Screen 0 "Default Screen" 0 0
        InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
        InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
        Option "Xinerama" "Off"
EndSection
Wouldn't this show my desktop on both screens, one of them with 1280x1024 (DVI-I) and the other with 1366x768 (VGA)? Or have I misinterpreted the "clone" option?

Also, I figure that I have to tell the driver that both screens are CRT, since VGA is analog and my monitor (connected to the DVI-I) is analog (connected by a DVI-I to VGA cable). Isn't that correct?

How do I figure out which display is the first by the way? I need to have the driver understand that my monitor (1280x1024) is the primary monitor alway turned on.

Anders
andefeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-06, 03:12 PM   #6
rcarver
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Different resolution on VGA and DVI

Its possible.

I run a three monitor setup with two 6800gt's
On the first I run the left and the center
On the second I run the right

The left and right monitors are 17" LCD's and the center is a Sun 21" monitor (sony trinitron)

For a bit I was running the middle monitory at higher res, but I didn't like the effect all that much so I'm running them all at 1280x1024

I'm NOT using twinview, but I am using xinerama.

I'm also running xorg 7 (modular X), xgl and compiz which is slower with xinerama, but its the only way that I like to work with all that real estate (it works as one large desktop with windows draggable between monitors)

Basically you need to setup the two outputs as separate Devices. Here are the relevant sections of my xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    Screen         "Screen2" RightOf "Screen1"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "on"
EndSection

<snip>

Section "Device"
#left monitor
    Identifier  "Card0a"
    Driver      "nvidia"

    Option "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option "UseEdidFreqs" "true"
    Option "IgnoreEDID" "false"
    Option "AllowGLXWithComposite"  "true"

    BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
#center monitor
    Identifier  "Card0b"
    Driver      "nvidia"

    Option "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option "UseEdidFreqs" "true"
    Option "IgnoreEDID" "false"
    Option "AllowGLXWithComposite"  "true"

    BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Device"
# right monitor
    Identifier  "Card1"
    Driver      "nvidia"

    Option "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option "UseEdidFreqs" "true"
    Option "IgnoreEDID" "false"
    Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"

    BusID       "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0a"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth    8
        Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     16
        Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth    24
        Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen1"
    Device     "Card0b"
    Monitor    "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth    8
        Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     16
        Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth    24
        Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen2"
    Device     "Card1"
    Monitor    "Monitor2"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth    8
        Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     16
        Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth    24
        Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

<snip>
rcarver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-06, 04:24 PM   #7
andefeldt
Linuxoholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Different resolution on VGA and DVI

Yeah, but this shows different things on each screen, right? I'm looking for a possibility to see the exact same on both my screens. I think that's what the clone option is for, right? And if I want two different resolutions on the two screens I would suspect that I could use the xorg.conf I just wrote. I just wandered if this it's correct?

Anyone who can tell me if my code could do the trick or if I'm mistaken?

Anders
andefeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-06, 08:12 AM   #8
andefeldt
Linuxoholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Different resolution on VGA and DVI

Well, I finally got my DVI-I --> VGA cable and tested my setup. I got an image on both screens The same desktop! Xorg.0.log tells me, that 1280x1024 AND 1360x768 are being used and which one is being assigned to which display. SWEET!

Only problem is that the image on my TV (the DVI-I --> VGA connection) isn't 1360x768. It's 1360xSomerthing-smaller-than-768. So I'm missing quiet a bit of my screen vertically. Horizontally I get everything.

What's wrong? Am I missing an option or something?

I've attached my Xorg.0.log file.

Anders
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (26.8 KB, 290 views)
andefeldt is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVI to VGA converter anyone? Necrosis NVIDIA Linux 4 08-18-02 04:54 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.