Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 06-02-06, 09:32 AM   #1
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord

Default Anyone here good at troubleshooting hardware?

I NORMALLY am good at troubleshooting hardware. I am a network admin over close to 1000 PC's and I have NEVER ran into a problem like this. This problem has to do with my home PC.

The PC will loop in reboots. If I do manage to get into windows, within 30 seconds to a minute, my PC freezes for about 3 seconds(even the mouse) and then reboots. Like I said, I"m really lucky if I even make it to Windows.

Here is where it gets weird. While I was testing individual hardware peices, I eventually took out my "extra" harddrive. In my PC I have two harddrives. A SATA harddrive that holds my windows installation and an IDE harddrive that holds my "extra" stuff(music, movies, stuff I don't want on my windows harddrive). Anyway, when I remove my extra harddrive, the PC works PERFECT! I tried different IDE cables and different power cables. It doesn't work, if that harddrive is connected in any way shape or form, it causes the PC to reboot.

First thing that comes to my mind is "maybe bad harddrive". Heres the kicker, I did a complete thorough harddrive test on ANOTHER PC(takes about 2 hours) and the harddrive tested FINE!!!! I can open any file I want. I get 0 errors on this harddrive.

The Good Facts:
Ram is FINE
Video card is FINE
Harddrives are FINE
Sound card is FINE
All cables are FINE. I am a stickler about cables. I went through them again with a fine tooth comb to make sure I'm not hitting a bad ground.

The not so good Facts:
Motherboard is NEW!(however, I have been using for 3 months FINE)
Power Supply is NEW!(Been using for 3 months FINE)
(Yes, these are notsogood facts because that means I don't know 100% that they are not defective in anyway)