Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-06, 07:01 AM   #1
GTVAPSAMTIK
Registered User
 
GTVAPSAMTIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 96
Send a message via MSN to GTVAPSAMTIK
Default GPU is diabled ?

I have ASUS made Geforce 7950 gx2 1gb on GIGABYTE Ga 965P-DS3, which is not an SLI mainboard. I was reading the review for Geforce 7950 GX2 on www.FiringSquad.com
and according to them i need an SLI mainboad for my Geforce 7950 GX2 to work in SLI other wise only one GPU will be use on my GFX card. I am only planning to use 1x GEFORCE 7950 gx2 not QUAD.

So do i need to upgrade to SLI board to use both GPUs on this card ?

This was in review "Keep in mind that you’ll still need an nForce SLI motherboard to support SLI with the GeForce 7950 GX2. If you plug a GeForce 7950 GX2 card into an nForce4 Ultra or nForce 570 Ultra motherboard, the card will work, but only one of the GPUs on the board will function. You’ll need to upgrade to an SLI motherboard if you want both GPUs on your GeForce 7950 GX2 card to operate in SLI mode"

Also on nVIDIA Mainboard Compatability List, Gigabyte 965P-DS3 m/b is no where to be found. So this means One of the GPU is diabled on my Geforce 7950 GX2 ?? or am i missing something
GTVAPSAMTIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-06, 07:14 AM   #2
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: GPU is diabled ?

I believe that is correct, yes. Sorry.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-06, 11:53 AM   #3
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: GPU is diabled ?

You do NOT need an SLI motherboard to make use of a single GX2. However, there are boards that will not work with it, it has nothing to do with SLI. All they probably need is a bios update so call up tech support and complain!
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-06, 01:56 PM   #4
yehuda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 97
Default Re: GPU is diabled ?

Im using a 7950gx2 on a dq6.
Try asking gigabyte support if it works on a ds3.
yehuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-06, 02:31 PM   #5
Blasphemer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 69
Default Re: GPU is diabled ?

No that is wrong, you DO NOT require a SLI motherboard for this to run. Mine runs fine on my single PCI-e board.
Blasphemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-06, 02:31 PM   #6
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: GPU is diabled ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nick
However, there are boards that will not work with it, it has nothing to do with SLI.
So it has nothing to do with nForce SLI chipset? Thats odd. What the hell is an nForce SLI chipset for then?
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-06, 02:45 PM   #7
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: GPU is diabled ?

The nForce uses 2 PCI-Express slots technically any dual PCI-E boards can run SLI it's just the nForce drivers and BIOS provents this from happening including the cards, same goes for crossfire. the GX2 does not need an SLi enabled board as it's built into the video card., you need an SLi board if you are going quad however.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 08:15 PM
Choosing The Right GPU To Take Adobe Workflows To The Max News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 06:40 PM
GTC Poster Session Shows Breadth of GPU Research News Archived News Items 0 05-15-12 02:50 AM
GPU Tech Conference Off to a Fast Start in San Jose News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 06:00 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.