Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-06, 01:58 AM   #85
Mavke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 204
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

As I noticed that we have here some owners already of the GeForce 7950 GX2 cards I would like to see if some of you would like to do me some favor and backup their BIOS of their GeForce 7950 GX2 and supply it to me... You might ask why, well this to have some extra BIOS's on getting some extra tweaks and support added in our NVIDIA BIOS Editor (NiBiTor) tool. So could you take just less then a minute and backup the BIOS and send it to me?
NiBiTor v2.9a - To backup BIOS
mavke@mvktech.net - To supply BIOS
Thanks to all for these efforts but in the end they will certainly help you in return with a better support in NiBiTor. Thanks!
__________________
mvkTech.net
Mavke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-06, 02:21 AM   #86
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

Quote:
Yes, SLI kicks in and sees better performance at higher resolutions, generally you want at least 1600x1200. If you look at the timedemo and benchmarks Quake 4 gets an average of 150 fps at 1280x1024.
Actually, he might get better results by increasing AA/AF. That is a big stress on both video cards. Granted, he really does need atleast 16 x 12 to really see SLi shine. But at 12 x 10 maxed AA/AF levels should also do the trick just fine.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-06, 08:14 AM   #87
toby77jo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 58
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

I don't get coolbits in the new control panel using 9.31 drivers. The coolbits work fine if I switch to the classic control panel. I really prefer the classic control panel but there I can not choose MULTI GPU MODE, and I don't get the Video/Television option - inverse telecine for example. Should I use coolbits = 1a or 1b with a Nvidia 7950 and when I overclock does it automatically overclock both GPU's?

For the moment I am using Ntune5 to overclock the GPU's but I have no idea how to save the settings to apply each time I restart the computer.

As a global setting I am using
* Multi GPU MODE
* Single Display acceleration
* Single Videocard

Will it swith to the corresponding SLI mode automatically each time a game has a profile related to it or should I use AUTO SELECT instead of * Single Videocard?
toby77jo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-06, 03:03 PM   #88
shungokusatsu
Crysis Ready
 
shungokusatsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
Send a message via AIM to shungokusatsu
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by toby77jo
I don't get coolbits in the new control panel using 9.31 drivers. The coolbits work fine if I switch to the classic control panel. I really prefer the classic control panel but there I can not choose MULTI GPU MODE, and I don't get the Video/Television option - inverse telecine for example. Should I use coolbits = 1a or 1b with a Nvidia 7950 and when I overclock does it automatically overclock both GPU's?

For the moment I am using Ntune5 to overclock the GPU's but I have no idea how to save the settings to apply each time I restart the computer.

As a global setting I am using
* Multi GPU MODE
* Single Display acceleration
* Single Videocard

Will it swith to the corresponding SLI mode automatically each time a game has a profile related to it or should I use AUTO SELECT instead of * Single Videocard?
You want Coobits 3D, but it still doesn't add gpu temps to the classic cp. When you o/c it it auto o/c both cards, same with using detect optimal settings.
__________________
C2E QX9650
Zalman CNPS 9700 NT 110mm
EVGA nForce 780i
4 GB CORSAIR Dominator 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1250 (PC2 10000)
3X EVGA 8800 GTX Ultra Superclocked SLI
2X WD Raptor X 150GB SATA 10,000 rpm 16MB Cache Raid 0
Creative Labs Inspire T7900 7.1 surround sound
PC Power and Cooling T12W 1200 watts
Thermaltake Black Kandalf Case
Dell 3007 WFP XHD 30"
shungokusatsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-06, 05:12 PM   #89
pault123
Registered User
 
pault123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 174
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

A lot of people are saying SLI really kicks in at 1600x1200. My monitor is a 17" TFT 1280x1024 native. Does that mean if I got a bigger monitor that went higher than 1280x1024 I would get more FPS? and higher 3dmark score?

I would have thought in any case increasing the resolution would lower 3dmark scores/fps due to increased gfx power being needed?
pault123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-06, 05:24 PM   #90
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by pault123
A lot of people are saying SLI really kicks in at 1600x1200. My monitor is a 17" TFT 1280x1024 native. Does that mean if I got a bigger monitor that went higher than 1280x1024 I would get more FPS? and higher 3dmark score?

I would have thought in any case increasing the resolution would lower 3dmark scores/fps due to increased gfx power being needed?
The increase would lower your fps and scores, youre right.

What they mean is that SLI usually makes MORE of a difference at higher resolutions. Its always working, it just does more at higher resolutions.

For example (just random numbers):
single card at 1024x768: 50fps
sli at 1024x768: 75fps
50% increase

single card at 1600x1200: 30fps
sli at 1600x1200: 50fps
67% increase

Generally, thats the pattern you'll see with SLI.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-06, 06:11 PM   #91
shungokusatsu
Crysis Ready
 
shungokusatsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
Send a message via AIM to shungokusatsu
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by pault123
A lot of people are saying SLI really kicks in at 1600x1200. My monitor is a 17" TFT 1280x1024 native. Does that mean if I got a bigger monitor that went higher than 1280x1024 I would get more FPS? and higher 3dmark score?

I would have thought in any case increasing the resolution would lower 3dmark scores/fps due to increased gfx power being needed?
Get a new monitor with higher resolutions and you'll see better scores and fps all around.
__________________
C2E QX9650
Zalman CNPS 9700 NT 110mm
EVGA nForce 780i
4 GB CORSAIR Dominator 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1250 (PC2 10000)
3X EVGA 8800 GTX Ultra Superclocked SLI
2X WD Raptor X 150GB SATA 10,000 rpm 16MB Cache Raid 0
Creative Labs Inspire T7900 7.1 surround sound
PC Power and Cooling T12W 1200 watts
Thermaltake Black Kandalf Case
Dell 3007 WFP XHD 30"
shungokusatsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-06, 11:31 PM   #92
shungokusatsu
Crysis Ready
 
shungokusatsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
Send a message via AIM to shungokusatsu
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

Ok I got the gpu temps to show up in classic without coolbits, I'm not sure how, it just randomly popped up after going back and forth between classic and new cp. I beleive it pops up when you select advanced view and advanced options.
__________________
C2E QX9650
Zalman CNPS 9700 NT 110mm
EVGA nForce 780i
4 GB CORSAIR Dominator 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1250 (PC2 10000)
3X EVGA 8800 GTX Ultra Superclocked SLI
2X WD Raptor X 150GB SATA 10,000 rpm 16MB Cache Raid 0
Creative Labs Inspire T7900 7.1 surround sound
PC Power and Cooling T12W 1200 watts
Thermaltake Black Kandalf Case
Dell 3007 WFP XHD 30"
shungokusatsu is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-06, 12:34 AM   #93
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shungokusatsu
Get a new monitor with higher resolutions and you'll see better scores and fps all around.


Uhh... is this a joke?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-06, 03:12 PM   #94
pault123
Registered User
 
pault123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 174
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
The increase would lower your fps and scores, youre right.

What they mean is that SLI usually makes MORE of a difference at higher resolutions. Its always working, it just does more at higher resolutions.

For example (just random numbers):
single card at 1024x768: 50fps
sli at 1024x768: 75fps
50% increase

single card at 1600x1200: 30fps
sli at 1600x1200: 50fps
67% increase

Generally, thats the pattern you'll see with SLI.
That makes perfect sense thanks!!

The below confused me again !! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by shungokusatsu
Get a new monitor with higher resolutions and you'll see better scores and fps all around.

arghhhhhhhhhhhhhh
pault123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-06, 03:21 PM   #95
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by pault123
The below confused me again !! lol




arghhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Yeah thats a bunch of crap, that doesnt even make sense. Dont worry about it
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-06, 03:24 PM   #96
heatlesssun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 141
Default Re: Please post your 7950 overclocks here...

Like CaptNKILL said, you tend to get bigger percentage increases in performance at higher resolutions with SLI, not better performance when comparing say 1280x1024 vs 1600x1200.

The performance is going to drop at higher resolutions, just not as much when you go SLI.

That's really what SLI and now QUAD-SLI are about. Maintaining higher frame rates at higher resolutions.

There isn't any game out now that wouldn't perform well at 1280x1024 with all the eye candy on with any high end single card, like an X1900 or 7900GTX.

But go to to 1600x1200, and then you start to see performance drop quite a bit in newer games, and that's when dual SLI comes into play.

Now take it to 1920x1200 and then QUAD-SLI can start to benefit you, and then of course at 2560x1600, you really start to need QUAD-SLI in modern games these days.
__________________

Main Rig - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RTM | Intel i7-980x@ 4.13 GHz (25 x 165 BCLK @ 1.365V) | Corsair H50 cooler | ASUS P6X58D Premium| eVGA GeForce GTX 480 2x SLI | Enermax EGX1000EWL Galaxy 1000W | Corsair XMS3 6GB DDR3| 2x WD 1002FBYS 1TB SATA 7200 RPM non-RAID | HP 1270dvd drive | Samsung S203N DVD drive | Lite On DH-4B1S SATA 4x BD Disc Triple Writer | Antec 1200 Full Tower Case | HP w2408h 24" 1920x1200 LCD Monitor | Westinghouse M2401 24" 1920x1200 LCD Monitor
heatlesssun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Post Apocalyptic Mayhem, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-21-12 07:20 PM
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.