Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 02-04-03, 05:31 PM   #1
ssarkar

Default debian xserver

Hi,
I am very new to linux. I installed debian woody 3.0 in my pc.
I am not able to configure X windows.
I have followed different threads posted on this website and configure /etc/X11/XF86C0nfig so many times but no result.
I have graphics card of "Nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 with TV out".
I have gone though /var/log/xfree86.0.log, but I am not able to understand anything(as I am new to linux). I am attaching the xfree86.0.log.
Please help me.
Thanks,
subhendu
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.log.txt (12.6 KB, 186 views)
ssarkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-03, 11:29 PM   #2
KingFish

Heh, I know how you must feel!
I started with Linux and Debian a few month ago and the first steps where so damn hard... Well, hope I'm able to share my experience with you:

In my eyes your problem is, you're using XF86's nvidia driver module called 'nv'. It never worked for me! You have to install the ' nvidia ' kernel module (unfortunately you need a custom built kernel for this) and the ' nvidia glx module '.
All of it is already included in Debian Woddy, hence it's very out of date (yes, sue me, I hate Debian's "ultra-mega-stable" version, big supporter of the "nearly-everytime-crashing-0%-unstable" version).
Now do the following:
start dselect and select 'kernel-source-2.4.18' 'kernel-package' 'nvidia-kernel-src' and 'nvidia-glx-src'. After installation of all of them, go to /usr/src and unpack 'kernel-source-2.4.18.tar.bzip2' & 'nvidia-kernel-src.tar.gz' (hope I recall these filenames correctly)