Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Unreal2 'retail' Feedback
Visual Stunning, Gameplay/Performance Rocks! 11 40.74%
Visually stunning, Gameplay/Peformance lacking 9 33.33%
Graphics, Gameplay & Performance Suck 3 11.11%
I never played Unreal 1 ! 4 14.81%
Voters: 27. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-03, 06:26 PM   #1
egandt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default Unreal2 performance, what have you found?

Ok, I play UT2003 a lot, with everything set at high and 2X AA / 4X AF, at 1024x768 and while I have seen slowdown in some boards, it has always remained playable. Enter Unreal2 based off the same engine, with the high settings, default ()high no custom modifications) I receive what is a very unplayable frame rate (7 - frames sec) during combat. Turning off AA and AF leads me to about 15 frames a sec still very unplayable. Given my system Dual Althon1800+, with a Geforce4 4600 512megs ram and Ultra160 15K HD's that fact that I can not play this level at a reasonable frame rate at 1024x768 is just scarry. So I'm asking what other people have discovered?

ERIC
egandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-03, 09:31 PM   #2
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

if true, then we finally have a game that pushes technology. IMO UT2003 was not demanding enough

UT2 and Doom3 lead the way to new graphics for us all never a bad thing. if you can't tell yet i like games that scale in details and performance when i decide to next upgrade.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-03, 09:35 PM   #3
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default

what drivers are you using? I've heard that 42.86 drivers improve speed alot I don't have the game yet, I'll have to buy it sometime
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-03, 10:57 PM   #4
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

how did you get a copy of unreal 2 already? it has not been released yet...released date is feb 4th or 5th..today is only the 1st???? do you have an inside/underground supplier?
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-03, 11:35 PM   #5
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

He warezed it.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-03, 02:20 AM   #6
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes, he warezed it. and please, before the questions start coming, let us not mention that again. no questions on where to find it please.

i think this is a legitimate thread as performance in this game sounds like it could be a serious concern for many of us, and the game is coming out soon.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-03, 06:24 AM   #7
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

' The minimum spec is a Pentium® III or AMD Athlon 733 MHz or higher (Pentium® or AMD 1.2 GHz or greater recommended) with a 32 MB NVIDIA® GeForce2 MX® or better (NVIDIA® GeForce3® / ATi® Radeon™ 8500 or better recommended) '

Given these recommended specs, which by most accounts WON'T run high details well, I won't be surprised if I have to drop the detail a bit.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-03, 01:16 PM   #8
egandt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Just tried 28.46, was getting 15 frames a sec with AA x2 and AF x4 on, and the same with AA Off, AF x2 which seems wird, my current guess is that that I'll have to wait on a patch for UR2 to fix the problems I'm seeing. Maybe I'll try Fraps later and see if it agress with the in game counter.

ERIC
egandt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-02-03, 02:47 PM   #9
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Talking

Maybe becouse you run it with AA try running the game without it , in the future games don't excpect to run with AA on Geforce ala Doom 3 resource hungry hippo , but in case you have some beta Unreal 2 , moustlikely code is not optimized yet
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-03, 05:21 PM   #10
egandt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

No it should be a shipping build (Gold release), however I tested under UT2003 and found that I was pulling over 35 avg with 2x AA and 4x AF enabled and all setting set at the hihest levels, but in Unreal2 I'm pulling 15 or so in using the default options. This is what conserns me, since it is the same engine I would have expected similar performance, to me there is a vast diffrence between 15 and 35 frames a second. Also note the lack of improvement I've seen when turning off AA and AF. I should metion that the first level of UR2 was playable a about 35 frames a sec, even in the out doors, but that the second mision (also outdoors) played very poorly, this is what I'm talking about.

Note: I've been using the outdoor levels in UT with between 8 and 12 players, so this is should compare to UR2 as closely as I can manage.

ERIC
egandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-03, 05:38 PM   #11
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

While it is using the same engine, the devs pumped a lot more detail into the game than in UT2
...so they said
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-03, 06:37 PM   #12
styles-T
-========-
 
styles-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Smallville
Posts: 492
Default

This game is good..Im going to pick this one up...Its running super smooth on my system..(read sig)..I havnt played with any settings yet..I'll start to experiment now and try the same settings as you egant..I'll let you know what my FPS are..

I see some texture problems though..And I crashed to the desktop every so often

But this is not a final release so I cant criticize..
__________________
♪♫♪♫ ASUS P6T | I7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | 6GB OCZ PC3-12800 | EVGA GTX570 | CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W |Antec 900 ♪♫♪♫
styles-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crytek CEO quietly confident after Unreal Engine 4 reveal News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 12:30 AM
Gorgeous Unreal Engine 4 brings direct programming, indirect lighting News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 09:20 PM
Star Wars 1313 running on Unreal Engine 3 on PC at E3, will be linear and light on Je News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Nforce AGP & unreal 2003 nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-18-02 05:21 PM
Does anyone like the cool water reflection effect in unreal 2003? imtim83 Gaming Central 15 09-20-02 10:18 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.