Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Is Winamp3 yer new default media player?
O course, I've been using it since the beta! 3 6.25%
Just got the official version, lovin' it! 8 16.67%
It's purdy, but a ram hog 14 29.17%
I'm going back to winamp2... 16 33.33%
win-what? 7 14.58%
Voters: 48. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-02, 12:33 PM   #13
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

I personally care less about winamp 3...I had absolutely no problems with version 2.x and I will stick with it. And yes, it eats too much RAM and CPU cycles.
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-02, 03:49 PM   #14
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

WA3 is ok, but I prefer version 2.80 over it and have gone back to that.
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-02, 03:08 AM   #15
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

It runs very good on my system. I don't care about my ram though considering I have 768mb of it.
It runs fine in the backgorund while palying games like Warcraft 3 and Neverwinter Nights and MW etc...
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-02, 07:10 AM   #16
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

i think Winamp 3 is pretty sad. It doesn't appear to do much of anything different, and it use more resources. Granted I don't see the affect of the more resources, but Windows Task Manager clearly reports more and to me it's just a big waste. From what I hear, Winamp 2.80 is pretty similar anyway but without the bulk. I'm sticking with 2.8 until 3.x gives me a darn good reason to make the switch.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-02, 09:28 PM   #17
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

it has really nice skinning

that's all the masses care about anyway, making it look good
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-02, 09:46 PM   #18
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator
until 3.x gives me a darn good reason to make the switch.
Won't happen.

3.x = bloatware at its worst

Stick with 2.8x
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 12:36 AM   #19
Evil Panda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 10
Default

Winamp3 is s***!!!!!!!

Use Winamp2.81

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
Only big thing I miss about WA3 from 2.xx is the ability to completely buffer songs into memory instead of having the program thrash my HD during playback.
Exactly.
__________________
They said only a couple of humans understood Einstein.
Nobody understands me, am I a genius?
Evil Panda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 12:41 AM   #20
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

why couldn't they have an ease of use winamp2 interface, with video playing functions. not being able to jump and search for files, its just way to bogged down to be useful for me. winamp2 and wmp9 for me.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-25-02, 10:35 PM   #21
styles-T
-========-
 
styles-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Smallville
Posts: 492
Default

I like it..but it has some slight problems..

Hogs system resources for some reason..
I get this studio.exe error when I try to enque more than 1 song..
And it took sometime to get used to with all the new features..other than that its a great mp3 player..
styles-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 10:44 PM   #22
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

true for overall sound quality and the better fading options, winamp 3 is better i think. but can you run winamp3 in the background playing mp3s while your playing your favorite game and have it be fast? nah but winamp2 can. nothing like having your own music for your games.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 01:59 PM   #23
Pakman
Registered User
 
Pakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 22
Default

The big problem with WA3 compared to WA2 is it's inability to play WMA format songs.

I tend to prefer WMA over MP3 format. Better sounding and smaller file sizing. If WA3 did support WMA, then I would consider it worth using. But as it is now, it's of no use to me.
__________________
When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.
Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 04:02 AM   #24
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

winamp3 had a memory leak or something, it'd hose my system utnil I could actually get through to the system that I wanted winamp dead

...on the other hand, wmp9 hasn't given me any problems. I guess I'll stick with it.

Plus I absolutely LOVE its interface....and the new wma and evvything
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.