Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Is Winamp3 yer new default media player?
O course, I've been using it since the beta! 3 6.25%
Just got the official version, lovin' it! 8 16.67%
It's purdy, but a ram hog 14 29.17%
I'm going back to winamp2... 16 33.33%
win-what? 7 14.58%
Voters: 48. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-02, 03:21 AM   #25
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yuck...WMA is terrible. it's good for economic file size usage, but not much else
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 04:27 AM   #26
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

I had no problems with 8 and up.

Personally I think mp3 is terrible...I would've gone ogg but couldn't find a program I liked
___
I used to use lossless with .pca (Siren Jukebox stuff) but that prog was discontinued and I didn't actually own it

WMP7.1 didn't have the best audio quality, but 9s is great...haven't used the regular stuff at all, I'm on the vbr stuff
___
and the playlist management on 9 is worlds beyond

Last edited by SavagePaladin; 09-30-02 at 04:31 AM.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 03:18 AM   #27
Essense
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

lol saturn, how does playing back a low bit-rate MP3 "Thrash" your hard drive. Not to sound like a jerk, but seriously modern hard drive can easily read 20+ MBPS even 384k MP3's are nothing more then a blink every 5 seconds.

You want a real hard drive thrasher play back a 12 mbps MPEG 2 stream from your hard drive

Regards,
Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 03:58 AM   #28
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

You guys relise 512MB of RAM is not enough?
I love 768MB of RAM, Winamp 3.0 rocks
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 04:15 AM   #29
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
You guys relise 512MB of RAM is not enough?
I love 768MB of RAM, Winamp 3.0 rocks
512 not enough? news to me. i'm pretty happy with 256, although WarCraft 3 seems to want more. but Blizzard games have always been memory hogs since Diablo 2

i really doubt you would ever use more than 300MB of RAM right now under any normal situation
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 05:22 AM   #30
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

256 is not enough...for UT2003

for everything else, its fine.

:P
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 06:12 AM   #31
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin
256 is not enough...for UT2003

for everything else, its fine.

:P
there we have it. my friends with 512MB RAM nor myself have run UT2003 full version
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 11:25 AM   #32
VeritechK7
Just lurking
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 184
Send a message via ICQ to VeritechK7 Send a message via AIM to VeritechK7 Send a message via Yahoo to VeritechK7
Default

hmmm .. on the criteria based on functionality...wa 3 sux ... mean I do have 512 MB of ram ..but ...that much just to play your mp3s? not worth it..and plus it takes a time to load ..that isn't good either iMO ...the cross fading is coool...but if i could get that in 2.8..then i'm gonna stick w/ wa2 .. and plus..the lack of a jump function irritates me .. . I mean its' there ..but it's not all that convenient .. .
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying" - Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption

"When you understand the root, you understand all of its blossoming"- Bruce Lee
VeritechK7 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-03-02, 08:05 PM   #33
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VeritechK7
hmmm .. on the criteria based on functionality...wa 3 sux ... mean I do have 512 MB of ram ..but ...that much just to play your mp3s? not worth it..and plus it takes a time to load ..that isn't good either iMO ...the cross fading is coool...but if i could get that in 2.8..then i'm gonna stick w/ wa2 .. and plus..the lack of a jump function irritates me .. . I mean its' there ..but it's not all that convenient .. .
That's why I use Quintessential Player..or QCD. Possibly the best media player I've ever used.

BTW, nice name....Robotech fan?
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 08:19 PM   #34
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I LIKE WA3... I can sort by album and such really blatantly easily... but maybe that's just me

and it has great Ogg support.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 08:44 PM   #35
VeritechK7
Just lurking
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 184
Send a message via ICQ to VeritechK7 Send a message via AIM to VeritechK7 Send a message via Yahoo to VeritechK7
Default

yeah! I loved robotech when i was just five years old . .and i remember my neighbors at the time with a slew of mecha models and...later on ..my friend lent me the next generation series ..a six hour tape .. .and i enjoyed every minute of it .. . well done series ... i mean usually when you get a japanese productand you re write it .. it turns out like crap ..but this is the exception ...well done storyline ..
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying" - Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption

"When you understand the root, you understand all of its blossoming"- Bruce Lee
VeritechK7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 08:50 PM   #36
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VeritechK7
yeah! I loved robotech when i was just five years old . .and i remember my neighbors at the time with a slew of mecha models and...later on ..my friend lent me the next generation series ..a six hour tape .. .and i enjoyed every minute of it .. . well done series ... i mean usually when you get a japanese productand you re write it .. it turns out like crap ..but this is the exception ...well done storyline ..
That's cool. I am a fan of Robotech myself....

Just got Robotech: Battlecry for the Xbox. It ROCKS.
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.