Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-07, 04:31 PM   #1
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Horizontal span so linux thinks there is 1 monitor?

Is there anyway to do this? when I run dual monitor it thinks it act's like windows extended desktop where if I maximize a window, etc. it only goes on one monitor. Is there anyway to have the type of behavior windows XP does using horizontal span? This is using KDE btw...
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-07, 09:03 PM   #2
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Horizontal span so linux thinks there is 1 monitor?

bump
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-07, 09:35 PM   #3
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Horizontal span so linux thinks there is 1 monitor?

I guess "horizontal span mode" for WindowsXP translate
to "TwinView without XineramaInfo" for the nvidia Linux graphics
driver. I guess you already configured your system to use
twinview? In this case, just add

Code:
Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" "1"
to the device section in the X-Server configuration file.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 01:32 AM   #4
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Horizontal span so linux thinks there is 1 monitor?

no xinerama info sounds exactly like what I want. I will try this tomorrow @ work. I have a dual monitor setup but I mainly want this because I plan to buy a new monitor which requires two DVI connections and I don't want windows to only maximize on one-half of the screen. This sounds like exactly what I need, Thanks for the info!
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 09:52 AM   #5
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Horizontal span so linux thinks there is 1 monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xevious
I plan to buy a new monitor which requires two DVI connections
Wow, do you have a link to that beast? :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xevious
This sounds like exactly what I need, Thanks for the info!
Right, "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" should do it in this case.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 03:10 PM   #6
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Horizontal span so linux thinks there is 1 monitor?

http://www.viewsonic.com/support/des...eries/vp2290b/

My dad has two of these (one for home/work) and I decided to get one for work too as I don't need responsetime/refreshrate at work. It actually requires 4 DVI's for the full refresh rate but you can get about 33.5 Hz with 2 DVI connections and reduced blanking modelines.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-07, 10:43 PM   #7
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Horizontal span so linux thinks there is 1 monitor?

I tested the command from work today and it worked just how I wanted, Thanks for the info.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 09:35 PM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.