Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 02-06-03, 04:03 PM   #1
creedamd

Default 3dmark2k3 damage control for GFFX

Who wants to bet that the GFFX will kick the 9700 in the new 3dmark! This will be unbelievable if it does! Discuss!!!
creedamd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-03, 04:25 PM   #2
Retrofire

Default Hmmm...

I'm no engineer, but my thought is that the 128-bit memory bus will be as much a limiting factor in 3DMark2003 as it is in everything else.

The frustrating thing to me is that the GeForce FX is a technology spectacular hampered by comparatively poor memory bandwidth.

I have no doubt that in terms of raw processing power and capability, the GeForce FX will have no equal. At the same time, you can put a Ferrari engine in a Yugo and...Still have a Yugo.

ATi definately did an excellent job anticipating where the market was heading and putting a chip of less power out and designing a better method of feeding it.

Unfortunately GFX is trying to suck a golfball through a garden hose...And predictably looks like it will just end up sucking.

I'm still very anxious to see non-jaded real-world user reviews on the GFX though.
Retrofire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-03, 04:29 PM   #3
undercover

Lets have a sweepstake

I pick the GFFX to beat the 9700 in 3dM2003 by 25% overall at 1280x1024
undercover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-03, 05:21 PM   #4
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun

Send a message via MSN to Nutty

Rumours are the retail version of the card will be much quiter fan wise, and I bet the drivers improve considerably.

What the chances that nvidia unveil "free" AA with newer drivers on the hardware at some point?! Now that would be impressive. I still think GF-fx's AA quality is fine. The ppl slating it seem to have no understanding of equal comparisons, and seem to be completley blind to me.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-03, 05:22 PM   #5
sytaylor