Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-06, 10:30 AM   #217
Namrok
Level 42 Conquerer
 
Namrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 1,433
Send a message via ICQ to Namrok Send a message via AIM to Namrok
Default Re: titan quest?

Quote:
Originally Posted by glObalist
QFT! I'm gonna have to mount a spare Coolermaster fan on my vidcard as I was getting some serious throttling issues last night while playing TQ - it was extremely hot outside (inside too) and my GPU temp went up as high as 90c (sic!), slowing the framerates down so it could "cool down" a little, then rinse and repeat. I only realized this was the issue after a CTD where I could see a dozen "temp warning" windows on the desktop.
Yeah, it's pretty mind blowing how much this game heats up your computer. I know GalCiv2 did this before they put in a framerate throttling mechanism. It was rendering hundreds of frames per second on good video cards and burning things up. Somehow I doubt that is the problem Titan Quest is having though. Still it is odd.

On another note, I'm loving the game on my new laptop. Upgraded from a 1.86 Pentium M to a 2.16 Core Duo, and from a Geforce 6800 Go to a Geforce 7900 GS. It's like night and day. Before I was limited to 1200x700, all medium settings, now I can play at 1600x1000 all high. So much better of an experience. And thankfully, just like my other system, no crashes! I'm amazed. Not having any trouble with lag when I enter or exit caves either.
__________________
Xbox360 GamerTag : Horkthane
PSN: Horkthane
SteamID: Namrok
Namrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-06, 04:48 PM   #218
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: titan quest?

Anyone else get this:

"This Account Has Been Suspended
Please contact the billing/support department as soon as possible"

when trying to access www.titanquest.net ?
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-06, 04:59 PM   #219
Becoming
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 548
Default Re: titan quest?

Yup. That just means the site is down I'm assuming until an administrator fixes up their account with their hosting service.
Becoming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-06, 07:35 PM   #220
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: titan quest?

Um wrong site... Thats not the official site...

http://titanquestgame.com/
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-06, 07:43 PM   #221
Becoming
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 548
Default Re: titan quest?

I wasn't under the impression that it was the "official" site, but it was an awesome site with a lot of great stuff pertaining to the game.
Becoming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-06, 03:06 AM   #222
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: titan quest?

What he said. Try it now, it's working again, they have apparently just switched hosts.
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-06, 09:55 AM   #223
Imbroglio
xeroyphyte
 
Imbroglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: titan quest?

holy god, i wish this game wasn't so borked. if i only play for 10 minutes, i monitor both gpu temps and they are insane, they go up to rought 82C almost immediately, i can run loops of 3dmark and never have them hit anywhere near that hot. Game still randomly crashes with BSOD, sometimes after 10 minutes sometimes after an hour. I can achieve 9000 in 3dmark05 but i can't run this game faster than 30fps at 12x10, something needs to be fixed. All the engine.dll errors and memory leaks that i'm seeing people have is just rediculous. Looks like i'm off to go play some fifa06, that should hold my interest for a while, i'm just really dissappointed with the performance of the game and the number of bugs throughout

...i just expected that all that stuff would have been fixed since the demo
__________________

HT: 360 -- Sony60A3000 -- Onkyo SR605 --> Polk cs2, monitor 60s and monitor 40s w/ Bic F12 sub -- PS3
XBL:Mr X3r0 -- PSN:Mr_X3r0

Rig- Asus P6X58D Premium - intel i7 920 @3.6 - EVGA GTX570 - Corsair HX1000 - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - WD640 - COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 - OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600*

Imbroglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-06, 06:38 AM   #224
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: titan quest?

my temps are low, in 60s, which is normal for games

yesterday i had first major crash because of this game, save game corrupt, all caused by memory leaks in engine.dll

lost few hours of play, like i said before that patch was useless
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-14-06, 09:21 AM   #225
Becoming
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 548
Default Re: titan quest?

If you didn't lose your character altogether (due to the patch implemented backup) then I'd say it wasn't completely worthless...

Last edited by Becoming; 07-14-06 at 11:57 AM.
Becoming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-06, 09:28 AM   #226
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: titan quest?

i did loose it, i have external drive, that makes back-ups of my document folder every day.

that how i can play again

so yeah the patch is useless
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-06, 11:58 AM   #227
Becoming
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 548
Default Re: titan quest?

Well that sucks. I'm not even sure how the character backup feature is supposed to work really. Luckily I've never had it crash on me.
Becoming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-06, 12:46 AM   #228
Hav0k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: titan quest?

Why am I getting **** FPS when im using SLi'd 7800GTX?

2gigs of ram and a 4400+ cpu

Oh im using the 84.21 drivers...what SLI profile should i use?

Cheers
Hav0k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Daily Deal - Space Quest Collection, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM
Video: Titan Supercomputer Session Showcases Science on GPUs News Archived News Items 0 05-25-12 12:20 PM
Titan Supercomputer Session Showcases Science on GPUs News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 03:30 AM
So I Want To Be A Hero! Quest For Glory I to V On GOG News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.