Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-03-06, 03:00 PM   #1
mrn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 254
Default Combining twinview and xinerama.

Is something like this technically possible:

MonitorA and MonitorB running in twinview, TV running on a seperate display.
Example:
MonitorA+B : :0.0 in twinview
TV : :0.1

I dont want to accidentaly drag windows over to the TV (most of the time it's off), and I dont want my window manager placing windows there either. But I really want twinview between my two monitors.

(the solution I have now is a multi seat like setup, where the TV is running on :1, and I have a seperate mouse+keyboard for it (well, keyboard = void driver, and mouse = my cellphone), but it's a bit unpractical sometimes).
mrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 05:03 PM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

Sure that's possible. Just set up twinview the way you do it normally and add an additional screen to the ServerLayout section. (Don't enable xinerama else all the three screens will form one big desktop)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 05:29 PM   #3
mrn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 254
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbird
Sure that's possible. Just set up twinview the way you do it normally and add an additional screen to the ServerLayout section. (Don't enable xinerama else all the three screens will form one big desktop)
I tried that, and that seems to disable the xinerama information on twinview and my windows ends up between monitor A and B.
mrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 02:09 AM   #4
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

Could you post your X configuration file?
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 04:18 AM   #5
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

Is it possible to have two monitors AND a TV connected to a single nvidia card?
Or do you have two cards?
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 08:49 AM   #6
mrn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 254
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbird
Could you post your X configuration file?
yeah, it's quite massive though, as you can see I've experimented with a lot of different configurations.

The configuration I currently use is Twinview, and I start Screen-ATITV to get tv output.

The configuration I want to use is Twinview-ATITV, but if I use that I get monitor a+b as one big screen (without xinerama information, as gnome keeps screwing up when placing my windows, and the gnome menu also spans between both monitor a and b), and the tv just as I want it, as a seperate display.

http://hollowtube.mine.nu/releases/xorg.conf

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl
Is it possible to have two monitors AND a TV connected to a single nvidia card?
Or do you have two cards?
I have two cards.
mrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 10:33 AM   #7
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

I would have done it the same way as you did in that serverlayout with twinview.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 10:39 AM   #8
mrn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 254
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbird
I would have done it the same way as you did in that serverlayout with twinview.
hm, not quite sure what you mean. The serverlayout with twinview doesn't load the tv output at all (obviusly), and I have to start that seperatly. When I start it seperatly it'll either use the same mouse/keyboard input (which can be very unpractical, if I click on one screen I will click on both), or I can disable mouse/keyboard all together (which is also unpractical).

The Twinview-ATITV is exactly like the Twinview screen, except I added the ATI card. And that works, but it seems I loose the xinerama information on my monitors, and it becomes a single big monitor (which results in windows being placed between the monitors).
mrn is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-04-06, 01:11 PM   #9
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

I forgot that there were multiple twinview layouts I meant the one with ati (Twinview-ATITV). The problem is likely an nvidia driver bug. You could try to force twinview xinerama info on (there's an option for it, see the nvidia readme). It might help.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 02:37 PM   #10
mrn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 254
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

The only xinerama related option I could find was NoTwinViewXineramaInfo, which is to force xinerama information off.

To find some more information on whats actually happening I wrote a little test app for it.

http://hollowtube.mine.nu/releases/xinerama_test.c

Running on profile LCDONLY : (not surprisingly):
Code:
XineramaIsActive returns : False
Xlib:  extension "XINERAMA" missing on display ":2.0".
0 screens found
Running on profile "Twinview":
Code:
XineramaIsActive returns : True
2 screens found
Screen 0:
     screen_number = : 0
     x_org = : 0
     y_org = : 0
     width = : 1024
Screen 1:
     screen_number = : 1
     x_org = : 1280
     y_org = : 0
     width = : 1024
Again, I'm not surprised.

Running on profile Twinview-ATITV:
Code:
XineramaIsActive returns : False
2 screens found
Screen 0:
     screen_number = : 0
     x_org = : 0
     y_org = : 0
     width = : 1024
Screen 1:
     screen_number = : 1
     x_org = : 1280
     y_org = : 0
     width = : 1024
Now this is a bit more interesting, seems XineramaIsActive returns false, but XineramaQueryScreens returns valid data.

Running on profile Twinview-ATITV, but on display :0.1 (ie on the tv):
Code:
XineramaIsActive returns : False
2 screens found
Screen 0:
     screen_number = : 0
     x_org = : 0
     y_org = : 0
     width = : 1024
Screen 1:
     screen_number = : 1
     x_org = : 1280
     y_org = : 0
     width = : 1024
I guess it returning not returning XineramaIsActive here is normal, but it still has the actual xinerama information for :0.0 on :0.1.
mrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 03:26 PM   #11
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log while this problem is present.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 04:04 PM   #12
mrn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 254
Default Re: Combining twinview and xinerama.

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log while this problem is present.

Thanks,
Lonni
here (attachement is actually a tgz file).
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (22.4 KB, 120 views)
mrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twinview performance issues on GTS250 hampsterblade NVIDIA Linux 4 05-30-12 11:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.