Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-03, 02:52 AM   #1
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default n00b to Linux question

With the help of Knoppix, I've decided to take linux for a spin. Hopefully weaning myself off of M$ for good, sometime down the road. My question is simple. How do you change the monitor resolution? I realize that my version is cut down but there has to be some way of changing it.
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-03, 12:32 PM   #2
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

/etc/X11/XF86Config-4

It's in this file. You should be able to do a quick search for the resolution you're currently using, then change it.

One quick note:
As far as I have been able to tell (note that I'm no expert in Linux...), you cannot change the desktop resolution without restarting X. While you can use Ctrl+Alt++ and Ctrl+Alt+- to change the screen resolution (if more than one resolution is defined in the XF86Config-4 file), the desktop remains at the highest resolution defined (virtual desktop sorta thingy).
__________________
"Physics is like sex. Sure, it may give some practical results, but that's not why we do it." - Richard P. Feynman
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-03, 04:36 PM   #3
lunarg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Default

The best way to test things out, is by opening up a second tty (Ctrl+Alt+F2), and shutting down the X server (as root):
$ cd /etc/init.d/
$ ./xsession stop

This will shutdown the X server

After that, edit /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 to change the resolution. It's best to change it in every display depth (in case Knoppix decides to use another pixel depth).
After that, do a simple 'startx' to get back into X.
lunarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-03, 04:58 AM   #4
Moled
cheese
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 137
Default

ctrl alt and the + or - keys on your numpad

tho that is just an ugly way of doing it
just zooms in/out basically
Moled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-03, 05:49 AM   #5
jesse kahtava
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: ontario
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to jesse kahtava
Default need help still?

hey, if you need any more help with this subject i can definately give you a hand. i too have struggled with this in the past and have got it (mostly) all figured out now. email me: spreeky@f-m.fm (jesse)
jesse kahtava is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 06-16-12 04:12 PM
173.14.34 (legacy prerelease) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-19-12 10:27 AM
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
Linux VS. Windows XP! XP wins! dostler NVIDIA Linux 20 09-15-02 03:47 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.