Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-06, 07:46 PM   #1
spokehedz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Display Resolution Woes

I have tried everything. Twice. To try and get my monitor to display at the native resolution.

I set it in the display panel, using Generic LCD (1280x1024) monitor, and all the resolutions show up just fine. However, when I go to actually change that in the display config, all it shows me is 1024x768.

Yes, I've edited my xorg.conf. Here it is:

Code:
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "single head configuration"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, a font server independent of the X server is
# used to render fonts.

	FontPath     "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "dbe"
	Load  "extmod"
	Load  "fbdevhw"
	Load  "glx"
	Load  "record"
	Load  "freetype"
	Load  "type1"
	Load  "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
#	Option	"Xleds"		"1 2 3"

# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
#	Option	"XkbDisable"

# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
# or:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
#	Option	"XkbVariant"	"nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:nocaps"
#
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "kbd"
	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option	    "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "LCD Panel 1280x1024"
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
	HorizSync    31.5 - 67.0
	VertRefresh  50.0 - 75.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
	BoardName   "nVidia Corporation NV36 [GeForce FX 5700LE]"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Videocard0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth     16
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     16
		Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
	Group        0
	Mode         0666
EndSection
I've tried changing the driver to older ones, same problem. My monitor is really an IBM T750 which is connected through DVI.

Everything else works fine. The accelerated games and whatnot, but just not at the native res. and it is driving me INSANE because everything is blurry.

Anything help at all would be appreciated. Thanks.

AIM/YIM: Spokehedz
MSN: Spokehedz@hotmail.com
spokehedz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 07:48 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Display Resolution Woes

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 08:26 PM   #3
spokehedz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Display Resolution Woes

Here is the file. I notice that it says that 1280x1024 is not a valid mode in there. It is, as it is the native resolution of this monitor. I used it all the time. And when I disable the NVIDIA driver, it goes right back to 1280x1024 without any problems whatsoever.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (90.1 KB, 121 views)
spokehedz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 09:48 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Display Resolution Woes

Thanks. There is a 1280x1024 mode in the EDID, however it seemed to be getting silently rejected. Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log so that I can determine why that mode is being rejected.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 10:12 PM   #5
spokehedz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Display Resolution Woes

Done and done. Lets see if this helps out any. And thanks for the help thus far.

EDIT: File was unchanged for some reason.

Last edited by spokehedz; 07-05-06 at 10:30 PM.
spokehedz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 10:19 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Display Resolution Woes

This bug report is identical to the last one. Did you start X with the new command that I provided (which differs from the previous command)?

-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 10:21 PM   #7
spokehedz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Display Resolution Woes

I thought I did... The timestamp changed. Weird. Let me do it again...
spokehedz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 10:33 PM   #8
spokehedz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Display Resolution Woes

Okay. I deleted it, ran it again. This is a new one for sure.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (30.0 KB, 129 views)
spokehedz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-05-06, 11:00 PM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Display Resolution Woes

Thanks, here's the problem:
###################
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1280x1024":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1280 x 1024 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 108.00 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1280, 1328
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1440, 1688
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1024, 1025
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1028, 1066
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode is rejected: HorizSync (64.0 kHz) out of range
(WW) NVIDIA(0): (31.000-63.000 kHz).
##################

You can try working around this by specifying the "NoHorizSyncCheck" parameter for the ModeValidation option.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-06, 11:15 PM   #10
spokehedz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Display Resolution Woes

Yes! It works! haha!

Some of those options are really interesting. Thanks!
spokehedz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Russian Masterpieces Put on Display Using NVIDIA GPU Technology News Archived News Items 0 06-25-12 05:10 PM
Unable to get other display resolution jcdole NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 05:25 AM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 10:55 AM
Glx mrbig1344 NVIDIA Linux 7 09-30-02 07:45 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 03:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.