Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-06, 12:37 PM   #37
zodiaK
Another jaded gamer.
 
zodiaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 38
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
BTW that werewolf was badass
Lots of XP when you kill him too.

Which is one of my favorite parts about the game, the many different ways to finish (most) quests. You're given XP bonuses if you learn things through dialog with Beckett, can intimidate the guy in the sewers into giving up if your intimidation is high enough, etc. It really makes the replayability go through the roof when you know there's a lot of things you missed due to not having the right stat spread. Being able to go in guns blazing or try a stealth route really adds a lot.

With that said, once you hit the sewers its all down hill.
__________________
Games first. Hardware second.
zodiaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-06, 12:50 PM   #38
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zodiaK
Lots of XP when you kill him too.

Which is one of my favorite parts about the game, the many different ways to finish (most) quests. You're given XP bonuses if you learn things through dialog with Beckett, can intimidate the guy in the sewers into giving up if your intimidation is high enough, etc. It really makes the replayability go through the roof when you know there's a lot of things you missed due to not having the right stat spread. Being able to go in guns blazing or try a stealth route really adds a lot.

With that said, once you hit the sewers its all down hill.

How do you kill the Were.... ??? As far as I can remember,its the resistance leader that does him in,any attempt at real combat with that geia defender results in quick death... I loved the game,and have played 5 out of the 7 or so clans available.The story was kick ass,and the voice acting was top notch as well.Great graphics,ran it on a 5900XT at he time,and it ran ok,but choppy at 10x7.now it flies,with nary a slow down.Been through it twice as a Gangrel and 3 times as a Malk.The final patch fixes allot of stuff and makes it VERY playable overall,shame about the devs,the pumped out some great titles in thier time.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-06, 01:27 PM   #39
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH0DAN
How do you kill the Were.... ??? As far as I can remember,its the resistance leader that does him in,any attempt at real combat with that geia defender results in quick death... I loved the game,and have played 5 out of the 7 or so clans available.The story was kick ass,and the voice acting was top notch as well.Great graphics,ran it on a 5900XT at he time,and it ran ok,but choppy at 10x7.now it flies,with nary a slow down.Been through it twice as a Gangrel and 3 times as a Malk.The final patch fixes allot of stuff and makes it VERY playable overall,shame about the devs,the pumped out some great titles in thier time.
You had to go to a little shed thing and turn on the power, and then open the observatory hatch, and then close it on him when he tries to come in through it and it squishes him. He is invulnerable otherwise though, nothing you do will kill him.

One thing I also really liked about this game was the soundtrack.

As a general rule I usually hate most vampire/gothic movies and games (not really my thing) but I loved this game. Only problems with it were the incessant bugs.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-06, 12:34 AM   #40
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

I LOVED this game! One of the best ever as far as I'm concerned, it's a classic in every since of the word. People who don't like it just don't like this sort of a game. It's quite different than your average joe shooter. Don't plan on just whipping through it. It's a take your time, sit back, get creepy, and enjoy game. Still have it on my hard drive and have played it umpteen times. And will still play it. It's just got great atmosphere. I would sure like to see another one of these come out. I would love to have seen this game being made. I bet the team had a ball making it. From what I understand, there was a whole lot of stuff that never made it into the game because of internal issues. As good as it is now, I can imagine how the game would have been if they would have been allowed to do it the way it was intended. Whoa!
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64

Last edited by Mike89; 07-14-06 at 12:46 AM.
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-06, 12:57 AM   #41
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

You guys are forgetting the main issue here. Like SiN:Episode 1, Bloodlines has Teh Boobies! Honestly every encounter with VV is absolutely hypnotic.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-06, 01:36 AM   #42
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

money 100 in console..lol
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-06, 02:29 AM   #43
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

Btw this game eats alot of memory
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-06, 11:52 AM   #44
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

Quote:
Btw this game eats alot of memory
You got that right. At 1280/1024 with full settings 4X FSAA/16X Aniso, you're looking at over 1 1/2 gigs.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-14-06, 12:27 PM   #45
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

I am trying to finish this game on my old rig with 1GB of ram..it eats about 500MB and thats just on 1024 res with no aa/af(app control)
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-06, 02:03 PM   #46
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

Quote:
I am trying to finish this game on my old rig with 1GB of ram..it eats about 500MB and thats just on 1024 res with no aa/af(app control)
I would say it eats more than that. After playing the game, go to Task Manager and look at the "Commit Charge Peak". That will show you the maximum ram that was used at any given time. The number will stay the same unless you do something that uses more than that or reboot. The readme says to set page file at minimum 1400mb.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-06, 03:42 AM   #47
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

Does anyone know how to set custom resolution in this game? I want to set 1280x960..only got 1280x1024..and that ress looks a bit funky on my monitor

EDIT: After googling arround found a little .net file that lets me change the .dll to support my ress ><..yay back on 960..

Last edited by K007; 07-15-06 at 08:15 AM.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-06, 03:01 PM   #48
dmihai_vampire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Vampire - The Masquerade Bloodlines ...FPS!!

Hey! can you please tell me how you changed the resolution to 1280*960, please? Thank you
dmihai_vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supernatural Splinter Cell: DARK Is A Vampire Stealth RPG News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
low fps why??? nipster Benchmarking And Overclocking 4 08-07-02 02:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.