Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-02, 04:09 PM   #1
gfx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question Question about VIVO

If you use s-video out on the vtek geforce 4 ti 4600 and record it using a VCR, how exactly would you get it back onto the computer? On the box from visiontek it says 'record yourself gaming [on a VCR] and port it back to the computer', but how exactly do you get it back? ;D

------------
gfx
http://www.sector-gfx.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-02, 06:57 PM   #2
GoldenTiger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Use video capture software like virtual dub to record it back using the video in port.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-02, 07:28 PM   #3
gfx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I assume my tv has to have s-video out then?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-02, 07:36 PM   #4
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

Yes, gfx (or component out). My Gainward Geforce 4600 can take either signal and pump it into my video card.

As GoldenTiger said, Virtual Dub is a good choice for importing video signal. See - http://virtualdub.sourceforge.net/
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-02, 12:25 AM   #5
DoinkyBottoms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to DoinkyBottoms
Default

My evga ti4400 came with a splitter that plugs into the card's VIVO port and allows the use of a regular phono type cord that most modern TVs have standard. I can go in/out backwards and forwards. It rocks. Did yours have that kind of thing? I have three of those splitters so if they would work on a visiontek I would happily part with one.
DoinkyBottoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-02, 10:16 AM   #6
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default

How does the sound record with the spliter my just has a video in and out, but what do I use to get the sound to play,do I come off my sound card to the VCR or is there a splitter thats hooks up to the G.F.4 that has all three conections.
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-02, 05:31 PM   #7
DoinkyBottoms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to DoinkyBottoms
Default

I have another cord that converts the soundcard stereo jack to two phono type jacks. I wish I knew what those were called... Then it connects the line out of the soundcard and the line in of the TV or VCR. You can buy one at Wal-Mart or similar. What soundcard do you have? How many and what kinds of ports does it have?

By the way, make sure your drivers (detonators) support video-out and you have the WDM capture drivers installed. I know that some beta dets don't support video out.
DoinkyBottoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PhysX question Spartan 117 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 5 11-09-12 09:45 PM
Mandrake 9.0 and Nvidia 1.0-3123 FINALLY!!!! Now for a question. jthompson7051 NVIDIA Linux 1 10-07-02 02:17 PM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 05:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 10:39 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.