Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-06, 06:47 PM   #1
phlakvest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors

Ok heres my Problem.

My card is a geforce 6600GT, and I am running slackware 10,2. I have the newest nvidia driver and I currently have twin view working correctly. I am having the same problem that many other people are having with games spaning both monitors.

I have tried setting a meta mode to 1600x1200,1600x1200; 1600x1200,null and instead of dropping down to one monitor in games it choses to load that mode every time I start X. I have also tried "ctrl"+"alt"+"+" (on the numpad and keypad) and it doesnt change modes.

Heres a copy of my xorg.conf
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Default Layout"
    Screen         "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath         "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"  	# Double buffer extension
    SubSection     "extmod"
        Option         "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option         "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option         "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc101"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "Auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option         "Resolution"  "1200"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    HorizSync       31.5 - 82.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 90.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    BusID          "PCI:3:0:0"
    Option 	"NvAGP" "3"
    Option 	"ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0,CRT-1"
    Option      "IgnoreDisplayDevices"  "TV"
    Option      "TwinView" "true"
    Option      "HorizSync" "50-100"
    Option      "VertRefresh" "60-120"
    Option      "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200"
CRT-0:1600x1200,CRT-1: null"
    Option      "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"


EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1600x1200"
        ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Thanks in advance for your Help.
phlakvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-06, 02:45 AM   #2
rZn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors

You could try to set

Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200; 1600x1200;

//rZn
rZn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-06, 09:08 AM   #3
phlakvest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors

I tried that it does the exact same thing as using
Code:
"1600x1200,1600x1200;1600x1200,null"
phlakvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-06, 12:41 PM   #4
blargh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default Re: Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors

Your mode is good, you just need to activate that mode BEFORE starting the game. I don't use slackware, so I can't tell you how to do that.
blargh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-06, 07:51 AM   #5
phlakvest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors

But is there a way to make it default to 1600x1600,1600x1200 when I start X?
Or will I just have to manual change it everytime I start?
phlakvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.