Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-02, 10:53 PM   #1
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RDRAM Won't Die

...or will it?

i'd like to see performance from SiS's new RDRAM mobo before we can safely say RDRAM is dead and buried. http://www.digitimes.com/NewsShow/Ar...ages=04&seq=16

Quote:
At present, the RDRAM platform is limited mostly to the high-end market, and with Intel showing stronger support for the DDR platform, the market share of RDRAM-based chipsets has dropped from 15% in 2001 to the current 10%.

However, SiS believes that the RDRAM standard still has a chance to enter the mainstream sector, especially as DRAM makers like Samsung Electronics and Elpida have decided to manufacture new-generation, dual-channel RDRAM products. The chipset designer estimates that if introduction of the new memories proceeds well, it is likely to take up 30% of the RDRAM-platform market by the end of 2003.
interesting, i thought RDRAM had more market share for P4 platforms than that. the majority is probably held by worthless SDRAM P4 solutions
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 05:32 AM   #2
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

that is interesting, I was sure that RDRAM was history because most people I know went for DDR over RDRAM. Additionally large PC makers like Dell offer DDR on their systems, and with the tremendous price difference and DDRII coming out... WOW! Very interesting information, they ain't gonna make it for AMD too are they?!
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 07:19 AM   #3
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

RDRAM came in with all the right intentions

The price is just too prohibitive
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-02, 10:24 AM   #4
Brimstone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 20
Default

At first the price was way to high with no performance advantage.
Brimstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-02, 01:34 PM   #5
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Thumbs up

Well Rdram is not so expensive these days anymore so yes it will live untill Intel keeps useing it
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-02, 02:37 PM   #6
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

I personally refuse to buy rd ram on principle alone. Rambust's business practice of suing everyone is horrible.
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-02, 07:28 AM   #7
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

RDRAM costs too much. When it's as cheap as DDR and can keep pace with DDR (I think DDR400 edges out over PC1066 RDRAM) then maybe I'll buy it.

I also won't buy it because VIA hasn't made an Athlon chipset with RDRAM support
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-02, 09:19 AM   #8
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Intel used to sue everyone too as I recall....
seems to have quieted down though
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-02, 08:42 PM   #9
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheOneKEA
RDRAM costs too much. When it's as cheap as DDR and can keep pace with DDR (I think DDR400 edges out over PC1066 RDRAM) then maybe I'll buy it.

I also won't buy it because VIA hasn't made an Athlon chipset with RDRAM support
a more accurate statement would be that PC1066 edges out DDR400
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-02, 01:34 PM   #10
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Unhappy Eeeek!!!

Whoops. I thought it was the other way around.

Anyway, RDRAM is still too expensive.
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-02, 09:09 AM   #11
Lars
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 118
Default

Well, I bought my Samsung PC800 ram along with my Abit TH7-II almost a year ago. Back then it was either sd or rd for the P4, so the choice was obvious IMO. Well, they overclock like 40%+ easy with no voltage increase or any h/w mods what-so-ever. A year later they still kick major a**. Even the most expensive/extravagant DDR modules (might I add: some of which are now costing more than I paid for my RDRAM) are still playing catch up even when overclocked to the max. While RDRAM may not be "all that" in the future, they sure have been one of the better investments I ever made (PC wise that is), and are a great match for my 2.26@3034 Mhz. This system will last me at least another 6 months and still be high-end by then (may upgrade the cpu one more time). I'm not even getting a new mobo/ram until at least Prescott comes out. Then, if it turns out dual DDR kicks the snot out of rdram, I'll go DDR. But I will have to see that before I believe it
__________________
Pentium E6600 ES 2.4@3.5 Ghz | Mach II GT | Asus P5WD2-E | 2GB Corsair PC5400UL | X-Fi Fata1ity
Viewsonic VP201s + Dell 2001FP | 2x Club3D x1900xt CF | 2x WD Raptors | PCP&C 850W PSU
3dmark2001se 62845 | 3dmark05 20043 | 3dmark06 11642 | 3dmark03 36921 | pcmark05 9754
Lars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-02, 08:20 PM   #12
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

actually as of right now, RDRAM is more expensive than the elusive DDR400 i believe.

one of the reasons RDRAM was the only solution for P4 is because Intel itself could not release a DDR mobo due to legal reasons
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weekend Deal - Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition, 33% Off! News Archived News Items 0 11-08-12 03:50 PM
New DLC Available - Orcs Must Die! 2 - Fire and Water Booster Pack News Archived News Items 0 08-29-12 06:50 PM
Pre-Purchase Now Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition News Gaming Headlines 0 07-14-12 05:10 AM
Daily Deal - All Zombies Must Die, 66% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 07-09-12 03:30 PM
RDRAM question CMav General Hardware 1 09-26-02 03:37 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.