Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-06, 01:24 PM   #13
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: Temperatures

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Removing the power connector is likely to make the system unstable, and not resolve the temperature issue.

Have you ensured that the inside of the case has sufficient ventilation?

Also, I'd like to see an nvidia-bug-report.log from this system.

Thanks,
Lonni
Bug report with power connector or without?

Thunderbird:
I think my CPU has thermal diode inside the core. Now it shows 33c which is same as environment + 2c, however GPU has 67c. Also I cleaned up my case and I increased power of my vents, but still GPU is hot as before. I can tell you my case side door is hot around graphic card.
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-06, 01:36 PM   #14
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Temperatures

kriko, I want to see a bug report with the power connector.

As for what a normal temperature is, there isn't a good answer for that, as each card manufacturer uses their own cooling (fan or passive), and they all select their own memory & GPU clock rates which influence the temperature as well. The card manufacturer would be best equipped to determine what they consider to be a 'normal' temperature. There's also the side issue that if the air temperature outside your case is high and/or you have insufficient ventilation inside the case, those factors will increase the GPU temperature, or limit its ability to get cooled properly.

-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-06, 02:01 PM   #15
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: Temperatures

Bug report

Last edited by kriko; 05-31-11 at 01:35 PM.
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-06, 02:22 PM   #16
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Temperatures

I don't see anything in the bug report that might explain the high temperature.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-06, 02:44 PM   #17
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: Temperatures

I'm thinking to buy a heatpipe or some better coller for my vga.
Is Arctic-Cooling NV Silencer 6 Rev.2 compatible with GF6600GT agp (they only mention pci-e version, are there differences between agp and pcie boards?)?
http://www.arctic-cooling.com/downlo..._comp_1024.gif
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-06, 04:03 PM   #18
SaTaN0rX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 86
Default Re: Temperatures

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriko
I'm thinking to buy a heatpipe or some better coller for my vga.
Is Arctic-Cooling NV Silencer 6 Rev.2 compatible with GF6600GT agp (they only mention pci-e version, are there differences between agp and pcie boards?)?
agp 6600s use a PCIe NV43 core and the HSI bridge chip to bridge that PCIe
chip to the AGP bus. for this reason, the AGP version has a totally different
board layout then the PCIe version (there is the extra HSI chip, the GPU core
and memory are rotated by 45 and are on other positions).

If this cooler is compatible with the PCIe verion, it is incompatible with the
AGP version.

also note there appear to be at least 2 different board types of 6600GT AGP.

for a 6600GT, you most likely need to cool not only the GPU, but also the
memory chips and the HSI bridge (though the later two can be cooled passively)
SaTaN0rX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 10:57 AM   #19
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: Temperatures

Stock cooling sucks!

I removed top cover from cooler, removed stock vent, mounted 7x7cm vent onto stock heatsink (fixed with hot pattex - melted plastic, this vent has higher rpm and it's also quieter than stock one). Now the temperature is reading:
50 - 52 degree celsius. 10 degree cooler than before!

Now I ordered Zalman VF 700 kit, it should have same cooling capacibility + it contains ram heatsinks (my card doesn't have them now).
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-06, 10:27 PM   #20
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: Temperatures

This is the same old Linux nVIDIA driver issue of the temps being WAY higher while idle in Linux compared to idle in Windows. The difference here is very warm heatsink and cold to the touch heatsink between the 2 operating systems.

Why hasn't anything been done? I don't know, I filed a few bugreports over a year ago and just gave up on the issue.

Surely this can be discovered by loading up Windows and taking the temp reading there.

You cant possibly tell me that 58C reading is normal on a 6800GT, with a Zalman VF900 (one of the best) and my case with the side panel off. It's at least 20C cooler when running windows.
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux

Last edited by Spyke; 08-29-06 at 10:38 PM.
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-06, 11:40 AM   #21
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: Temperatures

I got the zalman VF 700, now the GPU core shows:
42 - 46 C. Mostly 44 C.

This is great.
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-06, 12:51 PM   #22
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Temperatures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyke
This is the same old Linux nVIDIA driver issue of the temps being WAY higher while idle in Linux compared to idle in Windows.

Why hasn't anything been done? I don't know, I filed a few bugreports over a year ago and just gave up on the issue.
Please submit an nvidia bugreport.log :-)

Seriously, I agree with you. The card is running much too hot (70-80 deg for my 6600GT) and it looks like it is a software issue.
Like you, I would really like it to be fixed. Not only does a hot chip and surrounding components increase the risk of failure (look at all those caps that are in the exhaust air of the cooler!), but it also costs energy and money.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-06, 02:14 PM   #23
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: Temperatures

I don't see the points behind the bugreport because its nothing more than info on a perfectly working system just with a hotter running graphics chip.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (93.3 KB, 108 views)
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-06, 03:29 PM   #24
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Temperatures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyke
I don't see the points behind the bugreport
Sorry, it was not meant to be serious...
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Record-setting 2012 warmth largely confined to North America, western Europe News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 09:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.