Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-06, 11:32 PM   #1
flavor8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Question Getting dual head up and running on 6600/AGP

Hello,

I'm running the nvidia driver that installs via Ubuntu Dapper.

I have a 17" CRT connected to the card via VGA, and a 19" widescreen LCD connected via DVI. In text mode, the LCD is active; when X starts, the CRT fires up instead (and the LCD loses signal). If I switch to the nv driver, the LCD gets X, and the CRT gets an out of sync display (but at least both are active.)

Attached are output from lspci, my xorg.conf, the x start logs, and the output from nvidia-bug-report (although the latter was run under the nv driver; if you need me to run it again under nvidia let me know).

I'd like the LCD to be the primary, and the CRT is setting left of the LCD.

Questions:

1) How can I tell which monitor is which in the conf, anyway?
2) How can I get both up and running correctly?
Attached Files
File Type: txt lspci.txt (1.7 KB, 133 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (4.0 KB, 172 views)
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.txt (23.4 KB, 122 views)
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (93.2 KB, 114 views)
flavor8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-06, 12:31 AM   #2
BashfulTux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Default Re: Getting dual head up and running on 6600/AGP

Try using this for the device settings.

Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier     "NVIDIA1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Screen       0
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"   
    Identifier     "NVIDIA2"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Screen       1
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
And you might want to put Load "xtrap" to allow the mouse to move between the screens in the Module section and remove Option "Twinview" "On" from Layout you do not seem to be using it.
BashfulTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-06, 08:12 PM   #3
flavor8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Thumbs up Re: Getting dual head up and running on 6600/AGP

Cool, progress! Now both monitors are up.

Here are the current issues; perhaps someone can help with these?

1) The resolution is messed up on both monitors. Both are displaying 800x600. I would like the LCD to be 1440x900, and the CRT to be 1024x768. Is this possible using twinview or xinerama? Or should I treat them as seperate X screens?

2) I would like the LCD (which is on the right) to have the KDE menu/panel. Currently the CRT has the menu/panel, which doesn't flow onto the LCD.

3) If (per 1) I treat them as seperate X screens, how do I move the mouse between them? Can I map them to different KDE desktops, so that I can take advantage of KDE's "move window to desktop" and desktop switching??

Attached are my current x conf, and the startup log.
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (24.7 KB, 116 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (2.9 KB, 136 views)
flavor8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-06, 08:55 PM   #4
BashfulTux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Default Re: Getting dual head up and running on 6600/AGP

Quote:
Originally Posted by flavor8
Cool, progress! Now both monitors are up.

Here are the current issues; perhaps someone can help with these?

1) The resolution is messed up on both monitors. Both are displaying 800x600. I would like the LCD to be 1440x900, and the CRT to be 1024x768. Is this possible using twinview or xinerama? Or should I treat them as seperate X screens?
My understanding of how they work is twinview is used to clone a single display on to a TV so you do not want that and should remove it from the xorg.conf as well as the Xinerama it us used to expand the desktop to two identical resolution displays so you do not want that either, you need the two separate X screens for what you want. You need to remove the "1440x900" from your CRT Screen section then it will use the 1024x768. In your Monitor section you should put in the proper refresh rate ranges for the CRT because those ranges are too low for a CRT monitor. In the log I notice it is having trouble with the EDID detection so you should put Option "IgnoreEDID" "on" in the Driver section for the card that is used. Try the config I post below having changed the CRT refresh rates and see if that helps.
Quote:
2) I would like the LCD (which is on the right) to have the KDE menu/panel. Currently the CRT has the menu/panel, which doesn't flow onto the LCD.
My Dual head using a 5900 has a panel on both desktops you should check to make sure one is not hidden. The desktop that you do not want the panel on you can always hide it.

Quote:
3) If (per 1) I treat them as seperate X screens, how do I move the mouse between them? Can I map them to different KDE desktops, so that I can take advantage of KDE's "move window to desktop" and desktop switching??

Attached are my current x conf, and the startup log.
The xtrap will allow you to move the mouse between the two screens. The move to desktop and desktop switching refer to the single monitor you are on and the virtual desktops that you have enabled on that specific monitor it has nothing to do with dual displays. An application started on a monitor will stay on that monitor if you want an application on a certain monitor you need to start it there.

Code:
# /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the /etc/X11/xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man /etc/X11/xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Files"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi"
	FontPath	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi"
	# path to defoma fonts
	FontPath	"/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load	"bitmap"
	Load	"ddc"
	Load	"extmod"
	Load	"freetype"
	Load	"glx"
	Load	"int10"
	Load	"type1"
	Load	"vbe"
	Load 	"xtrap"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier	"Generic Keyboard"
	Driver		"kbd"
	Option		"CoreKeyboard"
	Option		"XkbRules"	"xorg"
	Option		"XkbModel"	"pc104"
	Option		"XkbLayout"	"us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier	"Configured Mouse"
	Driver		"mouse"
	Option		"CorePointer"
	Option		"Device"		"/dev/input/mice"
	Option		"Protocol"		"ExplorerPS/2"
	Option		"ZAxisMapping"		"4 5"
	Option		"Emulate3Buttons"	"true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier	"NVIDIA0"
	Driver		"nvidia"
        Option      "IgnoreEDID" "on"	
        Screen	        0	
	BusID		"PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "NVIDIA1"
        Driver          "nvidia"                        
        Option      "IgnoreEDID" "on"
        Screen          1 
        BusID           "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier	"Monitor CRT"
	Option		"DPMS"
	HorizSync	28-72             <----- Change
	VertRefresh	43-60      <----- Change
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Monitor LCD"
        Option          "DPMS"
        HorizSync       28-72
        VertRefresh     43-60
EndSection


Section "Screen"
	Identifier	"Screen CRT"
	Device		"NVIDIA0"
	Monitor		"Monitor CRT"
	DefaultDepth	24
	SubSection "Display"
		Depth		24
		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Screen LCD"
        Device          "NVIDIA1"
        Monitor         "Monitor LCD"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth           24
                Modes           "1440x900" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier	"Default Layout"
	Screen	0	"Screen CRT" 0 0 
	Screen 	1	"Screen LCD" LeftOf "Screen CRT"
	InputDevice	"Generic Keyboard"
	InputDevice	"Configured Mouse"
EndSection
BashfulTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-06, 10:21 PM   #5
flavor8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Smile Re: Getting dual head up and running on 6600/AGP

OK, better still. FYI, the LCD monitor is on the right, but other than that the config worked as described. Also, I think you are misinterpreting twinview. As I had it set up previously (which was not ideal, since the monitors are different resolutions) one large desktop mapped across both screens. I use this sort of setup at work on my windoze machine, and it's pretty usable. (I know that twinview can be set up to clone the same screen on both monitors; xinerama also behaves as above, as far as I can determine.)

Further tweaks:

1) It seems that screen 0 is bound to the VGA port. Is that correct? I guess my question here is how do I switch the monitors without switching the cables? Reason being that the LCD is center (right of CRT, which is off to the left) and I'd like to have KDM treat it as the primary monitor. I did experiment here, but couldn't seem to crack it.

2) The KDE settings seem to be different but interlinked on the two monitors. I.e. I have different backgrounds, different panel settings -- but, when I hit the top of the LCD, the CRT panel drops down, and vice versa. I'll try the kde forums on this one, as it seems more of an esoteric KDE issue.

Thanks for your help.
flavor8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-06, 10:48 PM   #6
BashfulTux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Default Re: Getting dual head up and running on 6600/AGP

Quote:
Originally Posted by flavor8
OK, better still. FYI, the LCD monitor is on the right, but other than that the config worked as described. Also, I think you are misinterpreting twinview. As I had it set up previously (which was not ideal, since the monitors are different resolutions) one large desktop mapped across both screens. I use this sort of setup at work on my windoze machine, and it's pretty usable. (I know that twinview can be set up to clone the same screen on both monitors; xinerama also behaves as above, as far as I can determine.)
You could be right the only times I have read of people using it is to clone the display never used either of them myself.

Quote:
Further tweaks:

1) It seems that screen 0 is bound to the VGA port. Is that correct? I guess my question here is how do I switch the monitors without switching the cables? Reason being that the LCD is center (right of CRT, which is off to the left) and I'd like to have KDM treat it as the primary monitor. I did experiment here, but couldn't seem to crack it.
Doesn't have to be VGA it is the bottom port on the card that is always the primary when using both connections using only the top it is primary. The display connected to the bottom connector is going to be the one where KDM is displayed or at least I haven't found a way to change it around.


Quote:
2) The KDE settings seem to be different but interlinked on the two monitors. I.e. I have different backgrounds, different panel settings -- but, when I hit the top of the LCD, the CRT panel drops down, and vice versa. I'll try the kde forums on this one, as it seems more of an esoteric KDE issue.

Thanks for your help.
Yes they are separate with different configurations if you want to set it up that way. That does seem weird almost like it seems confused on which desktop is displayed where. Have you tried setting a background to see if it gets displayed on the opposite desktop?
BashfulTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-06, 08:14 PM   #7
flavor8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: Getting dual head up and running on 6600/AGP

Ah, xinerama solves a lot here. I reenabled xinerama, and now I can drag windows between the screens. Also, the kde panel was initially on the CRT, but I dragged it to the LCD, and it's happy staying there.
flavor8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-06, 08:47 PM   #8
flavor8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: Getting dual head up and running on 6600/AGP

Also, I just found the answer to the primary/secondary problem.

Screen 0 is primary, but you can switch between DVI and CRT as follows:



Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA0"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "on"
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP"
Screen 0
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA1"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "on"
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "CRT"
Screen 1
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
flavor8 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-26-06, 09:25 PM   #9
BashfulTux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Default Re: Getting dual head up and running on 6600/AGP

Quote:
Originally Posted by flavor8
Also, I just found the answer to the primary/secondary problem.

Screen 0 is primary, but you can switch between DVI and CRT as follows:



Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA0"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "on"
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP"
Screen 0
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA1"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "on"
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "CRT"
Screen 1
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
That is nice to know I was thinking of getting a LCD myself and was wanting to use the digital connector as primary. Good to hear you got it going as you wanted it too BTW.
BashfulTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.