Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-06, 02:03 AM   #1
pannomatte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 14
Default vga aspect ratio on HD monitor

I just aquired Emprex HD-3701 1920x1080. Running suse 10 Celeron w/ 128m agp card.
The highest modeline I can get to work with Sax2 is 1280x1024 (wrong aspect) at 72hz. What modeline will support 16:9. Can you get full 1920x1080 out of a vga connection?
Thanks in advance
Daniel
pannomatte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-06, 04:00 AM   #2
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: vga aspect ratio on HD monitor

Recently I was quickly assisting at someone's SuSE 10 PC and I could not setup any custom resolution. I am certain that with older versions of Sax2 there was some "advanced" tab where you could add a custom resolution, it would ask you for an X and Y resolution and it would add that mode to its list.
However, I could not find it anymore. It probably is still there, hiding in some other place. Please read the installation manual to see what it says about this.

If all else fails, you can build a modeline using some other tool, and use a text editor to insert it in /etc/X11/xorg.conf

For example:
Modeline "1920x1080" 138.50 1920 1968 2000 2080 1080 1083 1088 1111 +HSync -Vsync
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 nvidiaXineramaInfoOverride not working properly hlandgar NVIDIA Linux 11 01-21-13 08:53 AM
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:10 AM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 09:35 PM
Monitor packed in? Head_slinger General Hardware 2 09-16-02 11:27 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.