Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 08-03-06, 04:30 PM   #1
solid7
Linux Super Newbie

Default Nvidia Xconfig difficulties

Hello. This is my first, I am a genuine Linux newbie. My platform is Red Hat Enterprise 3.

I tried to install drivers for my NVidia Quadro FX3000 graphics adaptor. However, I cannot get the shell script to execute, even after changin the boot mode from 5 to 3, and following all the instructions per this forum, and the Nvidia website. So I decided to download the X config installer. Now, my problem is, I can't find any instructions for this utility.

Can someone provide me a link for the instructions, or at least tell me where to extract the files to?

Thank you in advance.
solid7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 06:24 PM   #2
jhookcs

Default Re: Nvidia Xconfig difficulties

solid7,

Here is a link to nvidias readme for xconfig.
http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L...hapter-03.html
Actually it is part of a 'howto' guide, so you may find more info that you need within its contents.

-jhookcs
jhookcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 07:12 PM   #3
solid7
Linux Super Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhookcs
solid7,

Here is a link to nvidias readme for xconfig.
http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L...hapter-03.html
Actually it is part of a 'howto' guide, so you may find more info that you need within its contents.

-jhookcs

Thanks for that. The problem is, before I can use the tool, I have to actually be able to open it. Yes, I'm that dense...

I have no idea where to extract the folders to, and I don't see any instructions from Nvidia on this.

Thanks again for your reply.
Old 08-03-06, 07:16 PM   #4
chunkey
#!/?*

either you set the "x" (for eXecute) permission, or add a "sh" in front of the
shell script...
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-06, 10:23 PM   #5
solid7
Linux Super Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunkey