Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-06, 08:13 PM   #1
Mb81
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default NForce 430 on Debian

Hello,

did anybody installed Debian on a NForce 430 Board ?

We use Asus M2NPV-VM + SATA.
Debian "Stable" didn`t even recognized the harddrives or ethernet.

So what todo ? Thanks alot.
Mb81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-06, 08:40 PM   #2
BashfulTux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Default Re: NForce 430 on Debian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb81
Hello,

did anybody installed Debian on a NForce 430 Board ?

We use Asus M2NPV-VM + SATA.
Debian "Stable" didn`t even recognized the harddrives or ethernet.

So what todo ? Thanks alot.
Try one of the backported images here they have newer kernels so should help with the hardware detection.
BashfulTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-06, 09:34 AM   #3
kenyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 148
Default Re: NForce 430 on Debian

I've been running Debian sid/unstable on the 939 variant of your board since January w/o problems except the known forcedeth issue w/ warm starts after coming from Windows.
Look at the long 430 thread below to see more examples of boards that work.
BTW, if you use ECC memory, please take a few moments to complain to tsd@asus.com.tw and ask why there aren't any manual ECC settings for scrub time, etc...the BIOS only has an ECC Auto/Disabled setting. The 939 board has lots of manual settings...
kenyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-06, 12:37 PM   #4
Mb81
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: NForce 430 on Debian

So, with the backported Image and Etch i could do the installation while running on Raid 1. But... when you reboot, the server just stopp and somehow cannot find the Boot Records while on Onboard Raid 1. When i change back to normal IDE, it works.

Does anybody know why or got it running with Raid 1 ? Thanks thanks thanks.
Mb81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-06, 12:47 PM   #5
BashfulTux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Default Re: NForce 430 on Debian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb81
So, with the backported Image and Etch i could do the installation while running on Raid 1. But... when you reboot, the server just stopp and somehow cannot find the Boot Records while on Onboard Raid 1. When i change back to normal IDE, it works.

Does anybody know why or got it running with Raid 1 ? Thanks thanks thanks.
Don't know much about raid having never used it but I seem to remember reading that the /boot partition is supposed to be on a non-raid partition.
BashfulTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-06, 02:57 PM   #6
kenyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 148
Default Re: NForce 430 on Debian

yep, grub doesn't know how to boot off a raid partition, but LILO does...
I installed mine w/ LVM/RAID1...
kenyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-06, 05:47 AM   #7
Lithorus
Registered User
 
Lithorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 783
Default Re: NForce 430 on Debian

nvm...
Lithorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-06, 11:33 AM   #8
Mb81
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: NForce 430 on Debian

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenyee
yep, grub doesn't know how to boot off a raid partition, but LILO does...
I installed mine w/ LVM/RAID1...
Well, how todo that Etch installs Grub without asking..
Mb81 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-20-06, 11:58 AM   #9
BashfulTux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Default Re: NForce 430 on Debian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb81
Well, how todo that Etch installs Grub without asking..
I believe if you type in expert at the start of the install then you get the menu for each of the steps in the installer including one for installing the boot loader which gives you the choice of grub/lilo.
BashfulTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nforce AGP & unreal 2003 nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-18-02 05:21 PM
Keep K7S5A or Upgrade To Nforce MB? Grechie CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 10-06-02 02:28 PM
Installing nForce drivers on Debian 3.0 Doink NVIDIA Linux 4 09-14-02 08:34 PM
Debian sid w/ nForce - X won't start questioncolon NVIDIA Linux 16 08-05-02 10:35 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.