Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-03, 04:30 PM   #1
meth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: united states
Posts: 16
Default Fast Writes:Supported - Fast Writes:Disabled

Ok.. I cant seem to get fast writes to turn on... here is what modules.conf says:

alias char-major-195 nvidia
options nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=1 NVreg_EnableAGPFW=1


cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/card
Fast Writes: Supported
SBA: Supported
AGP Rates: 4x 2x 1x
Registers: 0x1f000217:0x1f000304


cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
Status: Enabled
Driver: AGPGART
AGP Rate: 4x
Fast Writes: Disabled
SBA: Enabled
__________________
meth
-- www.urbanservers.com
meth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-03, 06:09 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

And what about the third relevant file, /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/host-bridge?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-03, 07:41 PM   #3
meth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: united states
Posts: 16
Default

[meth@x1-6-00-60-67-65-4e-bf meth]$ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/host-bridge
Host Bridge: SiS 735
Fast Writes: Not Supported


eak, pos $50 mobo.
__________________
meth
-- www.urbanservers.com
meth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-03, 09:34 PM   #4
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Actually, check your BIOS. There may be a way to turn it on in there.

If not, well... yeah.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-03, 10:48 PM   #5
meth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: united states
Posts: 16
Default

ya there prolly isnt, next reboot ill check.
__________________
meth
-- www.urbanservers.com
meth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-03, 07:36 AM   #6
konsti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by meth
[meth@x1-6-00-60-67-65-4e-bf meth]
Host Bridge: SiS 735
Is it an K7S5A? You have to flash the cheepoman BIOS to have an option in BIOS setup to enable FastWrites

And what is that Prompt? temperatures? mailstatus? mac-address? Highly interested!

Konsti
konsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-03, 09:28 AM   #7
meth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: united states
Posts: 16
Default

What bios should i flash to? last time i had to flash a bios was for my abit bp6 to support 40gb hd's, and well, even with a flash it didnt work, lol..


Id also like a bios that would let me run ram at 100fsb and cpu at 133, right now it will do 133ram 100cpu or 133 both... untill my ram upgrade i cant run it at 133fsb so im stuck running my xp2000 at 1.2ghz
__________________
meth
-- www.urbanservers.com
meth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-03, 09:30 AM   #8
meth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: united states
Posts: 16
Default

http://www.ecsusa.com/products/k7s5a_v3.html
__________________
meth
-- www.urbanservers.com
meth is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-03, 09:34 AM   #9
meth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: united states
Posts: 16
Default

http://www.ecsusa.com/downloads/k7s5a_pro.html


its actualy that.. no award bios but the ami.. ill reboot to check.
__________________
meth
-- www.urbanservers.com
meth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-03, 05:08 AM   #10
konsti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 22
Default

look at www.ocworkbench.com
as far as I know only the there provided oc-bios from cheepoman by ocworkbench.com enables the FW switch for the user in the bios setup!
it allows 133FSB and 100CPU or otherwise too I think...
konsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-03, 10:40 PM   #11
meth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: united states
Posts: 16
Default

the only thing that website really says it to run a program to control the fsb, now for windows i have one, linux is another story...

http://www.brodo.de/cpufreq/kernel.html

doesnt appear to be what i want but is close, know of anything else?

i will eventuly attempt to flash my bios, no floppy drive atm so i cant do it anytime soon,
__________________
meth
-- www.urbanservers.com
meth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.